We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Village pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Head Inn

Save Saved
You added The King's Head Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head Inn
2 Abbey Road, Syresham NN13 5HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Syresham B&B and Inns
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed using groupon voucher and was amazing value. Had read all the mixed reviews and wasn't sure what to expect. But was a lovely village pub, food was gorgeous, service was great, felt very Christmassy with real fire and the room was cosy and warm. Room could have done with a feather dusting and some loving DIY. But for what we paid - we thought it was great. Didn't have the breakfast just cos we wanted a lazy morning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
3
52
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I turned up 10min befor our check in to be told the room wouldnt be ready for another 3 hours because it was not the landladies job to ensure the previous guests were out of there room on time.

But to be fair to the staff my mind was made up by the sheer presentation of the place. It looked awful. The outside was dank and un loved the bar was cold and dark and the staff were very stand offish and generally unhelpful and impolite.

For the record this offer on Groupon was cheap but I do expect a certain level of cleanliness before I will stay at place.

Do not even risk booking a room you will be disappointed.

What a waste of fuel to get there. There website is really misleading too. Believe nothing you see on the site.

Oh and if u think I am just someone who has high standard and is generally a bit of a snob I am not this place is officially the worst place I almost stayed at in the world and I have stayed in so right holes in my time.

You have been warned

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon Voucher - arrived and ordered drinks, then told the landlady we had booked a room - key thrust into hand as she told us we were in the barn outside.

Room was lovely and warm, once we had managed to find it and open the door, this was hard in itself to open. The bed, though small was comfy, the bathroom was grubby looking and had cobwebs.

We dined in the restaurant and found this to be a cold tired looking room - young waitress was friendly though you could hear everything being said in the kitchen, especially the MICROWAVE - steak fantastic, waiting nearly 5 minutes for the peppercorn sauce was not ideal -

Had the chocolate soufflé for dessert with ice-cream (my daughter being a chef, I was looking forward to this)

Disappointed to say the least - a ball of ice-cream sitting on the top (hiding the fact you could see the imprint from a pot) this was more like a chocolate sponge - very nice but certainly not a light, airy soufflé !!

Went into the bar to pay rest of our bill and the landlady looked as though she couldn't be bothered, paid by card then wanted to buy a drink for the room but she walked off to serve somebody else - not the friendliest person !

Went to our room and could hear the people upstairs who were possibly "honeymooners" !!

Woken up by a large crash of glass being thrown into the bin outside our room (4) by the staff -
curtains very thin too.

All in all not the best experience and would not return

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went on a groupon voucher, very cheap accomadation plus 2 steak meals. Lovely welcome from the Young Polish lady (sorry forgot your name) behind the bar, who is such an asset to the pub had a laugh and joke and excellent service from her all night. Room 2 in the barn conversion was fine very clean lovely and warm, plenty of tea and coffee, and good size flat screen tv, yes the shower cubicle was a bit mouldy round the edges but there was plenty of hot water and room. Fab roaring fire in the pub, which we sat near to have our perfectly cooked steaks, Portugal were playing Sweden on the tv and they won which seemed to cheer up the chef up a bit ( I know what the others meant :(( ) All in all everything was fine for the sort of money we paid. Would we stay again? For that sort of money yes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at King's Head for 2 nights. The Portuguese manager/owner was very unfriendly and the room was dirty with hair on the bed and bathroom. Our room was up a metal stairway with treads covered by pieces of ill-fitted carpet fixed to the metal with some tape! It was rather slippery and dangerous when you carry luggage! Breakfast was in the public bar area, which had not been previously cleaned. The food was little and the only person serving disappeared every time you wanted to ask for some cereals or milk. We decided to dine there as we arrived at about 8 pm but the food was horrible and the portions were quite small. There were lots of flies in the dirty bar area. Some of the crockery was chipped and so were the mugs in the bedroom. The car-park located in the rear held only 3 cars, the walls in the room were so thin and badly insulated that you could hear every little noise.... and I do not think I would ever return there!

The only good point was the location as it is close to Silverstone.

Daniela, Milan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Kings Head in Syresham over 2 seperate nights, I stayed in room 4 and room 9, both rooms were clean and smelled fresh and were quite large in size. Both rooms had en-suite both well appointed. I didn't have breakfast because I had to be at work for 7 am so cant comment. For £35, this place is a bargain. My only complaint is the curtains are very thin so as the sun is coming up around 4 am you wake up early.

Room Tip: room 9 is a large room so ask for that one, but is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited this village pub with rooms for the second time, purely because it is so close to Silverstone. We were in room 2 in the converted barn and it looked tired and in need of attention. The curtains were torn and in need of repair and the lightshade was stuck on squint! While the room and small bathroom was 'adequate' it could have done with a major upgrade and a damned good clean! There doesn't seem to be any soundproofing between the rooms and we could hear almost everything in the rooms on either side! The cooked breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about. Considering we paid over £200 a night because it was Grand Prix weekend we didn't feel we got value for money. It is in a lovely village and has such potential but unless it has a major upgrade we probably wouldn't go back and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the barn conversion as there is little or no soundproofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Address: 2 Abbey Road, Syresham NN13 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Syresham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Syresham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Syresham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.