We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to pack this B & B into my bag and bring it home ;D” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast

Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
72 School Terrace, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tried to pack this B & B into my bag and bring it home ;D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My hostess was Renee, assisted by two delightful young German WOOFAS. Renee's partner was away, successfully applying for his dream job. Yay Renee !! It was a welcome stay, for me, for two nights on my 2 week visit to N.Z. celebrating my 50 years of visiting this lovely country. The small and homely cottage was a delight, well restored and maintained by the enthusiastic owners. My room was the Keas Nest with its two single beds with comfortable doona and pillows (one of which had a cachet of lavender in it - a nice touch). Small but comfortable lounge with warm fire. Enjoyable home made breakfast and dinner, one night. Guest bathroom (shared with the only other guest bedroom) was excellent. I recommend staying here, I wasn't disappointed with my visit. Stay, even for one night, to break your journey and enable you to thoroughly appreciate your traverse of the South Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, N
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was such a unique place to stay -- Renee welcomed us to the house as if we were long friends. Our first evening there, we had a lovely chat with her by the fireplace in her living room over some mugs of warm tea -- learning a lot about the local area. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom, which was shared with the other guestroom, was always kept clean. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious; Renee even packed us a great lunch for one of our hikes! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a unique experience; we've never stayed anywhere quite like this. Renee made us feel like we were friends of hers visiting for a couple of days. We greatly appreciated her tips about restaurants and hiking, and she kindly lent us hiking poles and a water bottle. I'd forgotten that lunch was included, so it was a wonderful surprise when she made us delicious healthy sandwiches for our hike. A great convenience. Breakfasts were scrumptious too. Our room was tiny but the bed was very comfortable and we didn't mind walking through the living room to get to our bathroom. The environment was so relaxed and casual. If you're looking for more formality and distance from the hosts, this place might not be for you, but we were thoroughly charmed and highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The hosts were very hospitable and informing. They went way above and beyond!! It was fun just sitting around the fire and having a good time. Also its a very beautiful area and Geoff made us maps to very pretty walks. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had one night in Arthur's Pass and stayed at Renee and Geoff's lovely home. We enjoyed the very comfortable room, great bathroom and excellent breakfast, but mostly spent our time in the cozy loungeroom next to the fire chatting with Renee and Geoff talking about their work and finding lots of common ground! Looking forward to visiting again one day and would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently had two nights here. Although it was frosty outside it was so warm and cosy inside The hosts were very welcoming and helpful with information about the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very friendly and helpful hosts, great homemade breakfasts and lunch. We were here for two nights including election night, and got into a long, informative discussion about NZ politics!

All I would say is that this is truly a homestay, so if you want your own space and anonymity this is not for you. The room we had was, as described, very small, so even though we were traveling light-ish we had to be a bit creative where we put things. The guest bathroom is through the living room, out at the back.

They had good advice and books on hiking. In the end we did Bealey Spur in good weather and enjoyed glorious views.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast

Address: 72 School Terrace, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great food and friendly hosts in the heart of the Southern Alps. Geoff and Renée welcome you to share their home in the village of Arthur’s Pass surrounded by the forest and peaks of Arthurs Pass National Park. Vegetarians, vegans and meat eaters catered for.Full cooked breakfast including rosti, free range bacon and eggs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Pass Village Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.