We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be great when finished” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astarea to your Saves list
Hotel Astarea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste Marka Marojce 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Will be great when finished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel rooms are reasonable but the twin rooms are bigger than the doubles, which hae very limited draw space.The meals are acceptable but rather boring as they have only pork, beef and chicken. At breakfast you get somewhat undercooked bacon every other day and some sort of boiled spam on the other days.
At the moment they atr building an outdoor swimming pool, new beach snack bar and upgrading all the grounds and as such it is one big building site. It looks like it could be finished by the middle of July and then it will be great.
All the staff are very helpfull and friendly but if you want to play table tennis, it costs about £4 an hour.

Room Tip: Choose a twin to get a larger room with more draw space. All have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about Hotel Astarea and we are very happy to see that our staff was always polite and helpful. All works are in final phase which means that our guest will use pool and other new facilities end of June. I would also like to mention that food concept has been changed and hope you will like our improvments next time you are staying with us.
With kind regards from sunny Mlini
Mario Matkovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    180
    93
    32
    10
See reviews for
87
202
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had an amazing time in Croatia and having a nice hotel was part of it. The views from our room and the views surrounding the hotel are just beautiful! The hotel is clean and the staff is super friendly--I especially wanted to thank Maja who works in reception-- She was very helpful in giving us ideas of what to do and she was very attentive to our needs. Anything we needed or any questions we had we went to Maja--she is great. The town of Dubrovnik is not far-this was a perfect location for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in hotel Astarea in june 2013 and I have to say that I had an amazing time there. The hotel is refurbished and it has the most amazing view. The staff was extremely helpful and professional, especially at the reception of the hotel. We could also see that they built new apartments near the sea and that they have an amazing outside pool. The inside pool is also spacious and clean. The weather was amazing and during the night we could enjoy the summer breeze from our balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who seeks for relaxation and experience. Dubrovnik is so close by, so you can enjoy the city during the day and relax in Astarea during the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that your stay was special. Thank you very much indeed for the wonderful review. We always strive to provide a personal and engaging experience for each our guest.

We are all looking forward to your next visit. We hope to continue satisfaying our guests with our service and hospitality.

With best wishes from sunny Mlini

Mario Matkovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After reading reviews on this property, I was expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised.
We stayed here for 1 week and found the staff to be super friendly and helpful (espcially Maja).

Room
We checked in early but the room was twinshare with garden view. We asked if we could be moved to the double we had booked, no problem. We requested a high floor with seaview, no problem - they were happy to accommodate us. The room itself is small (typical 3 star European room). The bathroom did have an issue with sewerage smell so we left the fan with the door closed the whole time. Hot water comes and goes which can be a bit annoying. The rooms have a cupboard for a bar fridge but they don't have a fridge in the room which was disappointing. The cleaning of the rooms was appalling - the first day they didn't clean our room til 8.45pm after 2 phonecalls! The cleaners do not refresh toiletries, remove old wine glasses or empty bottles and one day they did not even make up the bed! The room was not vacuumed once during our stay and all this despite leaving cash tips for the cleaners every single day.

Bar area
Very pleasant with views over the sea. Barstaff are really friendly.

Food
I have to agree with most reviewers on here... the food is not nice at all (we called it chew & spew throughout our holiday). However, in saying this, I don't see how they could really change their food as this hotel is so busy they cook on a mass level daily. The staff are hit & miss in the restaurant - the young ones were nice but most of the older ones were pretty rude. We were on half board and ate breakfast every morning and did about 3 dinners - the rest of the time we ate elsewhere so we could eat some decent food.

Resort
They were in the midst of building an outdoor pool which when finished will be awesome. The spa is quite good (I had a facial & massage) and the indoor pool is great. It is in an excellent location with only a short stroll into Mlini. You can get a ferry, hotel shuttle or bus into Dubrovnik which is closeby. If you are looking for a young party style resort - this is not the place for you! It is full of elderly people - one could be forgiven for thinking they'd just walked into an aged care home and not a holiday resort. For us it was ok though as we were travelling with a toddler so the silence at night was good. :) I had read reviews about the annexe building being out of the way.... seriously - it is at the other end of the carpark, it's hardly a hike like other reviewers have suggested. Bus loads of old people arrive daily so be prepared for a busy place.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay. If we were to return to Mlini, I would stay at Asterea Hotel again if it was for a few days however if it was for a week, I'd most likely stay in an apartment instead. This is mainly due to the poor food quality, lack of cleaning in the room and the sewerage issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on a high floor when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family and I go to Croatia every year. If you're visiting Dubrovnik, I highly recommend Asterea Hotel. It's in the heart of the city. The rooms are comfortable and the customer service was excellent. Any questions we had, they were able to answer and help us find our way throughout the city. Asterea Hotel is where to go!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from the Astarea, and had a wonderful weeks stay. The hotel is undergoing upgrades at the moment with outdoor pool being built. We stayed in the annexe, and cannot understand why there are negative reviews. The annexe had a really nice exterior, lovely modern rooms, spotlessly clean, cleaned every day, the most comfortable king size bed, also a good size modern t.v. and very stylish bathroom. The balcony was also very nice with a gorgeous view. After reading the negative reviews we were delighted with the annexe. The exterior of the main building may be a bit on the dated side on first sight but has an impressive lobby, and very well kept attractive public areas. We were bed and breakfast which was plentiful and well organised. The hotel is situated in a really beautiful peaceful area with mountain backdrops gardens and seaviews, could'nt be better. When the pool and the new bungalows are finished the hotel and grounds will look really impressive. Mlini itself is a few minutes walk away and is a lovely small traditional village, with interesting old buildings around the bridge. There are a few restaurants and bars here, also boat trips to the islands and dubrovnik. The hotel also has a very reliable shuttle bus to dubrovnik. Loved Dubrovnik. This was our first trip to Croatia, we thought it was beautiful. Had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank your for writting review about hotel Astarea and we are very glad to see that you like what we have done with hotel and anexe as well. This year we have completly refurbished bathrooms, balconies, placed new TV set, etc. Very soon our new outdoor pool and restaurant are going to be finished which will just make our guest holidays even more enjoyable.
All new photos of hotel Astarea and area you can find on our web page or facebook.
With best regards
Mario Matkovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This large hotel is in a wonderful setting and when the pool is finished will be lovely. At present (end of May) the whole of the area between the building and the sea is one large building site from 0700 to 1900 hours. Once you've negotiated that the walk to the harbour in Mlini and beyond is beautiful.
Although the hotel was busy our room was very quiet with a view both of the sea & the garden to the side. The restaurant also was fairly crowded but provided you didn't dash in when it opened it was always possible to get a table and the buffet was always being topped up. Good choice of food at dinner & breakfast.
The vast majority of the staff were friendly & efficient. There is good free wi-fi in the lobby & bar. Drink prices are reasonable for a hotel & compare favourably with the local bars. Covered parking for our hire car was always available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Astarea on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Astarea . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Also I would like to mention that pool works are almost finished and mid June we shall be swimming in new outside pool and enjoying our time in new Beach bar & Restaurant.

With very best regards
Mario Matkovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Address: Setaliste Marka Marojce 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astarea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.