We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Guest -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitchin Priory

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hitchin Priory to your Saves list
Hitchin Priory
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Hitchin
Luton
1 review
“Wedding Guest -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I Would like to thank the Priory for taking the booking at pretty short notice after the other venue went bust!
I felt very welcomed upon arrival, I checked into my room found it very clean, and welcoming. The day was great from the moment I woke up until I went to bed. I found my bed very comfortable, shower was nice and hot in the morning.
The Wedding meal itself was very nice, all the staff helped out and made the service of the food delivered to our tables in quick time to serve up to more guests than you usually cater for. I could not fault the waiters or waitresses during the meal or the whole day.
Every member of staff was helpful the next morning at breakfast they came straight over and offered Tea & Coffee and invited us to help yourself to the breakfast that was on offer.

I can not fault The Priory in any way. and would like to thank the staff for all of their help over the weekend to make it a great day for the happy couple.

Room Tip: Try and get an in-house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    57
    37
    22
See reviews for
30
56
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire - England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Each year, TSA holds a meeting at The Priory and have been doing so now for five years. The building itself is full of character with beautiful grounds. It is very close to Hitchin Town Centre where there are a number of very good restaurants. I did use the hotel restaurant once and will not bother again. The rooms are a bit dated now and need a thorough refurb but they are comfortable enough. A great location for a conference and we will use it again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on 19/04/13 as a wedding guest. On arrival as we drove into the car park there were sign posts for the car park directing to the back of the building which took us to a dead end which wasnt a good start and got no apology from the receptionist when confronted about it. We then checked in and the receptionist wasnt very friendly, never welcomed us and barely smiled. The room was average, the only downsides to the room was that the bed wasnt very comfortable as I woke up with backache and the pillow was hard and flat. There wasnt a view from the room unless you like looking at a fence. The taps had been switched so cold ran out of the hot tap and vice versa. The kettle was rusty inside also. The breakfast on both mornings wasnt that great especially the sausages as they were hard and not very tasty. The wedding meal itself was ok, the starter was lovely and cooked to perfection, as for the main course the pork was very fatty and the vegetables were too hard. The pudding was lovely. The worst thing for me was the service at the meal as the waiters/waitresses kept standing over my head and passing food infront of my face everytime they came over to serve making me feel very uncomfortable and when they brought the jug of coffee over again the hot jug felt just too close to my face when putting it on the table. When checking out the next day the same receptionist who checked us in was very friendly and seemed like a different person to before which was an improvement. I wont be in a rush to stay there in the future if I was down that part of the country again. Could have been worse but hopefully they will read customers feedback and improve.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thank you to the Hitchin Priory for helping make yesterday such a happy memorable day. You catered for a large number of people magnificently, delivering tasty, hot food promptly and clearing away efficiently. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Hitchin Priory is in a stunning setting and the sun shining down enhanced that setting beautifully.
Our rooms were clean and pleasant and the bed was comfy.
Thank you again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Reception staff - needs to cheer up and learn a little customer service.

Location - looks nice, despite the sign to carpark sending us to a dead end. On the outside it appears like a nice location.

Room - double bed is small, view from window was a well ronsealed 6ft mahogany fence 3 ft away. If you have an iron deficiency your in look as the kettle coil is as rusty as a wreck on the seabed. Low amount of tea/coffee/wash gels etc. the taps have been tampered with (our hot was cold and cold was hot). Nice to know if your thirsty and fancied some water.

Il write another review when I arrive home in full on food etc. il copy this review in too but so far I'd say I'm not overly happy with value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel for location but other than that its value for money at best. Service was good but it just doesn't do justice to the look of the venue, nor the pretty town of Hitchin. A make over would transform the place. However, would I stay here again? Yes, for its location alone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I,m pleased Thierry was on duty when we booked in otherwise our rating would have been lower.
He was welcoming friendly and professional.The hotel is well positioned on the edge of the town centre.It is beautiful building set in wonderful parkland and could be an outstanding venue BUT the group that own it need to invest in some TLC and upgrade to lose it,s tired appearance.

Room Tip: The rooms in thePriory building itself have more character but do seem smaller than those in the ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hitchin Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitchin Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.