We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian chic with Taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzo

Mezzo
Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 0UP, England
01772 877772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Samlesbury
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian chic with Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely midweek meal, light and flavoursome served with an excellent Prosecco. Service was prompt but not too pushed and all together very good

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    49
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food but terrible service & a rude manager!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went with my boyfriend on a Saturday evening. First impressions were good, although the seating area by the bar could have been warmer. There was snow outside and the radiator wasn't even on. Nobody asked to take our coats, not even when we were seated at our table. When the food arrived it was tasty and the waiting time between the starter and the main was sufficient. Not one of the waiting staff asked if we wanted more drinks and we had to ask to order a bottle of wine. After finishing our main course, half an hour later we still hadn't been asked if we would like a desert or coffee. We gave up feeling very disappointed and couldn't be bothered waiting anymore. The lady on the desk where we went to pay was lovely and asked if everything was ok. We mentioned about the service and at this point the manager came over. He was extremely rude and didn't want to know!! What a lovely way to run a restaurant...!!!!!! Feeling surprised by his attitude, we found that the waiters and waitresses are not assigned to certain tables, but that they all had certain roles, whereby one would serve starters, another mains, another deserts etc!! Not the most efficient system!

We definitely won't be returning and wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone which is a shame as the food was lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok service. Poor food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Went with another couple and their child. The staff were very accommodating where the toddler was concerned. The staff were pleasant enough.

Food-terrible for what you pay. It wasn't the most expensive I've been to but was generally poor. 2 people ordered bruschetta. This was VERY dry and not seasoned well. Ribs were tasty. Cured veal was not really enjoyed. The mains were 3 chicken dishes (all the same) the smell of the cheese sauce was not good at all. Not tasty either. The veg was ok. The other main was ravioli with crab and lobster. This was in a sauce with prawns. The prawns all had their tail and half their shell on. Not ideal to be pulling tails off when covered in sauce?

Overall wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend which is a shame because the restaurant itself looks lovely and modern and the staff were quite friendly although could do with knowing what the dishes in English!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here last night.... We asked to move from the first table we were seated at, which was no trouble at all.
Starters took thier time and mine arrived 5 mins after everyone elses.
Our friends ordered the same dish -BUT - they ordered the wrong one!!! This was no trouble... They took it away and brought the dish they wanted and didnt charge us- which they could have if they wanted to.
The atmosphere was busy and nice... The food was good too.... Not the best for the money but not the worst either...
The waiter we had was a lancashire lad and excellent...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an exciting,vibrant place . The decor is modern and fresh, the menu exciting and fresh and executed very well . The service is good without being fussy

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzo also viewed

 

Been to Mezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.