We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Friendly - Backpacker Style Accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthurs Chalet
Save
You added Arthurs Chalet to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy & Friendly - Backpacker Style Accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived in Arthurs Pass late (approx 6.30pm) and all the hotels were full. We went in and asked if they had room, they had beds left in the dorm which I wasnt very keen on. They were very helpful and understanding and put the no vacancy sign up so nobody else could book into the room with us. The meals were good country style pub food and it was nice sitting down infront of the fire playing the board games they had scattered around.

For the price you couldnt expect anything more, if your looking for comfort this isnt your place, but if your happy to slightly rough it and stay in a good atmosphere this place is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the village so very close to the start of some of the hikes. It has a bar and restaurant which is handy. Service at reception and in the restaurant great. Rooms are old and drab with basic facilities. Meals were very average.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our 9 day trip before heading to Christchurch and flying out. The downstairs bar adds to the atmosphere and the meals were HUGE and full of flavour. Tom, the owner, makes sure you feel comfortable and you can have a chat to him about things to do in Arthurs Pass, how the Crusaders are going and which beer to try next

Upstairs the rooms are very warm and cosy. We stayed in a couples room with a balcony that looked out into the town. The bed was nice but a bit worn in - which adds to the charm of the place really. The included breakfast was a bonus too and they put on a extra pot of coffee for us too. Overall a great place to stay and look forward to being back here soon!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road tend to be quieter - i,.e. less logging trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Arthur's Chalet was a great overnight stay on the first leg of our trip from Christchurch airport around the island. As we arrived in the early evening, it was a delight to have a nice bar/restaurant downstairs! I wasn't feeling well, and the sweet gal at the counter went into her personal medicine stash and gave me a cold/flu lemon packet that absolutely saved our trip--thank you, thank you whoever you are, I am most grateful for your help!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Okay hotel to stay at for 1 night if you're arriving late and leave early, arthurs pass is small and the only thing to do is 1 or 2 shorter tracks to walk, only 2 resturants and 1 "cafe" in town... But okay hotel to stay for 1 night, a little dated but pretty clean and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It is by no means new. The rooms have a smallish LCD TV but the beds are not the worlds most comfortable. There's signs of wear and tear, but the basics are clean. This is a somewhat remote location so dont expect 5 star luxury. Meal servings are great and free breakfast and wifi makes it. It's perfect for a 1 night stop if you want to feel that remote feeling. I would classify it as a 3 star by Australian /NZ standards and 2 star by USA standards

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On a quick excursion from Christchurch, with only one overnight possible, but we would love to spend more time here. If you are looking for slick-city stay, drive right on through, but you would miss a real gem. Wonderful hosts, good simple hearty food, charming attic room with gorgeous mountain views, comfortable in every way. And an interesting historical town especially if you don't have much time for walks. Several waterfalls within minutes, one providing a stunning view from a pew in the little church.

Room Tip: Accommodation varies from dorm style, to single room to suite - but whatever the room, the downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthurs Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.