We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service levels let this Hotel down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Katarino locality, Razlog, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Razlog
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service levels let this Hotel down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

Although advertised the bowling was closed. Yet again the device levels let this Hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed for the first time in october in a standard room and we were impressed by the whole complex/holiday village. There is a lot of mountain hotels in Bulgaria pretending they are 4 stars, but this one really deserves its stars. Especially the SPA center which is fantastic. And the swimming pool with mineral water. The rooms are comfortable and large enough. The panoramic view from the balcony is amazing and you see the beatuful Pirin mountain. Besides that, we believe that for skying in winter it will be a problem because the hotel is situated too far from the tracks even there is a bus shuttle. The outdoor pool, unlike the indoor, is too small, mostly for kids. The restaurant and the foood are excellent. One may say and we will approve that the drinks which are not included in the HB are exteremely expensive. This is true. One more remark - internet is available only in the lobby or in the internet room. Free of charge. And last - the hotel is getting older and needs to be modernized and refurbished soon.

Room Tip: get a room with view to Pirin mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

A very relaxing place to escape from your daily routine. The rooms are so so, but the spa and the complex in general are very nice.
Unfortunately, the staff working there don't really seem to be happy to be there, and they will show it you! Wow, after 3 days, i left there angry against the waitress in the lobby bar (who didn't smile a iota, or say hello or goodbye), the young lady at the reception that seemed disturbed when I arrived while she was surfing on Facebook, or the unpleasant woman taking the appoinments for the massages who looked at me as if I was ridiculous asking if there were availabilities for massages when obviously, and I apparently should have known it, everything was full. How stupid I am!

Very unfortunate, this place could be awesome, but...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

we have stayed at this resort many times, but not in the actual hotel, in one of the lodges outside.The spa is lovely but does get busy late afternoon as the last shuttle from bansko is at 5pm. There is an ice rink in town, undergoing refurb, but great fun, we took our own ice skates and my two children could skate for 2 hours for 10 lev which is about £5. The Bansko people are warm and friendly and the food is great. I recommend walking down the hill (Pirin Street) to the town square and finding a Mexana down one of the side streets not being touted by a man outside !!! for lovely fresh food and typical bulgarian atmosphere at a better price.
The hotel itself now non smoking is nice and relaxing but watch out for thu grumpy bar waitress that likes to walk off with all of you're change, yet understands no english !!!!! The language barrier is the only problem .... the staff come across as rude an unfriendly , however Slavi the porter is the total opposite. He's friendly and very helpful and his english is very good.
The treatments are value for money, Nadia on the spa reception understands english and a massage is definately worth having.
The negative point is that the indoor and outdoor pools are in need of a good clean !! and the floor around the indoor pool is VERY wet and slippy so take you're own flip flops, as the ones provided don't help !!
can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here in January 2011 and we were expecting good things. We had paid a fair amount for the prilege but unfortunately ended up dissapointed.

Hotel - The Hotel itself looks very nice, set in a lovely area overlooking the mountains. The place is very clean and there are many facilities to benefit from.

Room - Our room had a balcony overlooking the mountains which was very nice, it was spacious and had enough room to store all our belongings, although could do with a few extra draws. Cons. We assumed our room was cleaned daily yet our beds were not touched for the first three days. The bathroom could have done with a better scrub and our towels were not always changed.

Lobby Bar - We found the bar to be the best part of the hotel, the bar staff, especially one young guy was very friendly and helpful, unlike most of the staff at Katarino! The food was nice, espcially the deserts on offer, and affordable.

Restaurant - We felt the food on offer in the restaurant was very drab and boring. It would be the same every day, very limited choice of meat on offer and a lot of cucumber! Get used to eating cold bacon and scrambled egg also! On our arrival we were given free drinks vouchers to use in the restaurant, this was great. But, the waiters appeared oblivious to these vouchers and it would often end in a long debate with the manager trying to get my two free drinks!

Spa - The spa facillities were a nice way to end the day yet avoid times between 4-7 as these were peak hours.

Shuttle Bus - The buses run every 30 minutes, not 15, like advertised! The bus drivers were extremely rude and seemed to favour the non english speaking guest! Expect to be packed in like sardines in the minibus! Avoid getting the last bus back to the hotel as there is only one minibus to cater 25+ people!

Staff - We found the majority of the staff to be rude, ignorant and unhelpful. You would ask for something and in return get a snarling look of disgust and a snappy response, something i do not expect when I pay a lot of money to stay in their hotel.

Overall, i would not return to Katarino, yes the place is nice, set in an idelic location but the rudeness of the staff truely is a let it down. I would choose a hotel a lot closer to the gondala's avoiding the need for a 15 minute bus journey everyday. And, giving me the oppourtunity to explore Bankso a lot more!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Hotel Katarino is located in an amazing spot sporting a breathtaking view toward the alpine Pirin Mountain (whenever the weather is clear). It is just 4-5 km from the Bansko town/ski resort with its amazing taverns serving the best food in Bulgaria, as well as 2-3 km from the best golf course in the country to date - Pirin Golf, which is still open to non-members.

The hotel is very steep on its pricing (by local standards), which is not justified by the room quality you get. The rooms are very basic (not even a hint of luxury), and already looking tired (e.g. carpet in my room had been flooded from the window and not replaced). Also the walls are rather thin so if you have loud neighbours you are bound to be awakened in the middle of the night (as I was on both nights I stayed there).

That being said, the inflated price is redeemed by the amazing SPA center that they have managed to create and still maintain to a high standard. Two steam rooms, two saunas (high and low temperature), ice room, heated stone beds and seating, as well as a lounge area where you can relax in you bath robe in the light of an open fire place, make up the 'hot' part of the SPA. In addition there are two fantastic swimming pools, a decent sized one inside with 33 C water temperature, which is excellent for adults and older children and also, the gem in the crown, an outside 35 C heated swimming pool in which you can soak while admiring the dramatic alpine scenery. The SPA works until 9 pm.

There is also a very decent restaurant, with an excellent chef, as well as a variety of bars, a bowling alley, snooker tables and a kid's corner, tennis courts, four wheel motors to rent, mini-zoo etc.

The staff are very polite and attentive to every need of customers. There is no turn down service, but given the standard of accommodation I would not have expected there to be.

All in all this hotel is worth the money only if you are a SPA person, enjoying the spoils of water and heat. If you are there only for skiing, then overall it is not worth the buck as the accommodation itself does not live to the price and you can find cheaper and better accommodation nearer to the ski facilities. Also the hotel is a bit secluded (i.e. in a forested area that is not a walking distance to the nearest towns) so if you don't have a car, you may be reliant ot taxi service or the shuttle operated by the hotel itself.

All in all this hotel is a curious mix of a 5 star SPA, restaurants, location, service and facilities and 3 star accommodation. Would I go there again - definitely, but mostly because I really like the scenery and the outdoor heated swimming pool. :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I have stayed at Katarino at least 8 times over the past 3 - 4 years. In fact after visiting for the first time we enjoyed the experience so much a few of us got together and bought an apartment here. Overall I believe that this is an excellent hotel with good staff and decent food. Sometimes I do meet people that are unhappy with the service, however on most occasions they seem to moan about everything - not just the hotel - either the snow is not cold enough or it's too warm in the summer etc, I have met the odd member of staff that isn't the happiest person in the World, but 99% of the time I get better service here than I do in the U.K where I am usually paying 3x the price.

The hotel is set in a tranquil spot about 15 mins drive from Bansko. (2.5hrs from Sofia) If you are a guest at the hotel /apartments you have access to the recently completed golf course (10 mins by car) which I think you will have to go a long way to see a better development. 36 holes with fantastic clubhouse.

For people with young families (mine are currently 7+9) there are 2 swimming pools. (1 indoor, 1 outdoor) In summer the indoor pool area has huge folding doors that open up onto the patio, (one negative is that the hotel does not have any air conditioning) in winter both pools are heated to around 38 deg :-) The spa is relaxing and the heated seats in the relaxation room are the perfect way to end the day after ski-ing.

There are two tennis courts (pay for hire of the rackets) 4 x 3/4 length bowling alleys, pool tables, you can hire mountain bikes and there are organised day excursions on quads, obviously at a cost

The restaurants offers a buffet style breakfast and dinner and there has always been plenty of choice for us and the kids, in summer there is often an outdoor restaurant situated round the back of the hotel in the woods (you have to pay for this, likewise in the downstairs restaurant)

If you prefer to dine out Bansko has changed for the better over the past 4 years. When we started visiting there was a very limited choice in the food that you could find. Many of the Mehanas cook very good meat based dishes on an open fire in front of you and whilst there in February a decent meal for 4 people including wines, beers etc never cost more than £15.00 a head. The Italian Restaurant (Victoria) opposite the Kempinski is a superb restaurant and there are numerous decent tradition Mehanas (banski han on the way into Bansko is superb) that serve excellent food. If you eat on the main square in Bansko be careful of the prices though, they are working on tourist prices, if you use the restaurants/bars off the main square things are more within the realms of what is expected. Also check the price of the wine - it is not expensive compared to U.K restaurant prices, however once you have been lulled into the world of inexpensive food and beer (drink the local brews) when the wine costs similar prices to that in the U.K it can come as a shock.

As far as ski-ing is concerned, (good boot room at Katarino) the mountain is not massive (approx 65KM, hopefully to be expanded slightly this year) and in the main kids holidays is too busy. However, if you are able to time your break away from these hot spots there is plenty of skiing, the hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the hotel and I have never been let down. For the last few years the snow seems to have been better towards the end of the season and we have had some great days, skiing in the morning/early afternoon and then come back to the hotel to sit by the pool with a beer - fantastic!

I have taken many people to Katarino, both in the winter and summer season and all to the person have thoroughly enjoyed the experience, The town is friendly, I have yet to witness any drunken hoards roaming the streets, the festivals that they hold in Bansko's main square such as the Jazz festival in August all seem well natured and we have been more than happy to take the kids knowing that they are safe.

I think that if you are looking for a location where you can relax, somewhere that is still behind the pace of life in most countries, away from the crowds with or without kids the Katarino hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA

Address: Katarino locality, Razlog, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Razlog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Razlog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katarino Hotel Bansko
Katarino Spa Bansko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Complex Katarino Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.