We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Couples Resort to your Saves list
Couples Resort
139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Burlington, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice 2 night stay at the resort. It was our first time and we will be back.

We were very happy with our Master's junior suite. It was a large, comfortable place to be. The pictures don't do the room justice. The furniture of excellent quality and OVERSIZED so it is difficult to appreciate the size/scale of the room when looking at the pictures. You have just about every amenity you could want from the steam shower, in room Jacuzzi, private deck with hot tub and loungers, fireplace etc.

Our meals (dinner in particular) were excellent. Service and food quality were top notch. The menu may lack a bit of "inspiration" for some tastes (don't come here expecting molecular gastronomy) and the style of the dining room may not be to everyone's liking, but there is no mistaking the fact that everything is of a very high quality and the staff/management work very hard to provide a fantastic fine dining experience. We really enjoyed our dinners.

As for activities, we took the paddle boat out for a bit and also took a short 15 minute drive to do one of the Algonquin Park hikes (Booth' Rock) which was great fun. Otherwise we spent our time on the deck enjoying the view of the lake.

We weren't sure what to expect given some of the negative reviews and some of the responses posted by management and came away very satisfied with our stay.

Pros:
-Fantastic Room with every amenity imaginable
-Excellent Food & Fine dining experience
-Professional Staff
-Quiet and Relaxing
-Close proximity to some great hiking trails

Cons:
-A total of $1400 tax in for a 2 night week-end feels a bit steep. The high price and the high expectations that come with it probably account for many of the more negative reviews. We will be back, but will try to book when rates are a bit lower. We had tried to book a stay at a couple of competing resorts in the region that were lower priced and they were fully booked. Nevertheless we were very pleased with our week-end.

Recommendations to Management:
-This is a nit, but the lack of "cord management" and the exposed AV components under the nice flat screen TV distract from what is otherwise a wonderful room.

-The grounds could use some TLC, there are several areas where dirt, gravel have washed out over paths and there is quite a bit of overgrowth in and around the flower beds.

Room Tip: Know what you like and pick what you like. We prefer a more traditional luxury hotel environment so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    144
    63
    25
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
515
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Couples resort upon recommendation of friends. The resort is very nice, but our room was right over the very busy kitchen door that slammed all evening and day. This did take away from the relaxing atmosphere. The food was supposed to be amazing. We did enjoy several lovely meals however as I ate no where else on on my 3rd day had a terrible bout of food poisoning, that did very much detract from the whole trip.

Room Tip: Please request a room that is not by the entrance or over the kitchen facilities....as the constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you caught a flu / cold bug which dampened your vacation, I hope you are now feeling better. It is unfortunate that it caused you to leave a poor review. The flu / cold bug going around would have had the same affect and we know that recently there has been a flu / cold bug going around in the northern States and in Ontario. I wish you could have told us while you were here that you were not feeling well, sometimes we can help. Fortunately for our Gourmet Dining we have not heard from anyone else that there was food problems so food poisoning is not possible. We are glad that your good friends thought our food was amazing, tell them we love them, as we are often delighted about how our guests talk about our meals. Although we do have rooms in the main lodge, none are above or even close to the kitchen as we know better than that. What you heard was a noisy lobby door, a door which had never been a problem before, we wish you would have brought it to our attention so that we could have fixed the troubled door right away. Again, I am sorry the trip was not what you had expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a very special 25th anniversary at the couples resort. We were very overwhelmed and completely satisfied with the get away. From the time we arrived, to the time we checked out, we were pleasantly surprised with all the resort had to offer. There were plenty of activities planned and available for us. The dining room was elegant and the dinners were delicious. The breakfast was conveniently served in our room and we enjoyed each others company as we ate it on our balcony. The room was complete, with all that we needed and laid out very well to accommodate us. It was a beautiful, peaceful, restful, and relaxing weekend for us, as a couple that needed a getaway. Thank you. See you again. Our experience has left a lasting memory with us, and we can't stop talking about it to friends, family and others, with encouraging suggestions to venture on their own. We were truly blessed to share such a great anniversary at your resort. Thank you. Be blessed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay. So very glad that you enjoyed your time away and all of the activities.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Couples and this time we stayed in our own Gaea cabin. It has everything you need, and more - big enough to live in! Loved the screened porch when it was raining and the loungers were great for star viewing at night. The gardens around are lovely with beautiful flowers and herbs & veggies that are used in the restaurant. I only wish it was a little closer to home so we could go more often. Love that the food in the dining room is becoming more vegetarian/vegan. Thank you and we'll be back! ~Ann and Barry

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake, but getting your own cabin is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review! And the photos too! Amazing! We look forward to seeing you again. I am glad you are loving the Chef’s latest menu. The health conscious options are becoming more and more popular. Chef Ronnie and his team strive to offer the best possible options for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Couples Resort was a fantastic surprise for us! Their facilities and the absolute pristine setting on one of the Lakes in Algonquin Park area was picture perfect! We were taken care of by all staff at the resort, and the best was it felt like our place! Only couples is a great idea! We had the Gaia cabin which overlooked the lake, only 40 ft away, there was a fireplace, a jacuzzi, a steam shower and a dry steam bath in our room as well! Dining for a King and Queen, both dinner and breakfast! Food as well as beautiful decor help keep the quiet, serene atmosphere at Couples Resort in Whitney! The beautiful dock, during the day, the great firepit for the later evening under a crowded starlit sky, it's all terrifac! We had only one night there, but have told all,of our friends they must come once to experience this oasis in Algonquin Park area! PS forgot, they even supply bug repellent!

Room Tip: We had the private cabin facing the lake! Our friends had the one in the building with a porch facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
So very happy that you enjoyed your one night, kids free escape! Something all parents need to do for themselves as a couple occasionally. Please come back when you have more time. And this time take advantage of the free spa treatment for return guests. We look forward to seeing you again when the kids let you out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first time there - went for the Aug long weekend. It had everything and more - rustic, quiet environment, fantastic food, access to bikes and water craft as needed or wanted. Or you could just lay around reading and soaking up the sun. Everything was super clean and they even supplied bug spray! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Villa - try to grab one of those if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I am so glad that we provided all you needed and wanted for a quiet weekend away. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Don’t forget the free spa treatment as a return guest. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had the master suite with 2 Jacuzzis and a wonderfull Steam bath , Lots of Towels and excellent Service No Line Ups No Huge Crowds Absolutely Lovely,We will be returning again in the fall for another quiet evening

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed the peacefulness here. We look forward to seeing you again in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.