We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Pleasurable Retreat in a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio to your Saves list
Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio
Calzada de la Rodilla del Diablo No. 20 | Col. La Quinta, Uruapan 60030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Uruapan
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasurable Retreat in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My first step into the courtyard set a beautiful stage for this nice hotel. Then seeing the exquisite national park right outside the restaurant patio made the impression even greater. Location is not central to town but quite easily accessible by car/taxi. The rooms are nice and clean with a character to match the grounds. I enjoyed the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and the front desk gave excellent tips on other places to eat and visit during my stay. Evening time ended each time with a cocktail in an outside seating area near the pool. All and all, a pleasant surprise in both the Hotel Mansion and the people of Uruapan.

Room Tip: Laid out more in a motel style, a room with a view of the pool and courtyard is quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Location-wise - just steps from the lush National Park and the beautiful river, the Mansion is hard to beat. The hotel itself is actually more of a motel layout, but the rooms are nice and clean, definitely at hotel-standard, even if they don't have much character.

The grounds are another story, as the inner courtyard is quite pretty and makes a pleasant place for breakfast (which is likewise decent). There's also a pool, which is pleasant and popular with families (which can get a bit noisy). Service is professional and top-notch. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic gardens, the suites overlooking the park have a great view and are very comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

To our surprise, the hotel is well situated, but the customer service was lacking big time. At the restaurant we ordered what ever the chef recommended. Trout at its worst, we tried telling the chef in our kindest words we wanted something different, they accepted, but still charged us the Trout which we barely touched.
The rooms are very rustic, and some insects crawling. Not a good experience. I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 3 or 4 time and each one was a delight. It is not in the center of town and is next to the entry to the National Park, both a plus in my book. The service is always attentive, the food excellent, the rooms extra clean. A guitarist plays on the weekends and the music can be heard from the rooms which always seems so romantic and an enchanted, reminding me of why I live in Mexico. So sad that they have to put the travel advisory on such a wonderful part of Mexico.

Room Tip: The internet might have specials such as three nights for the price of two. Our room was not one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the place to relax in Uruapan. A delightful setting right next to the National Park (a high forest in a ravine with rushing waterfalls secluded walks and water features, beautifully laid out and very well maintained - 25 pesos entry, opens 8.00am - a must see - right in the old town, adjacent to the Mansion).
The Mansion is well described by other reviewers. I should add that staff are wonderfully polite and helpful, no language difficulties. The rooms are perfect - but not heated and can be chilly in winter.
A very good menu, with local cuisine, Mexican cuisine and European. Order the "Spanish tortilla" for breakfast - very good. With "jugo verde" (different but great).
There's an outdoor pool for kids and adults. Live entertainment - very discreet, and talented musicians in the dining room on weekends. Conference rooms available. A good location for a wedding reception - photogenic gardens.
I have stayed at this hotel every month of the year and can recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Hotel Mansion is truly a throwback to another era. It's Spanish roots are apparent and its locale is in one of the oldest cities in Mexico which sits at about the same altitude as Denver, giving it an enviable climate. The hospitality and charm are in abundance. What the old hacienda style lodge lacks in technology (there was not a flat screen TV in the room) it more than makes up with intangibles that take you back to a simpler time.

The park next to the hotel is well worth exploring. If you're here for business or pleasure, you can scarcely do better than this grand dame...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio

Address: Calzada de la Rodilla del Diablo No. 20 | Col. La Quinta, Uruapan 60030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Uruapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Uruapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mansion Del Cupatitzio Uruapan, Mexico - Michoacan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.