We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, Romantic and sublime meal and very attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Main Street | near Market Bosworth, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous setting, Romantic and sublime meal and very attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Beautiful liitle family run hotel and gasro-restaurant. my wife and I were passing through the midlands on a trip documenting Britain's Best Rustic Retreats For Country Life. I have to commend the staff on our welcome and orientation.

Our room was clean and married well a traditional style soft furnishings with all the contemporary accesories one would come to expect from a high calibre country retreat.

Our meal in the adnexal resturant was sublime. The manageress greets each customer with familiarity and ensured we were well looked after as hotel guests. T he only regret was not having enough room for the Homemade Tiramassu after my sublimely cooked Nile Cod...my wife ensures me we're going back for more on our way back down south!

All locally sourced vegetables and fruits, A great chef, great bar and a great experience in serene countryside, close enough to city but far enough to breath in such fresh air!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    67
    40
    22
    20
See reviews for
22
155
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Dont bother. If you want value for money, you wont get it here.Cheap cuts of meat at ridiculouse prices. We had to go and find a chippy as we were all so hungry. Told the staff that we would never go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I can't comment on the accommodation but if you're looking for somewhere to stay with great food you won't find it at the Royal Arms.
My husband and I went for a meal which we can honestly say was the worst we have ever experienced at the most extortionate price.
Absolutely horrendous, avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

A pub with accommodation near Hinckley, but well out in the sticks. Nice and peaceful. Stayed for business reasons and whilst the room was spartan, in a single storey block to the rear of the pub, it was clean and presentable.

The pub offererd a cosy atmosphere, with good beer (real ale) and food which was extremely high quality for the price.

As a stopover for business, it provided a relaxing nights stay, at a reasonable B&B price. Would hold it well above your Holiday Inn Express' and Travel Inns (of which I have stayed in a lot!!)

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — Cool rooms due to being detached from main building (not a major gripe!)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

My wife and i stayed there on one of the hotel special deals,which was 1night in a deluxe 4poster room and 2course a la carte meal for 99 pounds,and it was wonderful.We have eaten in the restaurant before but never stayed overnight.Check in was nice and easy and we had a drink in the bar before going to our room.The room was very clean and warm and the 4poster bed was very nice.We had tea making facilities,complimentary bottled water and chocolates.The bathroom was full of towels and toileteries and spotless.Our meal,as before,was unbeatable and the staff go out of their way to make you welcome.We WILL be staying here again,even if there is no offer on as its so nice.Our breakfast next morning was equally as good,although you do have to eat it almost rubbing elbows with the table next to you.We would highly recommend this pub/hotel whatever you decide to go there for.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Being too close to the next table at breakfast time,the restaurant in the evening is fine.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

When we booked in, the registration desk was in the restaurant without much room to move. A waitress said 'Yes?' with not a hint of a smile. We asked to register and she called to a colleague 'Can you see to this person?' Her colleague did not come. After leaving us for a while the first waitress eventually gave us her attention. She showed us to our room still without a word or smile of welcome.

The room was a four poster suite. Clean, roomy and attractive with a pleasant view into the distance over a cornfield. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. There was no bedside table or light on my wife's side of the bed.

Our breakfast was full English. I am vegetarian and the menu offered 'vegetarian sausage', admittedly on a sticker that was half torn out. However, there weren't any, but there was everything else - hot, plentiful and tasty. The service was prompt and courteous.

Checkout elicited a pleasant smile and 'have a nice day!'

Overall, ignoring the initial welcome, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Spacious room and good bed
  • Disliked — The reception
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Main Street | near Market Bosworth, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Sutton Cheney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Cheney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Arms Restaurant and Hotel, A place which surpasses any traditional definition. We are nestled on the Leicestershire - Warwickshire border, situated in beautiful rural setting very close to where the historical Battle of Bosworth took place and within a convenient distance to Twycross Zoo, The Ashby Canal, Bosworth Park and for race fans - Mallory Park race track. We are a renowned 4 star rated restaurant and inn with 18 rustically decorated en-suite bedrooms in our stand-alone barn style accommodation adjacent to the main building. The backdrop of idyllic rolling countryside makes The Royal Arms perfect for a romantic getaway, business stop over, your wedding reception, many a celebration and team building days and a whole host of events. We have excellent private dining and conference facilities, and a purpose built barn with adjacent marquees for weddings and banqueting. Be it a visit for business or pleasure you will be offered a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Arms Restaurant Hotel Sutton Cheney
The Royal Arms Restaurant And Hotel
Royal Arms Sutton Cheney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.