We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a warning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Save Saved
You added Crown Inn to your Saves list
Crown Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Street, Rhayader LD6 5BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just a warning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from a week in Rhayader. We had a lovely meal at the Crown on Saturday 25th May. All staff were very friendly and the food was first class. Returned on Tuesday 28th May, the food again was first class again, but the night was not as enjoyable as the first visit. This was due to what I can only describe as a rather surly, rude barman. When I asked for the bill on my first visit I was supplied with printed bill listing all items. When I asked for the bill on my second visit the barman did not supply the printed bill only telling me the total amount. I paid the bill. When I arrived back at my accomodation I had realised I had been overcharged by at least 10%. The barman never gave me a receipt either. Needless to say we never returned to the Crown, but ate elsewhere. Just be warned watch this barman and alway ask for an itemised bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
From North Wales
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked this last minute stayed overnight on way down to Builth Wells Spring Fair, the room was lovely shame about the bathroom, need upgrading reminded me of a bathroom in Blackpool's B & B's back in the 80's. The staying accommodation is set away from the main pub which has a great choice of drinks and food, very busy on a Friday night. When shown to our room the pleasant young girl told us breakfast was between 8 and 10 downstairs in the bar, 8am came made our way downstairs but the whole pub was locked up tried phoning but no answer, I remembered that "Morgans" down the road had the same owners so we chanced their only to be told that the breakfast was indeed served their (it would be nice to be given the correct info when checking in) otherwise well worth the money £60 for 2 B & B, would consider staying again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped to eat at this pub on Saturday Night 4th May, we received excellent service from the staff. The steak Burger was sublime and food was plenty. So much so we returned on Sunday Night to eat again and ended up staying most of the night. If you are staying in Rhayader then we can highly recommend the crown inn as a place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We dropped in for drinks and a light supper on a cold, wet, evening. Service prompt and pleasant. Locals friendly. We had fish cakes which came with a salad. The IPA and cider were well kept. Toilets clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has recently been taken over by the owners of Ty Morgans and the customer service and welcome shows why they have been so successful. The room wasn't stunning, but it was clean, tidy and warm, and when I booked they advised us that they had only just taken over, so hadn't updated the rooms yet. We'd bought a Groupon voucher for Ty Morgans but they were booked up - so they offered us the Crown instead. Unfortunately due to personal reasons we weren't able to get over for the Friday evening, and when we arrived Saturday they told us we were welcome to stay on the Sunday evening instead! Top customer service.

Breakfast was at Ty Morgans and it was definitely one of the best I've had. We ate our evening meal there too, and the steak was to die for.

Room Tip: Check whether upgrades have taken place before you book - if they haven't, expect clean but basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at The Crown (which is now being run by the team at Ty Morgans) last weekend (2nd Feb) for 2 nights .
I have to say it was brilliant, the room had been freshly painted and was clean and warm I could pick a couple of holes if I wanted to but to be honest they are not worth mentioning and I have no doubt they will probably have been sorted by now.
We had an evening meal on 1 night which was superb, I wanted a mix of 2 things on the menu and it was done with no quibbles, the food was good value.
The beer was tremendous, IPA at £2.20 a pint, it was kept well as were all the ales.
If your in Rhayader pop in for a pint, the staff are friendly and helpful and as I said it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There can be some traffic noise if your in room 4 but it was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for a pint during recent stay in Rhayader. Welcoming landlord, cozy bar, good pint of Guinness. We both left happy. Worth a visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: North Street, Rhayader LD6 5BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with atmosphere, real ales, good selection of house wines, lagers, cider and hot beverages available. Good quality and value for money meals and snacks served lunchtime and evening. Daily Specials and also special offers sometimes available. Bed & Breakfast is available in three en-suite twin rooms, the bathrooms and showers have recently been refurbished and the rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities.Some off street parking is available for residents.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all customers whether eating, drinking or sleeping. We welcome dogs in our bedrooms however they aren't permitted in our restaurant area. Breakfast is served a few yards away in Ty Morgans which offers a wide range of traditional and alternative breakfast choices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Rhayader, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.