We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resounding yes for authentic charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Offley Place Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Offley Place Country House to your Saves list
Offley Place Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Walden Road, Hitchin SG5 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Resounding yes for authentic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I Like Offley Manor a lot. We stayed overnight on a bright sunny day. Andy Murray won his semi, and everything in the garden was rosy. The hotel possesses an authentic charm. Ok, a bit creaky in parts, but I am pleased it is at it is, wouldn’t swap its true character It has a homely feel that sets it apart, in a friendly and genuine manner. The grounds are magnificent.Peaceful and tranquil. A Pretty and pleasing place to get married I would think.

Our spacious bedroom overlooked the view of the grounds and very comfortable with nice little welcoming touches. We slept like a log, which is I suppose the true test.

People often comment on the staff here, and deservedly so, like the building itself, they are genuine and friendly.

I must also say I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, and restaurant. The chef uses good quality ingredients, cooked to a high standard and well presented. All in all, a resounding yes for Offley Manor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
42
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited the restaurant of this country hotel with a large group of 25 friends who enjoy eating in a more formal manner – crisp white tablecloths & silver service and no Muzak to interfere with any conversation!
This establishment certainly “ticked all the boxes” and the staffs were superb in their waiting skills and knowledge of the menu choices.
We were seated in the conservatory which has been built on to this quite old building and in a May evening the weather should have been much better but even so it was comfortable and warm.
The food was excellent & hence choices difficult to make!
Starters included a Tian of Smoked Salmon, Avocado & Mango (my choice & delicious) also a Terrine of Guinea Fowl & Red Pepper, a Cheddar Blue Cheese Soufflé plus a soup and a Tomato tart.
For the main course I chose “Mignon of Beef” which was cooked to perfection. The other choices were Salmon, Duck. Skate & Chicken so everyone was taken care of. We had no vegetarians on this occasion but there was an option if required.
The Desserts created another choice problem as they were all delicious & made on the premises which has unfortunately become unusual even in some of the top establishment these days.
There was no hurry to see us gone & at the right moment the correct coats (it was a cool evening) were brought to us – how do they do that? It is very impressive.
A great evening for us all & for once in this group not one complaint!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business recently one Wednesday night. On arriving I was very pleased, beautiful property and in a quiet, peaceful setting. The room was just like what is shown on the website and I couldnt of been happier. The bed was extremely comfortable. The views out the bedroom window were amazing.The receptionists were all so lovely. I liked the fact the history of the house was in the welcome folder. Breakfast was superb. All in alI a reallý lovely stay. I booked on late rooms and I would love to go back. Thank you so much

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I got married here in May and just had to write a review as my husband and I were so happy with our choice of wedding venue. The hotel is beautiful with lovely grounds. Our ceremony was in the conservatory which was a beautiful room to get married in. The food and service were amazing. The wedding co-ordinators at the venue did a great job of ensuring it all went smoothly.

We can't wait to spend our first wedding anniversary back at the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your kind comments.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the food and beauty of our venue for your wedding day and that our staff were so helpful.

Have an amazing year and we shall look forward to welcoming you back on your first wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I have previously had dinner and drinks at offley place which have always been to a high standard. The staff here are amazing, always helpful and going that extra mile. The bedroom was massive with a spa bath and huge bed. There are a few places that maybe need a lick of paint on the stairs etc I would have thought management would have sorted this out by now as its a stunning 4* hotel and they would want to keep it that way. The waiter who works in the restaurant.. Can't remember his name but he is Italian and is fabulous at recommending wine with your meal and making sure you feel special. The fire places are a really nice touch in each room and the massive chandeliers everywhere really make it feel grand. I feel in love with this place the moment I walked in. It does need a bit of a tidy up in places but most areas are perfect .. in all the building is old and grand and the staff make you feel very welcome. Note to management get the painting and then this place would perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been staying at Offley Place one to two nights per week since March whilst I have work in Hitchin. I have to say the rooms are lovely (have stayed in 3 of them) the food is gorgeous - the sausage and mash is divine! The breakfast always good and nice variety.

The staff are second to none they are all lovely - polite, funny and always very accommodating.

I will continue staying here as long as I am working in Hitchin and being over 4 months pregnant it is nice to have somewhere comfortable stay away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We held our wedding reception here last week and I cannot praise it enough! The staff were fantastic, as we're the food and bedrooms. We had countless comments from guests about what a wonderful venue it is. We were fortunate enough to have the hotel to ourselves for the event and it felt like our 'own little country house' to quote one guest.
The rooms were very spacious and full of character. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and flexible throughout. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamid S, Owner at Offley Place Country House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that we helped you celebrate your big day and are very happy that you and all of your guests thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at Offley Place .We hope we can look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
3.8 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#6 of 7 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 2 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hitchin
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offley Place Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offley Place Country House

Address: Kings Walden Road, Hitchin SG5 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Offley Place Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Offley Place Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Offley Place Country House Hotel Hitchin
Offley Place Country House Hitchin, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Offley Place Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.