We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker Friendly highly accomodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brynteg

Brynteg
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhayader
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynteg
Save
You added Brynteg to your Saves list
East Street, Rhayader LD6 5EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Rhayader B&B and Inns
wirral
1 review
“Biker Friendly highly accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a gem.. I phoned Brynteg to ask about Bike parking only to find that the hosts adrian and mandy were bikers themselves (bonus) I was made more than welcome when i arrived. My Bike was put in the garage and i was shown to my room.

The back room No 1 was a lovely airy room with an en suite toilet/shower. With wonderful views over the garden ahd the hills beyond.

I have a vegan diet and my partner is vegetarian and the host were really helpful in allowing us to bring certain foods, store them and also cook them for us.

Adrian is really knowlageble about the great bike rides and roads on the area and it was a delight to talk to them about all things biking.

I loved the area and it has some amazing rides. I will certainly stay there again the next time i want to get away for a weekend, Just me and the bike.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Thanks again
Samantha
(fzs 600)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast in the heart of Rhayder with fantastic views from the back bedrooms. The owners take great pride in their garden and there was the nice touch of their cut flowers on the breakfast table. There was a slightly old fashioned feel to the decor (which suited the historic town) and the whole house had been recently refurbished. I suppose is possible that street parking could be a bit of a drawback but I found no trouble parking within a few yards of the front door.

I have marked the overall rating from 'excellent' to 'average' as, unfortunately, there was one incident that marred my stay. A misunderstanding resulted in the host being upsettingly rude to me, for which his wife apologised. Anyone can have a bad day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed for one night in the single room whilst on a cycling holiday through wales. My room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfast was really lovely also. Incredibly good value.... 4 star accommodation at 2 star prices - wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Brynteg was exactly what we were looking for for our time in Wales. Adrian and Mandy were wonderful hosts and made us feel comfortable and welcome, as well as providing us with dinner/pub suggestions. Our room was very clean and had a lovely view of the back garden and nearby hills. Breakfast was consistently good and served promptly (and the homemade preserves are not-to-be-missed). Definitely recommended for anyone looking in or around Rhayader!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Owners know how to run a b and b. They are genuinely interested in ensuring you have a nice time in the accommodation and locality, without being overbearing. Low cost but all done to a high level. Single room adequate size and very clean. Ok, decor is not Scandinavian minimalist or city trendy but this is a good choice for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for a few days to visit elan valley, room at the back was well appointed with great views across the hills, breakfasts good, plenty of choice including excellent porridge! Very friendly and knowledgeable hosts, nothing was too much trouble. House clean and comfortable with a good TV lounge. Secure storage for cycles in garage, Excellent value for money, will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rarely stay in B&Bs but the reviews were so good we gave it a go.
What a delight. Mandy and Adrian were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
The house was spotlessly clean and well decorated. We stayed in room 4, a twin which was spacious with good quality beds and bed Linen, coffee and tea making tray. At first we were unsure of the room as this is the only room that is not En suite but we had a private bathroom across the corridor, which worked out fine. The room was on the front of the house but we heard no traffic noise at all. The bathroom was clean and efficient with good quality Toiletries.
Breakfast was served in a room overlooking the pleasant garden with a good view and the hens that provided the breakfast eggs. There was a good range of cereals, juice homemade Jams and Marmalade.
The cooked breakfast included good quality sausage, bacon and of course the eggs, which were perfectly poached. We would definitely stay again when we are in this area.
We ate at the Triangle pub, which is a short walk away; it is an old proper pub with good food.

Room Tip: We saw 2 other roos beside 4 all looked good .For views probably rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynteg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynteg

Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynteg Guesthouse is in a quiet, convenient location just 200m from Rhayader town centre with its shops, cafes and pubs. The red kite feeding centre at Gigrin Farm is visible from the rear of the house and is only a 10 minute walk away. We serve a full Welsh breakfast using eggs from our own hens, sausage and bacon form Rhayader's award-winning butcher and tomatoes from our garden. Vegetarian options are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brynteg Rhayader, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynteg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.