We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elan Valley Hotel

Elan Valley Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elan Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Elan Valley Hotel
Elan Valley | Nr. Rhayader, Rhayader LD6 5HN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rhayader
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Walking break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Friendly welcome, lovely room and delicious food. Ate like kings and slept like babies. Paticularly appreciated 6 vegetables with our main course! Great for walkers - took a packed lunch and a flask of tea with us on our misty walk from Claerwen Dam. Perfect day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
39
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are looking for a central meeting point in mid Wales then this hotel could be for you. The facilities of the hotel are a little dated but work, the food and general refreshments are excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. Sat Nav post codes can be deceiving, best to use a map.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having stayed here for a long weekend a couple of years ago we thought it ideal for our honeymoon. Sadly my new wife tore a calf muscle with excessive dancing at our reception but we carried on with our honeymoon plans.
The hotel was quiet during our stay but the staff were excellent! It started off with a gift from the hotel to celebrate our wedding and throughout our stay they were first class, offering my wife ice packs and extra pillows to facilitate her recovery.
The food was as always fantastic, we're told the chef sources as much as he can locally and you can really tell the difference.
The room was very spacious and comfortable and of course the location is great for a peaceful holiday.
Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from our first time and we loved it. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Rooms were ok, spotlessly clean. We were in room 7 a family room. A beautiful area to explore and a visit to gigrin farm is a must

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Elan Valley Hotel is a .must for those who love walking or cycling in beautiful, wild and tranquil surroundings . The hotel stands at the gateway to the incredibly beautiful Elan Valley reservoirs with miles of pathways for walking and cycling.

The hotel is comfortable and the home made food is excellent. Just what you need after a long day's walking. The bar area is suited to walkers and each bedroom is clean and tastefully decorated.

We had a warm welcome which perfected our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a good standard with front view bedrooms possibly being larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked our stay hoping for kinder weather but unfortunately it was cold and snowy so the warm welcome we found at the Elan Valley Hotel was very nice, we booked dinner ,bed and breakfast and could not fault the food and service we even got to try fresh duck eggs one morning for breakfast all the staff were friendly and helpful with advice about where to go and the best walks to take, our room was very nice and comfortable and spotlessly clean, We hope to return in late summer and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Training event with overnight accommodation. Everything was excellent, timings were spot on, food was lovely; well cooked and tasty and the facilities were of a high standard. The bedroom was very comfortable and well furnished. I would welcome another visit!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elan Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Valley Hotel

Address: Elan Valley | Nr. Rhayader, Rhayader LD6 5HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Elan Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Valley Hotel Rhayader, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elan Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.