We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Gluten Free Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwards

Edwards
59a Throroughfare, Halesworth IP19 8AR, England
01986 873763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Halesworth
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Edwards is a small family run restaurant/cafe right in the middle of Halesworth serving traditional homemade lunches cakes and pastries all food is made fresh on the premises.We offer free wifi. And we also have a alcohol licences.We do Not open evenings.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gluten Free Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had heard about Edwards from this site and were keen to see if it lived up to its reputation on a recent holiday in the area. My husband is gluten free and really misses a proper full English breakfast whenever we stay anywhere. There were 5 of us on our visit, 2 adults and three children, we all opted for a breakfast and the friendly waitress was more than happy to swap some of the items around for a slightly picky children. The food was well cooked and delicious, my husbands breakfast came with gluten free sausages and toast something he can rarely have when we're out! The waitress was extremely friendly and attentive without being to over the top and we did have a conversation with the very friendly owner who was keen to ensure we were OK and had everything we needed. The price was very reasonable and it was a really excellent place to eat, just a shame we live so far away!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, good roasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Regularly have breakfast and lunch here certainly the best cooked breakfast in halesworth can be found here and also the best value . The sunday roasts are good too but you need to book. Good selection of gluten free food and most ingredients are locally sourced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had Sunday Roast on Sunday 24th August, my was it good. Nice big plateful, excellent flavour and cooked to perfection. Get your selves there and try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wheat-Free Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having read the reviews of Edwards, I was surprised that there aren't more mentions of it's gluten-free menu. I cannot eat wheat and eating out is often a challenge but not here. I often travel from Lowestoft to Edwards just to have the wonderful gluten-free vegetable lasagne, something I've never seen before on any restaurant menu. I was also surprised to be offered a choice of brown or white bread when ordering a toastie - it's usually white or nothing. They also do gluten-free yorkshire puds with their Sunday roast as well as a selection of desserts and cake.
I would advise anyone to book in advance if going on a summer lunchtime though as it gets very busy. If you want a very nice meal in a friendly eatery and are not in a hurry or bothered about having posh decor or a scenic view, this is the place to eat in Halesworth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Edwards do it perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had a coffee and a cake whilst off to see a client in Halesworth. All the cakes looked lovelly and the coffee was perfect. The service was quick and efficient and I had a chat with the owners, what nice people.

Next week I was back, more coffee and cake, this time sitting outside "cafe" style watching the world go by.

So each time I am in Halesworth I go for a coffee at Edwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwards also viewed

 
Halesworth, Suffolk
 

Been to Edwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.