We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arthurs Chalet to your Saves list
Arthurs Chalet
131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed one night and the service was fantastic. Theyt picked us up and dropped us off at the train staion The rooms are basic but very clean and they had cranked the heating up so it was very warm and cosy. The bar was good and the meal we had was very nice. There is a complimentary continental breakfast which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We arrived at Arthurs pass during a storm so most of our time would be spent in the Chalet! luckily the welcome was warm and the room was cozy. The couple who run the hotel were the most friendly hosts I have come across in a while, and as an added bonus they had a fat ginger cat called Ernie, aka the ginger ninja who was lining up to give those who wanted it a cuddle and head butt!
We spent most of our time by the fire drinking beer, and playing pool, which was free (the pool that is), so a great place to be during a storm!
The food was great value and tasted great, no room left for afters as the potions were massive!
The rooms were clean and warm with electric blankets on the bed, always nice :)
I would recommend this to anyone who wants a great value place to stay and great atmosphere!

Room Tip: choose the room at the front, i think its room 4 as it looked really lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in January sadly coinciding with difficult family circumstances for the owners who had closed to new guests but kept going for those of us already booked for which we are very grateful as it couldn't have been an easy situation.
We were warmly welcomed and had a nice room at the front of the house with plenty of helpful advice and useful facilities. The bedroom was nice but the en suite bathroom rather sparten and more reminiscent of a hostel. It was clean and functional but needs upgrading to make it more cosy. We had an excellent meal despite the aforementioned difficulties and a nice cosy evening by the log fire. The cost was very reasonable which is why I give it 4 stars - wish you could do half stars! Have no qualms about recommending this place and wish them every success for the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here, the staff were very friendly and polite. Our room was a little dated but very clean and comfortable.We had a meal in the restaurant which was absolutely excellent the best meal we had all holiday.The bar and restaurant had a nice atmosphere with open fires.The next morning we had a nice free breakfast.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I do wish backpackers would look at how much they have paid for their accommodation before slamming it out of hand. Arthur's Chalet is run by an enthusiastic young couple who have clearly taken on a hotel that has been on the Pass for a while. They are doing a great job! The rooms are clean, there is plenty of hot water and heaters if needed - even heated blankets. The Bar and Restaurant is really cosy, the food fantastic, the wine excellent and the prices reasonable. So if you can afford to eat in a restaurant, stay here, If you want to cook your own meals, go and stay on a camp site!

Room Tip: Tell them what you are looking for. If a view is important, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here prior to some tramping in the area. Might as well have stayed in one of the free tramping huts. Beds were old, no cooking utensils, great view of gravel car park. Overall dodgey, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Wasnt expecting much and so was easy to be impressed. Great friendly service, meals were great, room quiet and clean. Free wifi!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arthurs Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.