We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Inn to your Saves list
Crown Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Street, Rhayader LD6 5BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rhayader
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Supper stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We dropped in for drinks and a light supper on a cold, wet, evening. Service prompt and pleasant. Locals friendly. We had fish cakes which came with a salad. The IPA and cider were well kept. Toilets clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has recently been taken over by the owners of Ty Morgans and the customer service and welcome shows why they have been so successful. The room wasn't stunning, but it was clean, tidy and warm, and when I booked they advised us that they had only just taken over, so hadn't updated the rooms yet. We'd bought a Groupon voucher for Ty Morgans but they were booked up - so they offered us the Crown instead. Unfortunately due to personal reasons we weren't able to get over for the Friday evening, and when we arrived Saturday they told us we were welcome to stay on the Sunday evening instead! Top customer service.

Breakfast was at Ty Morgans and it was definitely one of the best I've had. We ate our evening meal there too, and the steak was to die for.

Room Tip: Check whether upgrades have taken place before you book - if they haven't, expect clean but basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at The Crown (which is now being run by the team at Ty Morgans) last weekend (2nd Feb) for 2 nights .
I have to say it was brilliant, the room had been freshly painted and was clean and warm I could pick a couple of holes if I wanted to but to be honest they are not worth mentioning and I have no doubt they will probably have been sorted by now.
We had an evening meal on 1 night which was superb, I wanted a mix of 2 things on the menu and it was done with no quibbles, the food was good value.
The beer was tremendous, IPA at £2.20 a pint, it was kept well as were all the ales.
If your in Rhayader pop in for a pint, the staff are friendly and helpful and as I said it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There can be some traffic noise if your in room 4 but it was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for a pint during recent stay in Rhayader. Welcoming landlord, cozy bar, good pint of Guinness. We both left happy. Worth a visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were staying here for one night during a north to south wales cycling trip, the dinner in the evening was fine (ping food - the kitchen has five microwaves), and the beer was good, the rooms were very basic - no soap or shower gel - we had agreed breakfast at 8-00 as we wanted to start early. Unfortunately no one turned up in the morning until 9-00, and then only the cleaner ( she tried to help, but knew nothing about the breakfasts) - so we ended up leaving at 9-30 when still no one had shown up .) They have apologized and reduced the bill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed here as we were following the IMBA Trans Cambrian Way on our mountain bikes. So were turned up early evening, tired, muddy, cold, wet, hungry and thirsty.

The Crown Inn fulfilled our needs, in that the rooms were warm and dry, and en-suite. The bathrooms weren't in a great state (small, damp and the shower wasn't the most effective) but they did the job. At least in our muddy state we didn't feel we were making too much mess.

The rooms were pretty cramped, although they had TVs and were fine for what we needed. If we wanted more space, we could always head to the main bar to relax.

The staff were very obliging in helping us store our bikes securely. They were also very obliging in serving us a really good pint. The atmosphere in the bar (this was on a Friday night) was very nice, so we settled down for a good, simple pub meal. Can't remember what we had, but the usual choice of fish & chips, gammon & chips, steak & chips etc was all on offer. Some members of our 6-man crew then proceeded to fall asleep in the bar.

We all had a decent night's sleep - which was probably inevitable after the day we'd had. It's also a reflection on the quietness of this hotel, even though it's located right in the middle of town (great location - excellent Spar,newsagent & bike shop a few doors away).

There was nothing really wrong with our stay. But if I was coming back to Rhayader, I'd be tempted to try somewhere else. If, however, I found the other places were fully-booked, then I would have no problems with staying at the Crown again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

This is a great place to stay if you plan to visit the dams on elan valley. Rhyader is only a 20min drive from the dams at Elan Valley which are breathtaking!

The rooms are not exactly high standard, there is damp smell in the shower, but its clean and as this is a pub you will not have any problems with staggering back to your room.

We were offered the choice of leaving our car in the pub parking but there is a public car park with lighting around the corner and it's 20p (yes 20 pence) for overnight stay. It mostly for lorry drivers and you car will be safe there as this is only a tiny town.

The food and breakfast offered is great and freshly prepared to an excellent standard. The drinks are cheap and the pub stays open till late and you can take the drinks up to your room.

Generally if you only want your room for a nights sleep and a wash in the morning the value of £20 per person with full english (and this is a trully full english plus a variety of lighter choises) is unbeatable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: North Street, Rhayader LD6 5BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with atmosphere, real ales, good selection of house wines, lagers, cider and hot beverages available. Good quality and value for money meals and snacks served lunchtime and evening. Daily Specials and also special offers sometimes available. Bed & Breakfast is available in three en-suite twin rooms, the bathrooms and showers have recently been refurbished and the rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities.Some off street parking is available for residents.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all customers whether eating, drinking or sleeping. We welcome dogs in our bedrooms however they aren't permitted in our restaurant area. Breakfast is served a few yards away in Ty Morgans which offers a wide range of traditional and alternative breakfast choices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Rhayader, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.