We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a homely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Save
You added Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge to your Saves list
30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a homely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed there for one night with my wife and baby.
the bedroom was very nice with an amazing view over the mountains.
also the shared living room which was very comfortable.
our host Helen did everything she could to make us feel at home with appetizers, sweets and good food .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
To be able to stop over with me was a bonus for us both. I did enjoy finding out your counrty and the Easter traditions associated with your beliefs. Your little boy was a delight to get to know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner and (nearly) four year old daughter spent a wonder two days at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge. By night, the wonderful Fraemohs house was cosy and warm, which was much appreciated on our second chilly and blustery night, while its huge glass windows framed an amazing mountain vista by day. Helen is a delightful host who charmed our daughter and made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable. Helen's cooking and baking is first rate too! We would highly recommend this lovely lodge to other folk interested in visiting Arthur's Pass.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
The mountains are a great place to "recharge your batteries". Throwing stones in the river is also a great activity for youngsters. Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed with Helen whilst walking the Te Araraoa Trail. The views from the house are incredible and we were made very welcome. Helen was a great host and went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The vegetarian food was especially good. She was also a reat source of local tramping knowledge. We would love to stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Congratulations on having completed the Te Araroa trail for the cancer cause! I was grateful to have been part of the expedition and also to have been the connecting point for your overseas friends. To have trained the binoculars on the four of you as you crossed the impressively wide Waimakariri River bed is a reminder that we are so small in this world we have been given to enjoy. Thanks for coming by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahgSarahg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spend 4 lovely nights at Helen's Eco Lodge as part of a family trip around different parts of New Zealand. Helen has a very lovely house with a cosy athmosphere and absolutely stunning views. If you are looking for privacy and solitude it might not be the best place as you are indeed a guest in another person's house, but Helen is a great host, extremely generous and helpful - and good company, too. She went out of her way to plan activities for us, arranged a whole fishing day out and a beautiful night time kiwi-listening excursion + gave us plenty of tips on what to see in the area. She made good homecooked meals and even prepared special dishes to please our demanding 6 yr old! Thank you so much for a memorable experience in your beautiful home. .

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Manager at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for your honest review. I had assumed that guests would understand that they were staying with me. I hope that you felt that you had enough "space". I'm also pleased with the success of our kiwi spotting/listening outing, although the fire brigade callout added an interesting dimension to the late night walk in the bush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place to stay that is Eco friendly and captures all the essence of the Southern Alps. Our host was fantastic for helping us thought he Coast the Coast - full meals, great company, and the best cheerleader on the highway. What a special place to sit back and soak up the mountains. Thanks loads Helen, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ummm - they are both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Competitors in the Speight's Coast to Coast multisport event pass by my door every February and are worthy of my roadside "pot banging". It was great to see your smile as you headed off on day 2. Happy to have been able to support "the team"....and next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our daughter gave us two nights at Helen's Eco Lodge as a Christmas gift and we went with little knowledge of where we were going. We were delighted with Helen's companionship, the awesome view, the hiking trails that were varied and interesting, the bed was great, the food cooked from scratch was wholesome and delicious (fresh homebaked bread and jam made from wild local berries are just an example), and in the evening we enjoyed looking at the clear stars of the southern hemisphere. All in all, our daughter couldn't have come up with a better gift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
And I enjoyed your company too, along with "upknowledging" about Canada. Thanks. The blackberry season is now in full swing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The views are stunning. The atmosphere is cozy and very welcoming like you are staying with your friends.
And it was so awesome to talk to Helen. Also it was very helpful to get her advice on day walks in the area.
We stayed there with our 1.5 years old daughter and for sure I would recommend the lodge as a child friendly one

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The weather was perfect for your walk up to Temple Basin. Aren't the views amazing? Arthur's Pass National Park is a small taste of heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and luches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Free pickup from Arthur's Pass or Christchurch International Airport (min stay 2 nights) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.