We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elba Sara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elba Sara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elba Sara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Antigua
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“recent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

lovely hotel, food out of this world, entertainment very good, met some lovely people there. only complaint, far too many young babies and children!! must have chosen wrong week!!! The staff went that extra mile, would reccomend this Hotel. The food and wine best I have tasted in any all inclusive hotel I have previously stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear denise321238

Thank you very much for your short but positive report about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and for recommending our establishment to other potential visitors.We are very happy to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope to see you soon among us again.

Therefore please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with your requests as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    615
    230
    78
    26
See reviews for
671
579
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good stay, enjoyed my week at this hotel. Found the staff very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. We stayed all inclusive which I found to be the best I have ever experienced, the local wines were very good and the kids loved the ice creams and additional snacks supplied through out the day. The food was good always freshly cooked meats & fish, salads were to die for always fresh and plenty of it.

Entertainment was ok, kids enjoyed the first hour which was based around them and a different show was put on every night for the adults entertainment.

All in all a good all round family holiday, I will definitely return to Fuertaventura and stay with another of the Elba hotels on this island

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear druidfluid

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and for sharing it with other potential visitors.
We also like to thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff and the quality of our food.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with your requests regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my husband and 18 month old child. We had a lovely time and overall the hotel is fantastic. Great staff, good entertainment, lovely breakfast and good location. Just the following that I feel I have to mention. We were half board and were told at check in that they needed a credit or debit card and everything gets charged to that. You cannot pay for things as you go along which is fine as you can pay at the end, however you like but it annoyed me that I was not aware of this before I come on this holiday. I know that most people do, but some may not take a credit or debit card with them on holiday.
The pool, although lovely is too cold.
The rooms are great although our floor was not cleaned regularly enough for my liking.
Basic drinks are expensive if your half board. A coke from the dispenser pump will cost 2.50 euro which is ridiculous. I would have happily paid that if it were a coca cola bottle but not the machine rubbish.
Overall a great hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear laura137

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your report about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.We are very happy to have fulfilled your expectations and to read that you would come back to stay with us again.
We apologize if at a specific moment you have been served your cool drinks from the dispenser as the standard of the hotel is bottled cool drinks for our half board guests.We will certainly pass your comment to our head waiter and do the necessary to avoid such type of unusual inconveniences in the future.
For your next stay; please don’t hesitate to contact us with your requests as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Elba Sara, and overall we had a good time and this hotel is worth a try if you can get a good deal.
Upon arrival we were checked in very quickly and the staff are very welcoming, I had emailed beforehand to request a higher floor but we were given room on first floor, 224. The receptionist said we could request to change it but as the hotel was full for the next 2 days we decided to stay put. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We had a big bed, 2 singles pushed together, and a sofa bed. I have to say that the brochure states you can have 2 children up to the age of 12 in the sofa bed but I would not recommend this as my 10 year old slept in it and there was not much spare space. even though we were on the first floor we still had lovely view.
The grounds of this hotel are spotless and every morning the pools are cleaned with little hoovers that my children thought were fab. There are plenty of sunbeds but not many parasols and yes you do need to reserve beds if you want a parasol or be near the pool. It does say not to but if you dont everyone else will!
Whilst we were there we saw 2 different lifegaurds one stayed near the pools all day and did seem to be alert however the other one liked to pick up the leaves that had fallen into the pool and on one occasion missed a little girl in trouble who was rescued by her dad!
You can hire pool towels for 10euros deposit and can change them every 3 days and then get your money back at the end of your holiday.
We used to mini golf on a few occasions as there is not much else to do if the kids are sick of the pool, which is very cold.
You can walk into the town center and it takes about 15mins to do this and you do have to cross a sandy piece of wasteland but it is still a pleasant walk.
Now the things that need to be improved,
The food, breakfast is fine, fresh omlettes, pancakes, cereals, pastries, bacon, egg, fruit (although the fruit juice from the machine is undrinkable)
Lunch and dinner are debateable, We opted for plain meat, fish and salad as some of the dishes looked like pigswill. one night my daughter was very ill after eating something that was not cooked properly.
The entertainment is ok if you have kids under 5 or you just want to sit and not have any entertainment. The kids disco starts aprox 8ish and the adults act starts at 9.45 however if you want a seat to see the later act you need to endure the kids disco first as if not you will be left standing without a seat. One nite we did manage a seat and played bingo and i have never witnessed anything like it in my life. The rep was mumbling on so much there were 2 false calls before anyone won anything!
Lastly the fact that your wristband is removed when you check out at 12. You do get a lunch voucher but are not allowed any drinks from the machines after you have had lunch, a bit mad if you are not picked up until 6pm like we were!
Overall we did have a nice relaxing holiday but we did get a good deal and I would not like to think I had paid a lot of money for this hotel. It is not a 4star hotel, more like a 3star plus.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be nice and clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear mellon25

Thank you very much for sharing our opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara with other potential visitors.We are very sorry if we could not meet your request on arrival but we are glad to read that you still appreciated the room that you were offered.

We are also sorry if the entertainment was not up to your expectations but we will certainly have a look at your suggestion to get more seats in the Broadway Bar.

As commented in earlier reviews; indeed the all inclusive finishes as stated in all the contracts with the travel companies at 12o’clock the day of departure just as in many other hotels on the Canary island.

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanet, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed may half term. Myself and my husband, a break away without the kids. The hotel was welcoming, well staffed that were all eager to help. Room was fantastic, clean, cool and a superb view of the pool and sea. Restaurant catered for all tastes and we found something nice to eat every meal time. The pool was occupied by mostly kids, tricky to find a sunbed ( but thats the same in most hotels). outside area was clean and well maintained along with all other communal areas. My only critic was the bar was very warm to the point it was uncomfortable and we opted for the bar upstairs which was a lot cooler.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sally T

Thank you for your short but positive report about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you for mentioning our staff and the cleanliness of our establishment.

For your next visit; please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with your requests as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes the smallest things can make the difference between a good and fairly average hotel and this why the Elba Sara is an average hotel. The hotel itself is wonderful, it's one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. The hotel grounds are very well kept(apart from the mini golf course it's very tatty) the pools are clean. The British are up early to claim sun beds, this is only an issue during the school holidays by all accounts. There are signs up asking people not to do this but it's not policed in anyway.

The kids loved the Mini club and the mini disco in the evening( and everyone loves the 'Chukoo Chukoo song'). I was a bit concerned about the pre shows in the evenings, parrot show, eagle and creature show, I wonder if Elba hotels have a policy to check on the welfare of the animals that are used. The shows were very poor and just a money making opportunity for the owners of the animals to take photos for a charge. Never stayed up the main show (kids were to tired).

The food was ok it does get a bit boring and repetitive but I always find this to be the case on all inclusive holidays, however it was always severed hot and is well prepared. There were no British sausage at breakfast though Grrrrrr!

Our room was very nice great views of the sea and the pool area(room 552). It was very clean any there was plenty of room. But when we left our dirty towels in bath for changing the maids took the dirty ones but never replaced them with clean ones we had to ring reception for clean towels everytime we changed them (weird).

The thing that really changed my review from Good to average was the fact they removed our wristbands when we checked out at midday our pick up was not until 6. They did give us a voucher for lunch but we were stuck for drinks and ice cream for the kids all afternoon. A very small thing I know but these are the little things and gestures that make the difference.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Richard E

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are glad to read that the kids enjoyed the holiday thanks to the mini club and the mini disco.
We understand and appreciate your concern about the animals of the pre shows but we can assure you that the company we work with and who is responsible for those shows has all the licenses necessary to do what they do and is taking very well care of the animals.
Believe us that as soon as we would see the slightest form of animal abuse we would not allow them to come and perform in our hotels.
The fresh towels are usually replaced in the afternoon or the early evening.

Regarding your disappointment for us cutting of your wristband at midday is quite surprising to us as it states in all the contracts with all the travel companies.
As we knew that you still had a long day ahead we already gave you a free voucher for lunch but unfortunately it seems that you did not appreciate our gesture.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel itself is lovely, very nice rooms and good views. We booked this as a special trip and requested a high floor, unfortunately we were given a room on the lower floor, however it was a good size and clean.
FOOD very disappointed, breakfast was always cold and elements broken on the toaster, lunchtimes was burger chips or some kind of weird pizza with cheese that doesn't melt! DINNER fine if you like fish or salads, fortunately I love salads.
Lastly and most importantly we have never been in a hotel with as many babies and children, at dinner one night we looked around us and there was only one other table in the area that didn't have a high chair at it. Love kids as we do however we felt as though we were intruding at a kids hotel.
Overall good hotel, good location, poor food (mainly cold)
Can't stress this enough if you want a quiet peaceful holiday this is not the place to come, however if your taking kids this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear daisie31

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara on this web page with other potential visitors.First of all we want to apologize for not meeting your request and for the food not being up to your expectations.
Indeed we are very popular amongst families during school holidays and we understand that it’s a bit difficult to relax with so many children around but we can assure you that out of the school holidays the Elba Sara is a recommended place for a relaxing holiday as you have readen in many others reviews.

We hope to see you again in the near future; therefore please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with your requests as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elba Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Sara

Address: Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Sara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elba Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Sara Hotel Fuerteventura
Elba Sara Antigua
Elba Sara Fuerteventura
Hotel Elba Sara Fuerteventura/Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elba Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.