We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do you find a quiet night on the highway?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardross House

Ardross House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardross House
259 Glasnevin Road, Amberley 7441, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Stokers Siding
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where do you find a quiet night on the highway?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Ardross House is very easy to find - it is right on the main road north out of Christchurch. Surprisingly, it is nestled into the side of the road and the traffic noise is nil. The rooms look out over charming meadows. We breathed in the peace and tranquility.
Hosts Michael and Kathryn were friendly and good cooks to. Brekky was delicious.
The house is beautifully maintained, especially the breakfast room which was very inviting in the morning. We really found it hard to get up from the table.
It is only a two minute drive from town, so it was easy to go to town for dinner and there were many restaurants to choose from.
As gardeners we found the surrounds very interesting, especially the vegie patch.
The only drawback for us was that perhaps the bedrom could have been larger (but the bathroom was huge and very upmarket). Others may find the many stairs a drawback.
Overall, we loved it. We do not normally chose b & b's but on this occasion we are glad we did.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night in February 2011 and had a very comfortable stay. The house itself is a beautiful building and we were warmly welcomed into the home. The rooms were spacious with good facilities and with beautiful views across the farmland. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and served a delicious breakfast in the morning using eggs from their own hens. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

i found here a real little paradise ,the house is very nice, the garden full af flowers, and the accomodation is so cosy! And the hostes are very hepfull and smily.
thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Me and my friend were on a cyklingtrip around the Southern Island in December 2010. As it took longer for us to get from Christchurch to Amberley as we had expected one of our hosts (Michael) - allthought he did not know us - came and picked us and the bikes up in his car 15 km south of Amberley. And the next morning Michael drove us and the bikes over the first high hill north of Amberley. We had a fantastic stay there and enjoyed talking to our friendly hosts. The room, the garden and the breakfast were perfect. We really enjoyed our stay the old house. If I ever come to NZ again I would like to stay at this fine B&B again. Best regards Kathrine from Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at Ardross House in early March 2009. We found it very
good. The house is large, old and very elegant. Guest rooms are
very quiet, spacious, private and sunny and impeccably
clean. Kathryn and Mike, the owners are welcoming and friendly
hosts, who also know how to give guests some space to relax and
unwind. They gave us an excellent recommendation for an evening
meal (the dining room at the Railway Hotel Amberley) and were very
enjoyable company to share a nightcap with when we returned. We had a
very relaxing and restful stay. The breakfast was delicious and
featured freshly laid eggs from Ardross's hens. We would love to
return - it is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ardross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardross House

Address: 259 Glasnevin Road, Amberley 7441, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Amberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardross House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ardross House to your Saves list