We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing enviroment and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Chalet

Save Saved
You added Arthurs Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arthurs Chalet
131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
1 review
“Relaxing enviroment and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Staying at the Chalet was an extremly wonderful experience, the staff were so lovely and always had a smile on their face. The room was in a tidy and clean state and was really relaxing to have a hot bath after a big hike up the avalanche peak. Will definately be staying again. Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ChCh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed in a self-catering unit downstairs, which had 2 doubles and one single bed. The room could have done with a repaint. Although the beds were well made-up, there was no toilet paper in the bathroom, the bin had not been emptied and there was no cutlery or crockery with which to eat. The shower was very basic but the water was hot. Extra bedding was available in the cupboard and the room warmed up quickly after we turned on the two heaters.

Given that the hotel is in the middle of a national park, we thought a rack would be helpful for drying wet clothes.

Although the price was fairly low, we expected more of a newly-reopened hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageratarthurs, Manager at Arthurs Chalet, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thankyou for your review, We are in the process of updating all of our rooms. The self contained flat should have contained cutlery and crockery, this has been addressed and is now avilable to all who stay in the room.

Rooms are emptied of all rubbish, cleaned and restocked after guests have checked out, This is done daily, as well as daily room inspections to ensure everything is up to standard.

We have extra beddig available at all times as it can get quite cold at night, we are glad you made use of these.

We do have washers and dryers that are available to guests at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Having arranged to meet up with a local NZ couple to climb Avalanche Peak the following day we needed a refuge for just one night and thats exactly what we we got! The place is under new owners having gone bust but it needs a complete rebuild before offering rooms as a hotel asit is no more than a back packers establishment, rooms with ceilings that are water damaged, they smell and showers with mold. Breakfast was a non event, no hot water for making tea and no staff around to offer any basic hospitality. Assuming the new owners generate income one hopes they make some sort of effort to improve the place to hotel standard. Had we not had to stay in Arthurs Pass we would have driven on.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageratarthurs, Manager at Arthurs Chalet, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
In Response to this review, we are a new business and are taking every step to ensure our guests stay is a comfortable one, we do offer back packers rooms. However we also offer double ensuite rooms, twin rooms and a self contained flat. We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms.

Our free continental Breakfast service is served every morning from 8.30 until 10am, I believe that the new urn we purchased stopped working around this time, we have fixed that and now have hot water every morning for tea and coffee. We have staff members present at all times during food service and opening hours, perhaps they were busy with other matters at the time.

In response to "rooms with ceilings that are water damaged, they smell and showers with mould" every single room was cleaned out completely before we re-opened. We take them time to inspect our rooms daily and ensure that they are mould and damp free at all times.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us however we strive to offer a relaxing, cosy environment for all visitors staying with us at Arthurs Chalet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Arthurs Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.