We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arthurs Chalet to your Saves list
Arthurs Chalet
131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Nth East Vic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The chalet was nice and warm and welcoming. The KIAs were friendly (we did not feed them). Breakfast was basic. Management were pedantic about times. After 14:00 was the time to book in personally ..period. We were reading about the opening times on a door for breakfast at 08:15. What we thought was an employee but turned out to be a crazy American tourist stated "08:15 MEANS 08:15!" so I said that we will walk down the corridor and back, that should soak up the remaining 3 minutes! LOL! The staff were friendly and it was all quite good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night Jan 2011. Had two separate rooms for our party of 4. Very friendly welcome on arrival. Accommodation not 5* but comfortable and clean. We had a lovely very reasonably priced meal in the evening and then sat by a roaring log fire. We arrived with a bag full of wet clothes having got caught in heavy rain earlier in the day and were able to get it dry for a couple of $. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Many walks from the doorstep in this beautiful area - wish we had stayed longer to explore more. If I am ever lucky enough to visit this part of the world again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed at ArthersHotel/Chalet 29th/30th October the room we were assigned was at the back of the hotel with views out to the snow capped mountains across the small river. The hotel rooms are what we would class as 3 stars back in Australia. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable with electric blankets and room heating which was excellent for just warming up the room in the morning. The staff were very friendly and the included continental breakfarst in the price was plentiful. The night meals were great also at the hotel which is where we ate although you could have ate elsewhere but with a log fire and what appears to be home cooked meals why would you want to. It is very close to the two most popular walks Horseshoe falls and Punchbowl falls which are but a 5 minute walk away..This is a nice spot to stop after picking up your rental car from Christchurch with a few photo stops on the way it was ideal for us two in our 60's.I would certainly recomend this hotel to others and sure there is more work to be done at the hotel but that comes with time and of course patronage. A final gesture was the fact that as we stayed two nights and they did not clean the room(but gave us fresh towels etc) they took $10:00 off the bill.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

4 rooms were booked based on beautiful photos which is supposed to be an excellent location.

On arrival 2 off the rooms were given to 2 other travellers. 3 of the 4 rooms where without warm water, our room had a horibble smell. Afterwards we were told by other travellers that they were in "our" rooms as the hot water has been down for a few days.

The motorcycles we rode were attacked by kea's (parrot-like birds) and 2 seat covers destroyed. Although there are signes posted throughout the village warning visitors of this - this hotel has nothing posted - nor did they warn us - cost = NZ$ 1000.

Last but not least, we booked for 2 days, and after being there for 2 hours, told management that we can't stay another night. We were then told that we have to pay a 50% cancellation fee and we said we can't - we were threatened by the police. Finally it was agreed that we pay 1 night only.

I can honestly say - this is the worst accommodation and service I have ever received.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageratarthurs, Owner at Arthurs Chalet, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Arthurs Chalet. I have investigated this matter thoroughly and am fully satisfied that my team did everything they could to assist you during your stay. It would seem that there are two very differing perceptions of what actually occurred during your stay, and perhaps some misunderstandings too.

Sometimes we just can't meet the expectations of every customer. Most of the time we get it just right, but sometimes things go wrong. We are open and operate everyday of the year, we are based in the middle of a national park and are very remote, we pay for and manage all our own services, such as sewage, waste and water, and our supplies need to be transported and delivered from the city.

During your stay we had an issue with the water which required a plumber to fix; which we immediately organised, we did our very best to rectify the situation for you as quickly as possible. We were very sorry to hear about your motorbike seat but do not feel this is our responsibility, we have updated our website to alert motorcyclists to the dangers of kea and now have tarps available for our guests to cover their bikes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

the room we stayed in was just above the arthurs sign. it was clean and cosy, however needed updating. the bed was not comfortable. as i walked around inside i kept thinking of the potential with a bit of upgrading! it had electric blankets and a wall heater which worked great. it is in a great location with wonderful views from the dining room. the meal in the evening was superb. my husband ate the seafood chowder and i had the steamed fish. the breakfast was more than adequate for us with tea coffee and cold stuff like cereals, breads etc. we ordered a cuppacino from the bar which we paid extra for. it was fantastic but a shame it wasn't included in the breakfast price which only offered perculated coffee.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at Arthur's Chalet/Hotel for two nights. We paid $125.00 NZ and compared to other establishments we'd stayed at we didn't feel that this was value for money. The chalet itself has so much potential. The downstairs area has a pool table, gas log fire, board games and a bar so when it rains there's enough to do. The manager was friendly and accommodating and the complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. However, the double room we stayed in smelt of damp and therefore, was slightly off putting everytime we entered the room. The rooms also aren't serviced. You were able to request fresh towels however at $125 per night you would expect room service to be a given.
The building has great character and this is what the owners needs to tap into.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageratarthurs, Owner at Arthurs Chalet, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Arthurs Chalet, as you are aware having visited the property we are based in a very remote location, we have to pay for our services and we face many more challenges that an establishment in the city.

We have been listening to feedback and have since reduced our room prices to be more competitive, but this means we are not currently able to invest in upgrading our rooms just yet. We'd love to upgrade but unfortunately the business hasn't yet generated significant revenue and we've invested most of our capital into a new state of the art kitchen to drive the restaurant. We are working on the exterior currently repainting the building and have repaired and upgraded the roof, the rooms will be next.

It rains extensively here in Arthurs Pass, that's why we have beautiful lush bush and amazing waterfalls, but yes with a wooden Swiss chalet built by early hiking pioneers, we do get the odd leak and dampness during wet spells.

We are currently working on our marketing to better position the establishment. We are not a traditional hotel, we are a Swiss Chalet, Ski Lodge in the winter and Trampers haven in the summer, we wish to offer value accommodation to those who appreciate the intrepid outdoor feel and are looking for a unique experience in the mountains, we are not trying to offer a hotel service, that's why we renamed the business and repositioned as a tramping lodge.

We're a young couple that have reopened an icon business that had gone into liquidation. It was very sad to this historical landmark go into disrepair and we wanted to do something, since we have reopened Arthurs Chalet a year ago we have done our very best to survive economically. We aim to provide a welcoming service in a remote location which has very limited accommodation options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Staying at the Chalet was an extremly wonderful experience, the staff were so lovely and always had a smile on their face. The room was in a tidy and clean state and was really relaxing to have a hot bath after a big hike up the avalanche peak. Will definately be staying again. Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arthurs Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.