We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Julebord by mister X” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fredrikstad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fredrikstad to your Saves list
Hotel Fredrikstad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nygaardsgaten 9-11, Fredrikstad 1606, Norway   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fredrikstad
1 review
“Julebord by mister X”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Welcoming was great receptionist was professional and helpful.

Room was a little small but nice.

The room, the shower and toilet where clean.

Breakfast was nice with fresh homemade cooking, fruits and a good variety of food choices.

The hotel is placed at the edge of town with a little traffic at nights, perfect if you need a good night sleep.

I did not use the other facilities but they are there, a bar, an outdoor lounge at the back of the hotel and a private bar in the basement.

Ps: the cheapest hotel in town.

Well done.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I recently stayed five nights in the Hotel Fredrikstad. My room was perfect for one person. Bed was very comfortable and you can open the window for fresh air. The bathroom was nice as well. There is noise from the outside but nothing that kept me awake. The breakfast was excellent. Great variety and very tasty as well. It is in a great location. Just a short walk to the waterfront and downtown shopping.

If you happen to be there on a Wed. be sure to join in the Peace March at 6:00 pm outside the Cactus Cafe. The March was organized after the World Trade Center bombings and has been held every Wed evening since. It is a peaceful march and a great way to meet the locals.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my sister. the hotel was really pricy but what isn't expensive in Norway! ?The very friendly staffs especially in the front desk made our stay pleasant. breakfast was complete and good. The morning shift Mrs Setare was really nice and helpful and made our stay very easy.
the hotel itself is located in a beautiful neighborhood, so closed to the bus terminal but yet peaceful and quiet. the rooms had good furnitures.

Room Tip: If you are riding airport bus to the Fredrikstad, when you get off, don't do our mistake and rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good location, nice service, good value for money. Breakfast needs improvement, not enough fruit and no good coffee. They need more parking space. There is some noise from outside, but from the 3rd floor on the weekend it was not a problem. Barthroom need some update.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We weren't exactly uncomfortable here, but it's definitely sub-par.

Pros:

> Pleasant location, with a view of a park and close to the river with restaurants and views.
> Clean.
> Nice dark drapes (not a given in Scandinavia!) keep out early morning light.
> Good selection of local foods in the included breakfast. Well worth while in a country where lunch can cost $45 a head.
> Friendly staff.
> Good TV, clear picture (cable?)

Cons:

> Free WiFi but intermittent connectivity. It improved when we ask reception to reset the router.
> Tiny bathroom, cheaply built. More like a work site cabin or holiday park than a city hotel.
> Two thin bath towels, one hand towel, no face washer.
> Small, travel style hair dryer.
> Poorly designed room layout, no suitcase stand.
> No information folder.
> Hole in the wall in our room needs repair (or a picture to cover it up).
> Booked a double room, got a twin.
> Traffic noise forced us to keep the windows closed to sleep, which made the room warm and stuffy.
> The breakfast buffet has no signs to indicate what the items are. I would have wound up pouring custard in my tea if I didn't happen to speak Norwegian. It would take an hour's work to make some signs.

Conclusion: A adequate place if you are not looking for luxury. There are not too many hotels in Fredrikstad, and this one was economical (by local standards),

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

For a one-nighter during a business trip, this is an adequate hotel, especially for the price. But you are getting what you're paying for - the rooms are dated and look quite tired, the bathrooms are small and dated and the entire house creeks as it settles during the night. The furniture are in severe need for an update - my colleague pulled out a drawer and was left with the entire front in hand, while the rest of the drawer was sitting back at the chest.
The breakfast buffé is small, but quite adequate. The staff is very friendly and service minded, and honestly the best part of the hotel experience.
If you're just looking for a place to crash for the night, and you're not easily disturbed by sounds during the night, this is an okay hotel. If you're fussy, or a light sleeper, chose another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The room was comfortable enough in terms of its size and cleanliness. I was in a room for two with a cousin and it was okay. Clean sheets, linens, towels, curtains, etc. The room was with a closet for our clothes which made it organized.

There's a classic atmosphere in the place as the building was kind of old but well-maintained. It's a cozy place for me. The bathroom was okay same with the toiletries that were provided.

We stayed overnight and during the whole time I was not able to connect to their free wifi. We were provided with the password but still it didn't work. So that was kind of bad for me.

It became so very hot during the night that we had to open the windows to let the fresh air in but unfortunately it was also raining that time so we couldn't do so openly.

The beds were big enough and I slept soundly until...

We were awakened during the early hours of the next day with the noises brought by the cars/vehicles passing along the streets beside the hotel. The place is located near the busy streets so it was so bothersome for us. Closing the windows didn't help either.

The meal provision wasn't an organized one either so we had to go out and scout elsewhere for meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fredrikstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fredrikstad

Address: Nygaardsgaten 9-11, Fredrikstad 1606, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Fredrikstad Municipality > Fredrikstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fredrikstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fredrikstad 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fredrikstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fredrikstad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.