We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Man Pub Restaurant

Green Man Pub Restaurant
5 High Street, Hitchin SG5 3AR, England
01462 768256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 143 Restaurants in Hitchin
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Stotfold
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great menu great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Green Man is part of the Chef and Brewer chain but don't let that put you off, the the menu is very comprehensive excellent choices, well presented and very tasty. The wine list reasonable price and has some nice ones to chose from. Service was relaxed we weren't rushed and each course arrived at the right time. They do specials and a 3 course meal for under £20 very good value, it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    11
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food & good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a nice pub/restaurant with good food. I have been here quite a few times and all,my experiences have been good. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only things I would recommend that could improve the experience is making it a little more child friendly, however they do have a big garden. Also you really need to incorporate a little more time as the service can be a little slow at times. But overall a good pale to take the family for a lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have often eaten in the restaurant area but the last time was really poor. Made a booking to take our friends from Holland we requested a window table in the conservatory. Upon arrival we were told to sit were ever we liked and found no reserved table. A starter of garlic bread turned out to be "supermarket" type cut loaf slices we crushed garlic on with a couple of pitta breads which we promptly sent back.three steaks and the duck was ordered resulting in chaos as to what steak was what and the duck was almost geriatric. We requested the bill and upon complaining of the quality the wine was taken off the total but it was not the wine that was the problem it was the quality of the food. The manager (?) went on to say that they were experiencing " transition" problems (?). Chef and Brewer have said that they were investigating the problems and they would be dealt with. But we will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Allow lots of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having previously been to other Chef and Brewer pub restaurants (Guisborough and Gloucester), we thought this would be a really good choice for our family sunday lunch - 5 adults & 4 young children. Drinks and starters arrived within a reasonable time, but then we waited ages for our main courses. About an hour after arriving the main courses finally arrived - first 2 adult meals, a while later 2 more adult meals, later the children's meals (tiny portions for our then very hungry children), then the last adult meal (the first adults had almost finished by this time). We then had to ask for ketchup and other condiments and the waiter came back with a tiny pot of ketchup (hello, 8 of us had chips), had to ask for extra beans for one of the children who seemed to have been given the last teaspoon in the tin on her plate.....think you get the picture. We tried to complain a couple of times but the staff didn't take ownership and then wandered off. Same story with the desserts - wrong ones delivered, only one strawberry on my daughter's strawberry sundae, last kid's dessert arrived as others just finished, lukewarm coffees finished before the desserts arrived. We did finally get a new waiter (the original one on his break apparently) who to his credit did apologise and offered us some items off the bill. To be honest we were glad to just get out of there after nearly 3 hours. If this had been my first and only visit to a Chef and Brewer I would never go to another, thank goodness they're not all like this. What a shame for such a lovely location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwell, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have eaten at The Green Man four times this year, mainly because we received some vouchers. We were somewhat apprehensive as we read Trip Advisor before visiting, however our visits have ranged from tonight, when we were extremely satisfied with the very acceptable quality of our main courses (my husband had seafood grill and I ordered chicken strips with bacon and cheese, both served with chips and a nice freshly prepared salad). We were also very impressed with the friendly and helpful attitude of the two female staff who looked after us. There was a half an hour wait for our meals, but the restaurant is large and was busy, it being a Friday evening. They came to check if we were OK a couple of times and also kept us updated on the progress of our meals. We also thought there was a very pleasant atmosphere. The man serving at the bar was also most helpful and pleasant.

This was the best of the four visits, so we hope this is part of a long term improvement plan! The staff were great and the only minus this time was the condition of the toilets, which could have done with a good clean up. Also one of the toilet seats was broken in the ladies.

We will come back, but please think about the toilet experience as well as everything else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Man Pub Restaurant also viewed

Offley, Hitchin
Offley, Hitchin
 

Been to Green Man Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Man Pub Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.