We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grasmere Lodge to your Saves list
Grasmere Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   State H'way 73 Near Arthur's Pass Canterbury | Private Bag 55009, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Laid back luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

What a luxurious and relaxing way to start a holiday! As the first destination in our week-long trip to the South Island, Grasmere Lodge certainly set a very high standard. Yes it is quite isolated but this only adds to the feeling of total abandonment - leave every day stresses behind and step into a world where time slows, casual luxury abounds and service is discreetly impeccable.

Our (junior) suite in the Mountain View Chalet was tastefully decorated and exceptionally comfortable (with it's own gas fireplace) and was located not too far from the main facilities. As there were no other guests in the chalet that night we were offered the use of the adjoining living area (which wasn't part of our package) which is a stunning room with a majestic stone fireplace. The ambience we experienced that night, cuddled up on the comfy sofa in front of the fireplace, was beyond magic and truly unforgettable.

The only negative I can comment on was the dinner. Although it was a superbly prepared and presented meal, served in a private dining room, it left me with a serious dose of indigestion as it was simply too rich. Maybe the management of Grasmere could take note from another lovely lodge we stayed in, where, instead of being shown a set menu the chef offered to cook "whatever we wanted" . Still, most importantly my memory of Grasmere Lodge is a night of perfection - not the indigestion! I also want to thank Tom (??) for his recommendation of the Pegasus Bay Pinot Noir which we enjoyed with our meal, as this, along with their chardonnay (which I would usually NEVER touch), remain our favorite indulgence. NB: If you are planning a trip to the South Island be sure to take the time and stop at the Pegasus Bay winery - you won't be disappointed!

Our trip to the South Island wine region was my gift to my husband (a serious wino) for his 40th birthday and Grasmere Lodge was without any doubt the highlight of our trip. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Luxury
  • Disliked — Indigestion
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

The address of Christchurch is misleading as the lodge is about an hour and half outside the city. The lodge is about 20 minutes away from Arthur's Pass, a beautiful part of New Zealand.
Whilst not the cheapest place to stay by a long chalk the lodge is awesome.
We had a fantastic room. All rooms have a complimentary mini bar and a decanter of port as well plus the normal coffee making equipment etc.. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi type bath and a power shower and was big and spacious. Outside the room were a couple of sun loungers and of course a stunning view.
Meal times are set for 8.00 pm and beforehand complimentary drinks and canapés are served at 7.30 pm. If you have any dietary requirements these will be taken into account.
The meals are in the main house, we stayed there for 2 nights and the first night we had a small dining room all to ourselves and on the second night we shared the bigger dining room with other guests. The food is very good and there are about 5 courses. Afterwards coffee is served back in the lounge area where they have a pool table and games etc.
Amazingly the lodge has a fast broadband connection and several computers to access the internet. The reason I think it is amazing is that the lodge is right out in the country and you can't even get reception for a mobile phone there! If you feel the need to look at your Blackberry then you can go to Arthur's Pass where you can pick up a signal.
The lodge has a pool and small exercise room. There is a gift shop and a spa. Packed lunches can be arranged if you want to do any of the walks around Arthur's Pass and the lodge offers a complimentary tour around the estate. Horse riding is also on the property.
The staff are very helpful and the atmosphere is very relaxed. No jackets required!
All in all a great place to chill for a few days and do some walking. We walked up (climbed up is more the word) Avalanche Peak which is rated one of the best one day walks (more like a climb!) in New Zealand. Never again! A combination of me being unfit and and a very steep hike!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Why would you want to stay anywhere else? The place is simply amazing. A must for anyone who travels to New Zealand.

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay for as long as you can
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed 2 nights. We thought this was a superb place. We were upgraded into the cottage. Although 5 minutes from the main lodge, the cottage was stunning - large and superbly appointed with views into valleys that are to die for. Great common areas as well: welcoming lounge and well-stocked bar.

The food was consistently superb and the communal aspect of dining (which we'd been nervous about) turned out to be fine. The service was great and the tour of the property and farm great fun. We also went on a guided hike with Steve that was a real highlight of our stay. The massage therapy was the best I've experienced.

The Arthurs Pass National Park is beautiful and Grasmere Lodge well located for it. All in all we can't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

Grasmere Lodge--- what I would do to be there right now! There aren't enough kind words I can say about this place and their staff! Having stayed in a number of the Small Luxury Hotels in New Zealand and Australia on our recent trip, this one is by far the best in many aspects.
Grasmere is located about 90 minutes outside of Christchurch in the middle of tranquility-- a perfect place to relax and enjoy the untouched New Zealand beauty. The views from the River View Cottage are absolutely amazing and it is worth every penny to stay there. At night, you can see every star in the sky and during the day, you can just sit and stare out of the huge picture windows in awe!
Vicki Newbegin and Tom Butler, the general manager, and their staff go above and beyond to make sure your every want and desire are attended to, often before you even ask. Their kindess and attention to detail set their establishment apart from others. Visiting with them is like visiting old friends!
Joanna runs the spa and gives the deepest tissue massage I have had in a long time; she gets all of your kinks out! If only she wasn't so far away...
Scott was our chief when we were there and we miss him and his creations dearly! Fine Dining is a guarantee at Grasmere.
My fiance and I chose Grasmere as the location of our wedding and I couldn't have picked better . My family members and I fell in love with New Zealand and we have Grasmere to thank for so many wonderful memories. We will be back =)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Lodge

Address: State H'way 73 Near Arthur's Pass Canterbury | Private Bag 55009, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grasmere Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Grasmere Lodge is at the heart of an operational 6,000 hectare grand pastoral station (ranch) surrounded by stunning alpine scenery. 100% purely Kiwi owned and operated Grasmere has been a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels since 1995. The 150 year old Homestead houses character rooms such as the library, lounge, bar and evening dining rooms. Thirteen guest rooms spread through the lodge, chalet and cottage boast panoramic views of lakes, rivers or rugged mountains. Meals feature the best of New Zealand produce and may include farm-raised venison, lamb or salmon or regional delicacies in season, such as whitebait from the West Coast. They are accompanied by an extensive wine list, which comprises award-winning New Zealand wines, including a number from the local Canterbury region. Carefully trained staff embody traditional southern hospitality, and are well-informed about the region and all it offers. From the lodge enjoy horseback riding, walking, kayaking, mountain biking, clay bird shooting or taking part in the daily 4WD station tour. Relax and rejuvenate in Mountain Spa or by the heated outdoor swimming pool. Gin-clear streams and lakes challenge the fly-fisherman while scenic flights from the airstrip entertain further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.