We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teviot View Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teviot View Accommodation
Save
You added Teviot View Accommodation to your Saves list
34 Amberley Beach Road, Amberley, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stopped just the one night at this motel on our way north. But would be very happy to stay longer. The host is very friendly and the accommodation was perfect. WARM! Very cold outside with snow not so far away and we were very cosy - double glazing (so unusual in NZ esp motels) kept the warmth in. The unit had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen area. Located off the main highway in Amberley, just north of Christchurch, it was very quiet. And they had free wifi with good fast connection. Reasonable places to eat nearby too. Happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just had 12 days at Teviot Views....fantastic!
Rhianne is the owner of 3 one bedroom and 1 x two bedroom studio units. She is the perfect host, friendly and knowledgeable.
Amberley is a 40min drive north on the main road from Christchurch, and with poor Christchurch still showing the severe effects of the earthquake, Amberley is a great location for access to the wineries and many day trips north eg. Hanmer springs, Kaikoura etc.
We have family in the area so this was the ideal choice for us, but even for shorter stays these units are ideal and way better than a hotel room.
The units are v modern, with a kitchenette, flatscreen tv, DVD player, lovely comfy bedroom and nice shower.
Always serviced no matter how long the stay..lovely breakfast available for $12 pp if required. Quiet location on road to beach..there is building across the road but we heard nothing.
I'd left all my jewellery in the unit on departure and Rhianne had it returned to my son before I even knew I'd left it behind! Phew...many thanks.
Highly highly recommend Teviot and will definitely make this our home in NZ in future visits. Without doubt the best on offer in this lovely town.
Whilst there make sure you go to Little Vintage Cafe for a lovely coffee, all day breakfast or treat, and great friendly welcome just off the main road on the tourist route in Amberley!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rianne b, Owner at Teviot View Accommodation, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Teviot View Accommodation. We hope to see you again one day!
Rianne Bonnett -Owner Teviot View Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Landed in christchurch and drove down straight to this place - picked up our keys from the postbox as the owners were out of town but it was clearly sign posted when they would be back and they did drop in later to have a chit chat with us. Nice contained self standing unit with free wifi and kitchen essentials. Easy drive to waipara for the wine lovers - 7 mins away. Recommend it anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This motel situated just off the main road in Amberley has wonderful views of the Teviots and offers quality accommodation in a peaceful setting. We stayed one night en route south but wished it could have been longer. Will definitely stay here again next time we are passing through

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This motel is 2 km from Amberley Beach and a 45 minute drive from Christchurch Airport. Amberley is a quiet, rural town on State Highway 1. The motel is quite new, very attractive and has a full kitchenette with a two burner hob. The hosts, Wayne and Rienne, are very friendly and helpful. We had a delightful stay. Basking in the light of the sunset with a glass of wine was a perfect lway to enjoy our last night before we left New Zealand.

Room Tip: All the units were equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

2 sisters travelling together, one from Canada visiting the other who had just moved to Oamaru. Road trip to Blenheim for wine tours was the plan then back to Christchurch for sister to fly back to Canada. Found Amberley on map near wine vineyards, lets stay here the first night. Called and Trevor booked us in. We arrived and Rianne welcomed us and showed us unit 2 we looked around and were very impressed and both said at the same time (it's a sister thing) lets stay here on our way back instead of Christchurch on your last night in NZ. Easy drive to Christchurch airport about 1 hour. Booked again for our return. When we arrived for our second stay, Rianne had left us a personal note welcoming us back and what unit we were in as she had to be out for a few hours, on her arrival back she came right away and greeted us in person and asked about of trip. The new units are also lovely, Rianne gave us a tour as we stayed in unit 2 again. Very clean and tidy and ladies who read this, great water pressure in the shower which was an extra bonus.
Will highly recommend to friends and family who visit from overseas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our last night in NZ and didn't want to stay again in Christchurch. This was a little difficult to find, being off the main road but a real 'find'. The units was immaculate and had a contemporary interior design. The units are quiet, clean with open views of the Teviots whilst being only 3 km from the sea/beach. The town is a 2 minute car ride where you can find all the amenities you require. The owner Rianne was extremely friendly and helpful - we would certainly go back to this accommodation again. This is ideal accommodation being just off Route 1 and approx. 1 hours easy drive from the airport - dead easy to find either coming from or going to the airport/Christchurch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teviot View Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teviot View Accommodation

Address: 34 Amberley Beach Road, Amberley, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Amberley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teviot View Accommodation offers new (2007 and 2012) self-contained units and is situated in the township of Amberley in the beautiful wine region of Waipara Valley in the Hurunui District. We are 400 metres of SH1 in a quiet location with beautiful panoramic views. Amberley is a 40-minute drive north of Christchurch (and Christchurch Airport)and is on the Alpine Pacific Triangle, which connects Waipara Valley (5 minute drive) with Hanmers Springs Thermal Reserve (1-hour drive) and Kaikoura (1.5-hour drive). We are 400 metres from Ambereley shops/cafes/restaurants and 4 km from Amberley Beach and an 18-hole Country Golf Course with great coastal views. Established walking tracks are nearby. We offer Our self-contained 1-bedroom units with a queen-size bed (2007), a deluxe 1-bedroom unit (2012)with a super king size bed and a 2-bedroom unit (2012) with a king bed in the main bedroom and two king singles in other bedroom. All of our units have an en-suite bathroom, separate lounge with 32" flatscreen LCD television and DVD, kitchenette with fridge/hotplates/microwave, tea/coffee making facilities and dining area with table and seats. Free Wireless Internet is available in your unit. Sunny outdoor patio with seating area and panoramic views of Mount Grey and Teviot Hills. We offer a delicious breakfast basket on request. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teviot View Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.