We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astarea to your Saves list
Hotel Astarea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste Marka Marojce 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Tillicoultry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this lovely hotel for a week. It was just perfect. The location was excellent, not too near and not too far, rural but not. The service was first class, the staff were lovely, always smiling, very friendly and helpful, and very polite. The food was really nice and well prepared. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. The boat services from Mlini to Dubrovnik and the islands were great. The bus service was very good also. The hotel had a shuttle bus service to Dubrovnik which was really good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay when visiting Dubrovnik, Croatia.Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for writing this nice review. It is always nice to hear that we have met your expectation and that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to see you in Hotel Astarea in future again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic and the team
Hotel Astarea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    180
    93
    32
    10
See reviews for
87
202
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Astarea is a good hotel in a great location. We were on the third floor of the main hotel building with a balcony and sea view, absolutely no complaints. Unlimited buffet breakfast served through to 10am, enough to keep you going until unlimited buffet dinner is served from 7pm. A glass of the local pivo (beer) Ozujsko at regular intervals through the day is thoroughly recommended. Great staff, restaurant staff polite and efficient, reception staff helpful and competent. Organised coach tours by Atlas and other agencies stop in front of the hotel, or organise your own trip - it's a ten minute walk down to the little harbour at Mlini which is only half an hour from Dubrovnik by boat (80kn return) - boats a bit thin on the water in early May but I guess more plentiful over the summer. Or walk up the hill to the main road and catch the no 10 bus (hourly - 12kn single, timetable on the wall in the hotel foyer) into Dubrovnik (but don't overshoot the Old Town as we did, the bus goes into the bus station in the new town). Cavtat in the next bay well worth a visit. The Astarea is a big hotel and some parts of it generate a little evening noise, but our sleep was undisturbed. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing review abour Hotel Astarea in Mlini - Dubrovnik. We are very happy to see that you liked your stay with us and that we have managed to fullfill your expectations. We hope to see you back in near future.
With very best regards from sunny Mlini

Mario Matkovic and Astarea team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After a cancelled flight, I was excited to stay in Dubrovnik for another night. When the airline put us up in a hotel for free for the night I was even more excited!

Upon arriving at the Hotel Astarea, I was shocked by the poor condition of the building. After entering the hotel we were greeted by furnishings from the 80's or early 90's in serious need of an upgrade. Even though old, the hotel lobby was clean and taken care of.

After checking in we realized that half of the hotel was under construction. The halls were filled with construction workers and their equipment that we had to weave through to get to our room. Upon entering the room, one was struck with distinct odor of old cigarettes. The room was tiny and desperate need of repair.

The window was so drafty that it caused strange suction with the doors in the room (making the front door at times nearly impossible to open). The bathroom, barely more than a closet in size, featured broken towels and a set of shower controls that only operated in the cold position.

We attended the provided dinner and again were completely disappointed. The food was all cold, the meat was burnt, the vegetables unseasoned. The server began stacking dirty dishes around the food on "buffet".

We checked out an hour early the next morning and ran for the door. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beautiful views from the room we had. We arrived late at night but had no trouble getting a room albeit it was very expensive. The bed was nice and soft. The room was very clean and a decent size. TIn the morning we opened the italian style window shutters and were taken aback by the stunning views of the gardens overlooking the beautiful blue/green waters of the Adriatic. We ate at the restaurant which was in the grounds of the hotel on the beach, lovely food and friendly waiting on staff. The breakfast in the hotel wasn't fantastic and the choice limited. Not a lot to do hear but if you just want to relax for a few days, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We visited Hotel Astarea as a Saga organised, all inclusive holiday (Never any complaints with Saga!)

The hotel was clean, well maintained in a pleasant location, with friendly staff. Two very welcome features were a computer room, offering free internet access and a free room safe. A nice touch was the bowl of fresh fruit in our room on arrival.

The food was acceptable, if a little dull at times.
BREAKFAST: Very limited choice of cereals. Hot breakfast offered eggs, boiled scrambled or fried, but was often served with some sort of fried luncheon meat (we only had bacon twice). Numerous varieties of bread were on offer, all fresh and of excellent quality. The coffee machines served something very unpleasant - a sort of tasteless mud, unlike the excellent coffee served in the hotel bars, which was made from freshly ground beans.

LUNCH: An extensive choice of cold meats, salads and coleslaws, or hot pasta dishes (the pastas were of a very high standard). No hot drinks were on offer, but table wine or bottled water was served at table.

DINNER: The food was adequate, if somewhat repetitive and lacked a more imaginative presentation. The sweets on offer were somewhat uninspiring, but there was an abundance of fresh fruit. Sadly, missing were most of the lovely salads which had been available at lunch. There was a serious lack of cutlery, making it necessary to recycle knives and forks from the first course, (Stealing cutlery from vacant tables was not for the faint-hearted - the waitresses looked like candidates for the Croatian Ladies, All-in Olympic Wrestling Team!)

The hotel has easy access to Dubrovnik, either by a reasonably priced shuttle bus at the hotel, or by service buses (Bouncy ride with wooden seats). Access to service buses involve an exhausting, ten minute, steep climb to the main road - not for the unfit or elderly.

The hotel is situated in Mlini, a small village which appears to have escaped damage from the recent civil war. A twenty minute stroll (followed by dozens of miaowing cats) along the seashore will take you to a very sad sight: an even prettier bay than Mlinin, now deserted, its hotels all bombed-out.

A short bus ride in the opposite direction to Dubrovnik takes you to the picturesque village of Cavtat, with its Marina and excellent bars and restaurants. A word of warning though: Croatian hot chocolate is not the sort we expect here in the UK - it is simply melted milk chocolate, probably an half pound block of Bournville per cup, and all the calories you need for a month - you don't so much drink it as chew it!

Croatia is a disappointment for lovers of ice creams: Ice cream parlours about, all offering a large variety of appealing flavours which, despite their appearance, all taste exactly the same. (Perhaps we should have holidayed in Italy again!)

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view for the gorgeous sunsets over the bay. With the hotel situated far below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying in Hotel Astarea in Mlini - Dubrovnik and for writing this review. We take all our reviews seriously in order to improve our service and to make your stay confortable one. We hope to see you again in 2012 where you will see that Ice Cream flavours have changed :) and that there is no need for stealing cutlery from vacant tables.

With very best regards from sunny sunny Mlini -Dubrovnik
Mario Matkovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were so lucky to be in the main block of this hotel, our room was spacious, very comfortable and well appointed. Friends in the annexe were not so fortunate, so be warned. Most of those in the annexe seemed to be travelling with Newmarket in October. We found the food quite acceptable, especially if one did not rush in and went to the back of the dining room where it is quieter. Many of the staff surley though, they want tourists and should be more welcoming.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired in the "samey" food department, the coffee was awful for most of our stay.Meals especially breakfast were identical except for hot ham one day, very fatty bacon the next, the same for tinned tomatoes and Croatian "baked beans". The hotel is very clean and most of the staff a accommodating but as is the way in Croatia some really don't get the grasp of customer service. Location fantastic but you need to be really fit to ascend the road up to the main highway to catch a bus, the other two alternatives are the hotel minibus with seating for only 8 and runs infrequently or weather permitting a water taxi from Mlinis charming little harbour.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel NOT the annexe and chose a seaview room but if you don't do stairs the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Address: Setaliste Marka Marojce 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astarea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.