We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hercules Revived

Hercules Revived
Main Street, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England
01455 699336
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Went for an early evening midweek dinner, and feel obliged to write a review recommending this pub/restaurant. The decor is warm and inviting, and retains rural charm. I think it's fantastic when pubs/restaurants support their local suppliers, and so it was great to see local ales and a menu full of locally sourced produce on offer. The quality and standard of the food is very high indeed. In summary, this is a seriously good place to eat and drink, if you have a chance to go - go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    83
    31
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke Golding, Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited this restaurant for a Saturday evening family meal and was very pleased with a relaxed and warm environment and good quality food. The staff are attentive and welcoming without being too gushing and create a pleasant atmosphere.

We had starters and mains and thee was a decent break between each course. We all had different meals and each one was very high quality, well presented and very tasty. The meals are not cheap but you get what you pay for and the food is good quality so expect to pay at least £20 per head. We all has 2 courses plus one of us had a dessert, a bottle if wine, G&T, a coupe of beers and a few soft drinks and our total bill came to £135.

I would definitely return and would recommend it to anyone who lies decent quality food in a warm country pub environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This restaurant was closed down, totally revamped and reopened again just before christmas, the results are very pleasing, a modern and nicely decorated restaurant that now has a good atmosphere. Downstairs is a nice bar area which was very busy when we arrived on a saturday night, you can also eat downstairs but the main restaurant area is upstairs, four different interjoining rooms, each room containing about four tables. I like this design because you feel you have your own space but also get the atmosphere from the rest of the restaurant which was vibrant on the night that we visited. Service was good, all of the staff are very friendly and efficient, there were some nice local ales on tap and a good wine list which was reasonably priced. Food was decent, good value for the price and a good balance between old fashioned pub food like pies, fish and chips and sausage and mash, then if you wanted it, some more fancy stuff from the a la carte section of the menu. I agree with the last reviewer 'chrissym3' who has left a four star rating and some fair and realistic comments such as 'good value' and 'deserves to succeed' rather than some of the earlier exaggerated reviews. I think the danger of somewhere decent opening up in an area where there aren't many good places to eat is that the locals decide to go totally over the top. This is a nice restaurant with decent food and I wish the owners success but comments from reviewers such as "amazing", "excellent", "fabulous" would lead someone who hasn't visited The hercules to believe that maybe it would be better than it actually is. It never ceases to amaze me that you could look on trip advisor at reviews on a local weatherspoons pub and somebody would have lavished the same five star reviews, praise and amazing headlines as you would find if you looked up a three michelin star restaurant like The fat duck in Bray, I suppose everybody has a different view of what 'excellent' is. I just wish people would be more balanced and realistic with their reviews.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Deserves to succeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The new owners of the Hercules deserve huge success. The welcome was friendly, the service was outstanding even on a fully booked night. The food represents good value for money with large main course sizes; the starters were excellent, the mains less so but more down to our choices probably. Wine list good and reasonably priced. Looking forward to next visit - might do starter then another starter as main course.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Hercules used to be a good real ale pub with a decent restaurant. It has been reborn as a much better restaurant. I hate to use the term "gastro pub" because it is a pub only in that it was once a pub. The ethos is "slower food" using local ingredients and the care taken shows in the dishes. Nice to see them acknowledge their local suppliers on their menu.

We had a Thursday night supper for 2 in the map room. All a bit last minute and we were lucky to get in as it was full which is a good sign.

Chicken liver pate to start with a black bream dish and a sausage and mash dish all of wish were good. Wine list is pretty decent along with a sensible selection of wines by the glass in different sizes. Three good local ales on hand pumps. My only criticism was the red cabbage which was tasty but had hard spices still in there making the texture detract from the main course. That said, we'll be going back again and again.

We paid £54 for the starter, 2 mains, 2 large glasses of wine and 2 pints of beer so not going to break the bank.

Welcome back? Absolutely but new and improved....worth a visit but remember this is food to enjoy...and not to rush so relax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hercules Revived also viewed

Dadlington, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 
Twycross, Leicestershire
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Hercules Revived? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hercules Revived, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.