We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special meal... Or a coffee and a snack!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nor'Wester Cafe

Nor'Wester Cafe
95 Carters Road, Amberley 7410, New Zealand
03 314 9411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Amberley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, International, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special meal... Or a coffee and a snack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Nor'wester with my beloved for my birthday - and it was a total treat! Food was great, I had a wonderfully tender piece of Canterbury sirloin that was treated with skill and respect. Overhearing that it was my birthday they made me a darling plate with a piece of fudge and tiny candles on ... Just a lovely place for a special treat, snuggled by the fire. Will be back, to try out the cafe menu...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    25
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good menu, well presented food & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice atmosphere - relaxed and informal but staff are attentive and well trained. We had a difficult choice as all the food on the menu looked appealing. My husband had the steak and I the venison. Beautifully presented and both cooked to perfection. I followed with the chocolate cake, yummy!.... very rich and delicious. I would highly recommend this place for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Interesting menu , food very well presented and is as good as the descriptions in the menu. Staff are very well trained, courteous and attentive

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The last night of our visit to friends and we took them out for dinner on a recommendation.

A lovely relaxed evening, great food and attentive service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent interesting local food and decor - every detail is just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We often stop here when traveling by car to Christchurch. The coffee is always good, the atmosphere warm (usually a fire is going) and the local food excellent with lots of variety. Last week when we stopped there I had in season local figs with muscat and vanilla mascarpone. It was a delight. The cafe has a very attractive decor and every detail is just right. Even the flower arrangement in the women's toilets was a work of art.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nor'Wester Cafe also viewed

Amberley, Canterbury Region
Amberley, Canterbury Region
 
Amberley, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nor'Wester Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nor'Wester Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.