We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Couples Resort to your Saves list
Couples Resort
139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay for our honeymoon in August. We had seen the pictures online, and were quite disappointed by the Jr. Suite. They boast a lot of upgrades, but I don't think this includes the lower end rooms. The rooms are wood panelled, which gives a rustic feel. A bit odd to have the shower wood panelled as well; they were mouldy. This wasn't the problem, though.

We were awake all night with the noise of the jacuzzi above us, as well as the couple above seemingly running back and forth across the room. The next morning, we mentioned at the front desk that we weren't overly impressed. The woman at the desk even had a name tag entitled "Customer Relations". All she had to say was "That couple is checking out today " (which I think they did), or "how can we make your stay better?". Instead, we got "Well we don't usually let people check out a day early. But if you insist, we'll allow it. We'll expect you out in the morning".

We later heard another employee tell guests that they were welcome to enjoy the grounds for the day following checkout. We were made to feel as though they didn't care much about people staying in the less expensive rooms. $400/night is still a great deal of money. We expected a bit more consideration, especially on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is very unfortunate that you were kept awake at night on your honeymoon. I am not sure why someone would be in their Jacuzzi all night long as we remind all people to shut down noise at midnight in consideration of others. Sometimes we are called in the middle of the night to help correct the situation of noisy guests.

I am glad to hear the properly finished all-natural cedar wood planks were Not mouldy in your bathroom and around your Jacuzzi. Cedar planks are great for their anti-mould properties and their ability to withstand water. We have used cedar wood in parts of our accommodations to represent the Algonquin Nature around us and remind us that we are not downtown some big city. The Jr Suites you were in had many upgrades ($10,000 each room last year) and I am sure you enjoyed the fresh look with fresh linens, walls and carpets, marble floors, 50” plasma TV, new furnishings and private deck with 2 padded chaise lounge chairs onto the lake. I do know these rooms meet or exceed 5 Star and 5 Diamond standards in quality, size and amenities so at least you were ok on this front. I am also glad that you enjoyed the All-Inclusive with the Gourmet meals and all the sports. I am pleased that Mary with many years of experience in Guest Relations was able to provide you a quick departure from the Resort as you seemed very eager to leave and not spend a cent more. As a great recommendation we remind people looking at marriage not to get married in the most expensive part of the year for travel purposes. Our best example is our owner who got married in November so every year he and his bride can take advantage of great discounts in travel, and they have been married for a long time. There are many times of the year where prices are far less expensive for travel, and couples planning a marriage should plan for the long range and the money saved if they like the idea of travel. We wish you many happy and wonderful years together as a couple, it is a blissful moment that can endure forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    144
    63
    25
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
515
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lively
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you like screaming, unsupervised kids then the Couples Resort is NOT the place for you. Just peace and quiet. We stayed in one of the chateaus and it was so quiet it actually took some getting used to. We estimate there were about 15-20 other couples there, but the only time we noticed them was when we were in the lobby reception area or in the dining room. When we were at our cabin there was no sight nor sound of others, even while sitting on our deck. How nice it was to be able to sit in the hot tub on the deck and look out over the lake while sipping champagne in such a peaceful atmosphere .

In the early evening, we would be serenaded by the nearby "wolves" (which actually turned out to be huskies at feeding time).

The reception staff did an admirable job and were ever eager to please. No problem was too trivial for them to handle immediately and with gusto. For example, one day after it had rained, we stopped by the front desk and asked to borrow a broom to get rid of a small puddle on our deck. The receptionist said she would call maintenance and it would be fixed right away. How many times have we all heard that but "right away" actually means two more calls to the front desk and a few hours later? Ain't nobody got time for that! Not the case here. In fact, the maintenance guy even beat us back to our chateau. Now that's service, I don't care who you are!

We never actually met the cleaning staff but they really did an amazing job. What we thought was really neat is that they seemed to clean our cottage almost immediately after we put the cleaning request sign on the door handle. We'd leave for a couple of hours and the place was all nice and tidy upon our return. Not the case in other places we've stayed where you end up having to kill a big chunk of time so that you can return to the room you are paying for.

The spa is a great feature of the resort. A real treat was to be had when we went for a pedicure - my first. The ladies who did the treatment were a real delight and wonderful conversationalists (thanks Adele, Anita and trainee Chantal).

I'll let you know up front that I'm no food critic but I do know the difference between good and bad food. The food here is exceptional. The dinner each night started with an amuse bouche, which was different each evening and a wonderful way to wake up the palette. This was followed by a choice of two appetizers - we particularly enjoyed the baked brie in phyllo and the tequila-glazed wild boar. The entrees were varied enough that we weren't running out of things to order by the third night and were supplemented daily by chef's specials. To end, there were a variety of tasty desserts. The dining room was elegant and well appointed and the alternate option of having the five-course meal delivered directly to your room - complete with linen napkins and real silverware - for no extra charge was a much appreciated luxury touch. The only complaint we have about the food is that my wife says now we'll have to do double work-outs daily for the next two weeks just to recover from the extra calorie intake!

I read the reviews on Trip Adviser before our trip and noted the negative ones and, as a result, I actively looked for such things as rude staff members. What we found was the complete opposite. Everyone we met, from the receptionists (thanks Amber) to the breakfast waitress (thanks Nancy) and everyone in between seemed to be happy at their job. A wise man once said, "If you truly enjoy what you do, you will never work a day in your life" and the attitude of the staff here seems to embody that.

I did extensive research on Ontario resorts with regard to cleanliness, cost, friendly staff, etc. where Trip Adviser came in very handy. In calculating the many variables, the Couples Resort won hands down when considering the bang for the buck. We have traveled quite extensively in the States, where, among other places, we have stayed at a luxury resort that caters to the Chicago crowd and which has some famous regular patrons such as John Travolta, Harrison Ford and Jimmy Buffet, to name a few. The Couples Resort even rivals this five-star resort. They really mean it when they say
"Let Us Spoil You."

Thank You All..!
- Dan & Cathy -

Room Tip: Thanks to all staff members. YOU'RE THE BEST..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Love the title of your review. We are definitely all about getting away from the kids. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us so very much. The staff will be very happy to read this. Although we are all human and occasionally have a bad day, our staff is generally quite happy to help in any way they can. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night next time it will be longer. The Jr. Suite was well appointed. Fire place, hot tub, king bed, large flat screen TV, wi-fi, balcony looking out to the lake. We enjoy being active and they accommodated us with mountain bikes a trail and we were gone great ride. We also took on the hiking trail that starts at the property a nice afternoon hike. Followed by a gourmet dinner that was beutifuly presented and tasted as good. Friendly staff willing to accommodate .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice 2 night stay at the resort. It was our first time and we will be back.

We were very happy with our Master's junior suite. It was a large, comfortable place to be. The pictures don't do the room justice. The furniture of excellent quality and OVERSIZED so it is difficult to appreciate the size/scale of the room when looking at the pictures. You have just about every amenity you could want from the steam shower, in room Jacuzzi, private deck with hot tub and loungers, fireplace etc.

Our meals (dinner in particular) were excellent. Service and food quality were top notch. The menu may lack a bit of "inspiration" for some tastes (don't come here expecting molecular gastronomy) and the style of the dining room may not be to everyone's liking, but there is no mistaking the fact that everything is of a very high quality and the staff/management work very hard to provide a fantastic fine dining experience. We really enjoyed our dinners.

As for activities, we took the paddle boat out for a bit and also took a short 15 minute drive to do one of the Algonquin Park hikes (Booth' Rock) which was great fun. Otherwise we spent our time on the deck enjoying the view of the lake.

We weren't sure what to expect given some of the negative reviews and some of the responses posted by management and came away very satisfied with our stay.

Pros:
-Fantastic Room with every amenity imaginable
-Excellent Food & Fine dining experience
-Professional Staff
-Quiet and Relaxing
-Close proximity to some great hiking trails

Cons:
-A total of $1400 tax in for a 2 night week-end feels a bit steep. The high price and the high expectations that come with it probably account for many of the more negative reviews. We will be back, but will try to book when rates are a bit lower. We had tried to book a stay at a couple of competing resorts in the region that were lower priced and they were fully booked. Nevertheless we were very pleased with our week-end.

Recommendations to Management:
-This is a nit, but the lack of "cord management" and the exposed AV components under the nice flat screen TV distract from what is otherwise a wonderful room.

-The grounds could use some TLC, there are several areas where dirt, gravel have washed out over paths and there is quite a bit of overgrowth in and around the flower beds.

Room Tip: Know what you like and pick what you like. We prefer a more traditional luxury hotel environment so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Couples resort upon recommendation of friends. The resort is very nice, but our room was right over the very busy kitchen door that slammed all evening and day. This did take away from the relaxing atmosphere. The food was supposed to be amazing. We did enjoy several lovely meals however as I ate no where else on on my 3rd day had a terrible bout of food poisoning, that did very much detract from the whole trip.

Room Tip: Please request a room that is not by the entrance or over the kitchen facilities....as the constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you caught a flu / cold bug which dampened your vacation, I hope you are now feeling better. It is unfortunate that it caused you to leave a poor review. The flu / cold bug going around would have had the same affect and we know that recently there has been a flu / cold bug going around in the northern States and in Ontario. I wish you could have told us while you were here that you were not feeling well, sometimes we can help. Fortunately for our Gourmet Dining we have not heard from anyone else that there was food problems so food poisoning is not possible. We are glad that your good friends thought our food was amazing, tell them we love them, as we are often delighted about how our guests talk about our meals. Although we do have rooms in the main lodge, none are above or even close to the kitchen as we know better than that. What you heard was a noisy lobby door, a door which had never been a problem before, we wish you would have brought it to our attention so that we could have fixed the troubled door right away. Again, I am sorry the trip was not what you had expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a very special 25th anniversary at the couples resort. We were very overwhelmed and completely satisfied with the get away. From the time we arrived, to the time we checked out, we were pleasantly surprised with all the resort had to offer. There were plenty of activities planned and available for us. The dining room was elegant and the dinners were delicious. The breakfast was conveniently served in our room and we enjoyed each others company as we ate it on our balcony. The room was complete, with all that we needed and laid out very well to accommodate us. It was a beautiful, peaceful, restful, and relaxing weekend for us, as a couple that needed a getaway. Thank you. See you again. Our experience has left a lasting memory with us, and we can't stop talking about it to friends, family and others, with encouraging suggestions to venture on their own. We were truly blessed to share such a great anniversary at your resort. Thank you. Be blessed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay. So very glad that you enjoyed your time away and all of the activities.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Couples and this time we stayed in our own Gaea cabin. It has everything you need, and more - big enough to live in! Loved the screened porch when it was raining and the loungers were great for star viewing at night. The gardens around are lovely with beautiful flowers and herbs & veggies that are used in the restaurant. I only wish it was a little closer to home so we could go more often. Love that the food in the dining room is becoming more vegetarian/vegan. Thank you and we'll be back! ~Ann and Barry

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake, but getting your own cabin is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review! And the photos too! Amazing! We look forward to seeing you again. I am glad you are loving the Chef’s latest menu. The health conscious options are becoming more and more popular. Chef Ronnie and his team strive to offer the best possible options for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.