We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star!! Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elba Sara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elba Sara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elba Sara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Antigua
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star!! Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Myself, my husband and my two children (aged 5 and 2) have just returned from a fortnight at the Elba Sara and I am sorry to say that this hotel did not live up to expectations! From reading the other reviews on here, I struggle to believe we stayed in the same hotel, but here is our (honest) opinion on this hotel.

First of all I should say we are regular visitors to Fuerteventura and have stayed in many of the 4 star hotels on this island. In our view this hotel is an average 3 star which has huge potential to be so much better, but the hotel's obvious attitude to cost cutting has meant that it falls far short of its 4 star rating. More on this later...

To start with the positives - the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are amazing. The kids club is fantastic, and although it is very much geared up for Germans my eldest had a great time. Bedrooms are a good size, and cleaned to a very high standard.This hotel also has without doubt the best location in the resort, set on the lovely promenade and next to the Atlantico centre.

What really lets this hotel down is its food and drink. The food is bland and repetitive and after two weeks of eating in the main restaurant we were bored. Also the hotel advertises a terrace in the restaurant overlooking the Atlantic. We were looking forward to eating outside, however please be assured that there is NO outside eating area, just a rather strange extension to the overcrowded main area which resembles a greenhouse. There are large doors leading to the pool area which remain closed, creating the temperature and atmosphere of a greenhouse. Why these doors could not be opened is beyond me (we tried it but the staff closed them immediately) - perhaps it was to ensure that the non existent air conditioning "worked" in the main area???

What is worse however is the standard of the drinks - we suspected the wine was watered down, but only obtained proof of this on the last night. The wine is watered down, and what completely amazed us was the sight of bar staff pouring the dregs of Baileys back into the serving bottle on the last night. So watch what you drink here...Don't be fooled by the staff serving wine from bottles - there is a reason they are already pre-opened in the restaurant...

Evening entertainment is very poor and there is very little outside seating. There are about 6 tables and chairs outside the Tucan bar, which closes at 5. Why could this bar not be opened at night, more tables and chairs set up outside (there is an extensive outdoor area but it is not used at all, it is empty!) and perhaps even some live music for the adults? We found the Broadway Bar to be hot, stuffy, and very cramped. Not the sort of atmosphere we are looking for on holiday.

And finally... the air conditioning?? Was there any? There was certainly none in our rooms and as all of the restaurants and bars are indoors (with the exception of 4 or 5 tables on a very small "balcony") this was incredibly uncomfortable!

Sorry Elba Sara - you are at best a 3 star although I doubt many of the 3 star hotels serve the dregs of people's un finished drinks!! There are far better 4 star hotels on this island, many of which are cheaper than here

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear theabear

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and thank you for appreciating the cleanliness and the amazing staff in the hotel.

I agree that with a fully booked hotel, the restaurant could be overcrowded at the peak times (between 19:15 and 20:30) outside these times there is more than space enough in the restaurant.

If you are looking for a good wine with bouquet the all inclusive wine is obviously not the best wine of the house but I can promise you that it is not watered down, mind that we don’t open the bottles, we just pull the cork halfway so you can easily help yourself without the need to call a waiter. Apart from that wine we have a varied wine list on which being all-inclusive you get a discount of 20%.The day I see a bartender of the Elba Sara putting leftovers back in the bottle will be the last day that bartender serves a customer in here.

We hope that you got home save and well and we are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    614
    230
    78
    26
See reviews for
669
577
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

wonderful stay 2 weeks from the 22 sept 2012 reception was one of the most helpful i have ever known food was good with a varied choice each day pool area was good a bit cramped at times but most hotels suffer from this we went to the beach most days instead cleaning i felt was a bit hit and miss some days it just didnt seem as if it was done but then i do like everything neat and tidy so may be it was just me
all in all this is a wonderful hotel and i hope they keep it up we are already looking at next year for another 2 weeks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Tom k

Thank you for your short but positive review about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.We are happy to have fulfilled your expectations and to read that you are already planning to return for another two weeks next year.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any requests; we will do our best to meet them.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our fourth visit in four years. We had joined the Fidelity Programme and were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was very spacious and comfortable. We have always had a very relaxing and peaceful stay at this comfortable hotel. We very much enjoy our walks along the beach and the promenade. One of the best features of the hotel and indeed the general area is that you are allowed to have exactly the type of brak which suits you. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. We would also recommend the SPAR next door for a light lunch. We certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: sixth floor unless you have very small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear GuyWarner_12

Thank you very much for your positive review about your fourth stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and for your loyalty to our hotel.

We are happy to read that you appreciate the upgrade you received thanks to being a Fidelity member and that we have fulfilled your expectations again.Thank you for the kind words about our staff and we are already looking forwards to your fifth visit.

Best regards of all the Elba Sara staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 19th Sept to 3rd October. This is our third visit to this hotel and we loved it. The rooms are large and very clean. The food is varied and has something for everyone (even the fussiest eaters). Tea and coffee is available in rooms if requested. We noted that there were more English channels available on the TV. This is an improvement on our last visit and very much appreciated. The staff are very hard working, friendly and polite. They always have a smile for the guests. A big thank you to William and Lidia on Reception, David Phalempin in the restaurant and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We did have a problem with the air conditioning which poured water over the floor in our bedroom at 1.30am. My husband contacted Reception and Security came immediately. The following day maintenance arrived at 10am and repaired the problem. We could not fault the service we received. It is a fact of life that problems happen but it is how they are resolved that counts. We were very happy with the outcome. Caleta de Fuste is ideal for biking. We hired push bikes from Caleta Cycles, close to the hotel. This shop comes highly recommended. Also, if you like watching Football visit Ocean View in the retail complex. The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - wake to hear the gentle ripple of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear MidgetGem20

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and for your loyalty to our establishment. We appreciate your kind words towards our staff and that you’ve noticed that we continuously try to improve.

I will personally send your regards to William, Lidia and David Phalempin , our GSM.
I agree with you when you say that it is a fact of life that problems happen but it is how they resolved that counts and we will always do our utmost to resolve the problem as quick and as efficient as possible.

I also agree with you that Caleta de Fuste is ideal for biking and to do some exercise on holiday while breathing the fresh air of the Atlantic Ocean.

We are very happy to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope to see you soon again for your fourth visit to Fuerteventura.

Big hugs from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a lovely 10 night stay half board at the Elba Sara 22 sep - 03 oct. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the pleasant and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and are cleaned daily. There was always a good choice of food in the restaurant at meal times and Bruno made great omlettes. The hotel is managed to a very high standard with all the general areas kept clean and tidy.
I do have a couple of minor gripes firstly the price of the safe at €4 a night was a bit expensive. The air conditioning was centrally controlled and if it was left on at night would blow warm air in the early hours. Otherwise I could not have asked for more. I would like to say thank you to the management and staff of this great hotel.
Stephen & Jacqueline Gill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Stephen4038

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope to see you again in the nearby future.

We appreciate your kind words towards the management and the staff of the Hotel and I’ll personally send your regards to Bruno.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our party of 4 adults & 3 small children r still here & was recommended this hotel by 2 members of our family and 2 close friends who have all been here in the last 5 years. Hotel is beautiful & very clean except for the pool toilets which are disgusting by 11am and seem to stay that way! large rooms, well equipped except no milk for the tea & coffee facilities?? & air con is non existent, we have eventually got a fan for our babies, it was 28.5 degrees in our room, ridiculous for a rm with air con! Food is plentiful and quite varied however its not as good as we expected, we have had better at other 4 star hotels. Grilled chicken & pork is quite often not cooked through, so be careful. Staff r lovely & always make a fuss of our children, reception have been very helpful especially Coletta Who brought us in her own fan from home as the few the hotel have kept breaking. B/fast needs more toasters preferably that work,it takes a lifetime to toast anything. entertainment is very poor, kids disco lasts only for 25 minutes then the rest of the night is usually pretty poor, hopefully the Michael Jackson tribute tomorrow will be much better!! The main complaints I do have apart for the air conditioning not just in the bedrooms but all over the hotel being rubbish, is the menu in the snack bar, the AI people have a very limited menu whilst if you are half board and pay you get a much bigger menu with loads of different food that you can't get in the restaurant, my husband was really miffed when he couldn't even get a chicken sandwich for lunch & was offered only a chicken burger, that really poor, all inclusive should mean all inclusive and apart for drinks and spa etc everything else especially food should be available as should tea & coffee at lunch and dinner!, machines are there but not switched on you have to go to the snack bar at lunch time or the bar in the evening to get a coffee WHY!,, just turn the dam machines on. The other thing is the price of the safe, they charge 4 euro per night which equates to £50 over 2 weeks which is day light robbery, but as some one did try to get into both our rooms at night and also tried the patio doors (we were on the ground floor as requested due to kids and prams) we paid the price between us. We have also asked for a late check out being a fidelity card hotel and having 2 babies and a small child between us and we now don't fly until 10pm as Thomas Cook changed our flight times from 3pm to 10pm,,, not happy campers at all, will not go with TC ever again So we will see if that can be arranged, it will be a flipping nightmare if not as both babies need at least 2 sleeps before we leave and I will probably say this will depend on us coming back next year.. The Whitby's & Wilde's

Room Tip: The lifts are very small so if you are in a wheelchair or have prams I would request a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mark W

Thank you very much for your commentaries about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and thank you for the kind words about our staff.

We had a problem with the pool toilets during your stay but that’s fixed already and we apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you..If you need milk for the tea and coffee facilities than you are free to ask in the restaurant or the bar, our employees will be happy to give it to you so you can use for free the kettels delivered by the hotel.
We are very sorry for if the quality of the food was not to your liking but that’s a section of the hotel that is in continuous improvement and even though we do our best, it’s always hard to please everybody.

We also apologize for if we can‘t give a late check out due to being totally fully booked this month and we have to get the rooms cleaned and prepared before 15h. for the next arrivals.

We hope to see you again in the nearby future

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the elba sara from 29th sept - 6th october and couldnt fault it! Staff are very friendly and always gave a smile.
It was a mix of nationalities too.
Great food, always something to suit everyone's taste (even fussy kids wont starve!) mine loved the freshly made pancakes at breakfast.
The white wine was rather dry but I enjoyed a glass of the Rose, we liked the fact that the soft drinks and beer were self service at poolside and in the dining room and bottled water was available too.
The rooms were spacious with a huge comfy bed, they were cleaned every day and came with a fridge. We were a group of 3 adults and 2 children and had booked 2 rooms, we requested rooms near to each other and were given adjoining rooms which was good. The air con in our room didnt work very good though and at times it would have been nice to have the room a little cooler.
The kids club was good and catered for all nationalities, it ran from 10.30 - 1pm then 3-5pm, they did some good activities too like taking them to the beach and playing mini golf.
You need to walk round the hotel grounds to see the Cat cafe and feed the fish.
The evening entertainment was ok, the kids disco was on at 8.30 then they often had an animal show on for them too at this time of the night it was always busy and few tables to be had (although plenty of seats available around the side of the room) often the bar had a long queue as only 1 or 2 members of staff on trying to serve and clear the glasses.
We never had any problems getting a sunbed, there always seemed to be some empty ones no matter what time you went down. The pools were nice although I'm sure we'd read there was a heated pool but this wasn't the case but it was nice to go in and cool off.
The hotel is next to the Atlantico shopping centre but its not that big, even in the centre theres not many shops compared to other resorts, this wasnt a problem for me as i was happy to lie and sunbathe!
We would definatly return to this hotel in the future.
We booked transfers but wouldnt do it next time, the hotel is only about 10-15mins away from airport but the bus took almost an hour to get us dropped off then almost 1 1/2hrs to take us back to airport, the hotel was the last drop off point from airport and then first pick up on way back.

Room Tip: Dont book transfers, use a taxi!! Visit the bar that sits out in the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ambrose-family

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your commentaries about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are happy to read that we have fulfilled your expectations and that you would definitely return to our establishment.

We are already looking forwards for your next relaxing holiday with us.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elba Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Sara

Address: Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Sara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Elba Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Sara Hotel Fuerteventura
Elba Sara Antigua
Elba Sara Fuerteventura
Hotel Elba Sara Fuerteventura/Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elba Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.