We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is not shabby chique but plain shabby.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brynafon Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brynafon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brynafon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
yelverton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This hotel is not shabby chique but plain shabby.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is very neglected in all aspects,if the general untidyness of the exterior of the hotel fails to put you off staying then the entrance foyer and reception area certainly will,the bedrooms are in the same tired and dated state.The food served is average at best.The staff however are very attentive and deserve praise .The hotel is situated in a great place to visit central Wales

Room Tip: Ask to view your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. We don’t aim to be shabby at anything we do and based on the many positive comment we seem to be getting it right most of the time. The hotel is dated in part which we accept but generally clean and tidy, many of the rooms have been upgraded and the food is above average quality and well-priced. Taken as a whole; on a beautiful bank holiday weekend you could have travelled far and faired much worse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    46
    25
    7
See reviews for
18
113
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here on the way to the Builth Wells Antique fair, which was a bit disappointing, but the best bit was the red kite feeding station next door. The hotel has unusual quirky rooms, the food was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had to take refuge at the Brynafon due to unseasonal snow on the A470 which temporarily made the road impassable. I was shown to a room which was gloriously warm. Even though it was 10.20pm they re-opened the kitchen and cooked some dinner for me. The owner dug the cars out of snow in the car-park in the morning and cleared the snow back to the main road - he was absolutely charming, Lovely fresh cooked food and excellent poached eggs for breakfast. I went back again to see what the hotel was like when not forced to stay there. It is such a big building that it would be an enormous task and a very expensive one to keep it absolutely in tip-tip fashion but I again had fresh food, attentive service, a warm room, reliable WiFi and great poached eggs. Very reasonable cost. Love the koi carp under the floor in the dining room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just stayed here 26/04/13 it was more than we expected the room was suberb and the food was out of this world . The staff were friendly and so help full we making a booking for this hotel again one of the best breaks we have ever had

Room Tip: Choose the den a great room to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry W, Owner at Brynafon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, the 'Den' has just been refurbished and is a great room, private and yet still part of the Hotel. But like all thing in an old place as one room gets sorted out another gives a problem: the lounge ceiling fell in so we had to move the leather sofas into the bar. We thought this would be a problem but in fact it allows for relaxed seating in the bar which is proving very popular. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed for a two night anniversary break, using the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding countryside. This was a KGB deal and before booking we did some research via Tripadvisor but were really unsure what to expect.

The hotel was excellent and exceeded our expectations; staff very friendly and the room was perfect (we stayed in 'The Studio', with roll top bath and views out onto the mountain). We eat in the restaurant on both nights and cannot fault the food or service. This was a low cost break and was exceptional value for money. A perfect location for anyone visiting the Elan valley and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: For a romantic break ask for The Studio, a room on the top floor with a roll top bath under skyligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just spent a fabulous weekend at Brynafon. Excellent service, food was delicious... compliments to the chef. The belly pork is to die for. Absolutely delicious but so so so much on the plate. I felt guilty at having to return some of it uneaten. Would thoroughly recommend the Welsh Tapas. Fantastic experience and really good value for money. A really nice homely hotel. The studio honeymoon suite was amazing. Would certainly recommend. Lounge so comfy that I fell asleep on the sofa after dinner. The location is ideal and the Elan Valley was spectacular. Gutted to have missed the kite feeding at the place next door. Will certainly return in the Summer for pony trekking, the kite feeding, more walks and more excellent food :) Nigel and Amanda

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The reason for staying here earlier in March was to meet up with our daughter who was at a school placement in Rhayader. We were given a warm welcome by Gerry the owner, as we arrived early, the rooms weren't ready so we waited in the comfortable lounge and was given coffee and tea. Our room was Rowan 1, with a lovely 4 poster bed and large flat screen TV, beautiful views through the two windows and a roomy bathroom. My mother who came with us aged 91years stayed in a comfortable, warm twin bedded room on the ground floor called Mews. The evening meal we all had was scumptuous and worth every penny. The cooked breakfasts were filling and the bacon was delicious. Large car park and within easy walking distance to the quaint town centre. Lovely characteristic hotel with friendly owners and staff in a location of beauty. The only downside was we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brynafon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynafon Country House Hotel

Address: South Street, Rhayader LD6 5BL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynafon Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Brynafon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynafon Country Hotel
Brynafon Country House Hotel Rhayader, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynafon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.