We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traditional Trullo from Apulia

View of the Pajara and Patio
View of the Pajara and Patio
View of the Pajara and Patio
bedroom
Entrance of the bedroom from the patio
Door to the bedroom
view of the pajara
Marittima
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
pixsi
Channel Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A real taste of Salento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the pajera and the peace of the setting of the gardens - picking our own vegetables and herbs for meals was a pleasure. By day we explored the lanes and coastline by cycle or on foot; in May the landscape was coloured with wildflowers and the limestone cliffs were full of orchids and many interesting plants, it was a fascinating landscape. In the evenings we often sat in the garden and watched the owls and bats as they hunted over the garden and the nearby fields. It seemed a world apart from every day life and we quickly settled to a slower pace and relaxed. Nearby Castro is a very attractive town with its castle and labrynth of lanes to explore. The whole area is rich in history and a visit to Lecce is a must.

We had deliberately set out to have a different experience - which we thorough enjoyed - but in hindsight it would have been worth hiring a car to see the wider area.

The warm welcome extended to us by the Arseni family will be long remembered. They went out of their way to ensure we got the most out of our holiday and introduced us to a real taste of Salento. We'd love to come back.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lcg330
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

I just got back to NY from Puglia and I couldn't be more sad to leave. This is my second time staying at Pajara and I just love it. The house is breathtakingly beautiful and being there feels like being in a movie about italy. It is on the a plot of land, a little bit outside of town so you can get the things you need. The house is peaceful and keeps a very nice, cool temperature. The patio with hammock and view of the garden and olive trees is spectacular. There is a lot of free food that the family will give you off the land or the you can pick yourself. The beach is 5 minutes away on bike - everyday we would bike to the Acquaviva Cove to go swimming and then get a cappuccino and a pasticciotto (local specialty, yummy). I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, romantic vacation and loves organic food right off the land.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rose3101
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We hugely enjoyed our 2-week stay in the traditional converted farmhouse of the Arseni family. The old buildings have been beautifully restored and converted, retaining many original features yet providing all the necessary comforts. From the moment we arrived the owners went out of their way to make our holiday a special one. We received such an incredibly warm welcome and outstanding hospitality and we really appreciated that people and land in this part of Italy have not yet been spoilt by mass tourism. The location is perfect: one really feels away from it all, it’s rural and quiet, yet only a few minutes away from shops and other amenities. Also, it provided us with a perfect base from which to explore various beaches and towns in the region. We truly could not have asked for more.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DavidR180...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The perfect venue for a get away from it all holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This Pajara in Marritima proved the perfect place to relax in, and explore Salento from.
During our stay our diet improved dramatically....eating mostly the fruit and vegetables
that grew close by(supplemented by locally caught sea food).
Our hosts could not have been more helpful or charming.
We loved the nearby town of Castro,and the 'beach' at Porto Miggiano.
For a day out Lecce is to be recommended.
And finally the local restaurant:Aria Corte is a must for any lover of Fish ,or indeed any general lover of food!

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
markusfri...
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxing stay outside small village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed the stay at this "pajara". It had a fantastic terrace where you can enjoy the sun and have meals. The garden with fruits and vegetables ads luxury it you like good food and organic products. We liked that the area felt very "Italian" in the way that other tourists are few. Very nice family who lets the house and they are very helpfull. Only cons were that there is no air condition, a few barking dogs nearby and that the village is very small and only has one-two restaurants. It's easy to go by car to other villages though, like Castro Marina. Be prepared that not many people speak English.

3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
natilou00
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Un séjour inoubliable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
Google Translation

Quel endroit incroyable! Une maison ancienne et authentique faite en pierres sèches, la pajara, et un jardin immense garni d’oliviers, de figuiers, de poiriers, et d’un potager de légumes de saison d’une variété extraordinaire, à notre disposition. Du jamais vu! Un véritable paradis pour les végétariens. Nous sommes restés deux semaines dans l’une des pajare de la famille Arseni durant lesquelles nous avons pleinement profité de ce lieu magique: un espace intérieur divinement décoré et calme, aux plafonds hauts et voûtés, que la pierre épaisse laisse délicieusement frais en plein mois de juillet; un grand patio où nous avons grillé nos légumes récoltés du jardin et poissons frais de la mer, avons dégusté les spécialités faites maison – huile d’olive, sauce tomate, confitures – généreusement offertes par Mr. et Mme. Arseni comme bienvenue, et où nous nous sommes prélassés au son des criquets des heures durant, balancés dans le hamac; un toit terrasse avec une vue imprenable sur le jardin et à perte de vue sur l’horizon, sur la mer et les lumières de Castro. Nous avons bien sûr aussi découvert une région, Salento, d’une beauté éblouissante. La terre restée sauvage qui plonge dans une mer bleue intense, et où se côtoient villages pittoresques à l’architecture baroque étonnante! Les plages, les criques, et les fameuses grottes à proximité. Des paysages à couper le souffle. Une vraie découverte! Nous remercions chaleureusement la famille Arseni qui a rendu notre séjour si agréable et inoubliable grâce à leur gentillesse, leur hospitalité et leur incroyable disponibilité à partager leur connaissance et leur savoir-faire exceptionnels. Nous nous réjouissons déjà d’y retourner!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$157
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Arseni V
Speaks English, French, Italian
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 21 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing