We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Valentines Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabanas Balamjuyuc to your Saves list
Cabanas Balamjuyuc
Camino a la punta cometa | Esquina Callejon de Todos Los Santos, Mazunte 70946, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Valentines Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're after a week filled with simple living, yoga, beautiful beaches, delicious food and incredible people we recommend a trip to Mazunte! Emiliano showed us the ropes... the village, the whales, the best place to watch the sunsets, the natural jacuzzis and the turtle sanctuary. We took a boat to watch the dolphins, across the lagoon to croc watch and enjoyed Balamjuyuc's breakfasts of hot cakes, fruit and yoghurt. Our cabana had spectacular views of the sunrise and we experienced our first steam tent the evening we arrived. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
17
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Cabanas Balamjuyuc for a week and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a cabana with the most wonderful view - the rooms are basic - queen beds with mozzie nets and table and fan. As we had a balcony we also had some outside mattresses which were great! We had breakfast included which we really enjoyed (lots of fruit and hot cakes were great!). The bathrooms are shared, there were two toilets and two shower rooms which were basic.

Emiliano made us very welcome and spent time telling us about the culture and taking us to some hidden gems in Mazunte!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Las Cabanas Balamjuyuc is situated at the best spot in Mazunte.
The view is so wonderful and its pure bliss to sit in a hamac in front of this dreamy landscape. Just have to go down the stairs and you are at the beach...
Emiliano and his team are very warm people and Emiliano is a very interesting person to speak with, he has a great philosophy, a big heart and a lot of stories to tell you.
He is a great massage therapist and he organizes temascal rituals. It's an absolute must!
The Temascal was such an intense and constructive experience for me, physically and spiritually.
I will never forget this paradise!
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was my first time in Mazunte and traveling alone too.
I have been welcomed at Mazunte as in my own family.
This is a place where you will find simplicity, authenticity, culture and one of the best views of Mazunte. It is nice to be outside of the loud village, during the high season bars are blasting,
Balañjuyuc is next to the Sacred Punta Cometa and is 5 minutes walk from 2 beaches.
I rented a little house with a kitchen and later a cabana (I extended my stay as I was having such a nice time). The dogs are loving and friendly.
The lady working there and her son are amazing people, they showed me the local plants that have healing properties,
Emiliano te ownerm, organises Temaxcal (traditionnal sweatlodge) once a week more or less.
This place is cute and rustic at the same time.
If you are a the type to travel with your hand sanitizer, expect to have AC and no bugs, I would recommend something else....
But if you like a family vibe, with very interesting people, who have knowledge about the traditions, go for it, they will open their heart to you!
This place is always busy, and you get to meet people from all over the country.
Private stairway to the beach!
Heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Las Cabaña Balamjuyuc are suitated on top of a hill with a stunning view over the beach of Mazunte and the sea! You can watch an amzing sunrise in the morning with the sun rising over the ocean, during the day just enjoy the silence and peacfulness of this place! Visitors to the cabañas are very likely to change their travel plans and stay here for much longer than they intended to when they arrived, the atmosphere here just soaks you in and you dont want to leave any more. There is a restaurant where they serve breakfast and in the eveing the owner sometimes cooks a delicious dinner! I would definitely recommened this place even though it is a bit of a walk up the hill, but so worth it!! Let Emiliano know, when you arrive and if he has time, he will pick up, so you dont have to carry the heavy backpacks up the hill!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This place is beautiful, with a view of the sea, a great place to lounge around in hammocks, and beautiful folliage and pathways. There is even access to WiFi. But even more than all this, the owner is warm, welcoming, intelligent, and funny! We had no reservations, and there was no room available when we arrived, but the owner went out of his way to put us in tents that he set up, one per person, for the first night until a room was available. I went with my adult son and some fellow travelers, and we were all very happy with the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

amazing view
beautiful people
incredible beaches
fish, sun, sea, mezcal

is all you need to be happy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Balamjuyuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Address: Camino a la punta cometa | Esquina Callejon de Todos Los Santos, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamjuyuc is a hostel with the more amazing ocean view in all Oaxaca coast, surrounded by a tropical garden were the birds chant and if you awake early you can see the sunrise on the ocean making it an almost mystical experience breakfast and dinner is made whit love and patience to the spa service with massages and Temaxcal (traditional sauna from the Mexican ancient) there is a different places in Mazunte were combine the eco turism and the comfortables days with a good budget Balamjuyuc is your home in the paradise and you are more to a guest you are the our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cabanas Balamjuyuc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Balamjuyuc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.