We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bank holiday break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samlesbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samlesbury Hotel to your Saves list
Samlesbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“bank holiday break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Modern contemporary hotel with large comfortable bedrooms. Good showers in large cubicle. Very comfortable bar lounge serving good food and snacks served until 10pm. Good location for motorway with access to lots of interesting places. Good large car park. My only complaint would be that although bins were emptied and refreshments replenished the bed was not made up and towels were not changed daily.

Room Tip: First floor room we stayed in was quiet. Room doors are heavy and were quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    77
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
52
119
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived here and walked into reception and We thought WOW! This looks great. Approached reception to be greated by friendly helpful smiling staff. That got another very appreciative wow! We were then directed to our room and upon entering it got another wow!. The room was light modern and tastefully decorated which had a lovely view out of our window over fields. Plenty of room in the wardrobe, big TV, nice cosy and warm with a very comfortable mattress. They have a lovely bar with nice comfortable chairs and suites we got cosy and had a few good brandys. Breakfast the next day was fantastic beautifully laid out tables and very friendly helpful staff again. There was a terrific choice and food came beautifully presented. Cannot wait to go back and we will. We really liked this hotel it has everything that gives it a WOW! for us. Go on give it a go.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Maz M

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and positive review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending Samlesbury to other travellers. I will share your review with the rest of the team, we really look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended this hotel for a conference and stayed over. Disappointed - shiny facade but all fur coat and no knickers! It was a health related conference but some areas were not accessible to those with disabilities despite being told it was - shocking! My room was supposed to be top class BUT coffee machine did not work, there were no sachets for the kettle, it was very noisy, quite a trek from the reception and when I raised this with reception they seemed shocked as though I had broken the coffee machine myself or was lying! Snotty reception staff. Left my mobile charger in the room but they swear I didn't when I rang up. Kitchen staff were very nice and helpful, although waitresses were arguing with management in the restaurant at breakfast then laughing to each other about it not in English, not very welcoming! The manager tried her best but was blatantly fighting a losing battle with her staff. Regardless she gave great customer service and made me a lovely sandwich when I had to skip lunch to leave early. Best staff member was Eric(I think) the conference assistant who seemed the only guy in the hotel who had it all switched on upstairs so if you get stuck ask for him. He might only be about 19 but he he has some intelligence, good manners and will go the extra mile to help. Would not stay here again, and it would put me off attending a conference here.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear DrPinkCat

Thank you for posting a review. We obviously have not lived up to the high standards we set ourselves at Samlesbury Hotel, we take all reviews seriously and I will discuss your comments with the rest of the team.

Best wishes
Mark Illingworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a night but i really like it ... New place nice lay out and big room

Close to preston and other city around too like Liverpool and Manchester like 45 mile .

Close to BAE SYSTEMS where i can see a lot if business people here

Nice atmosphere and has a good gym ..

I recommend it for business and short stay

The receptionist was very kind .. And people friendly...

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Naifoo911

Thank you for taking the time to post sucha positive review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that you will stay at Samlesbury again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Illingworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed as part of a weekend deal with Omega Holidays for the Grand Nation at this hotel just outside Preston. We arrived late on the Friday night and booking in was already arranged so all went smooth. We dropped of our cases and proceeded to the 24 hour bar for a night cap and were met by two charming guys taking orders for drinks. The bedrooms and bed were very clean and comfortable and the shower fantastic. Breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday were fine if a bit rushed. On arrival back after the National we had booked a table in the restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced. Service was a bit haphazard with waitresses seeming to be confident. That said, we had a great stay and would use the place again and recommend it. Staffing looked a bit thin and the check in was a large table but it was thorough so no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask about a paper if you want one as we weren't and hair dryers not in the room. Rooms very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Martin C

Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay and thank you for recommending Samlesbury Hotel to other travellers. I hope that we will see you at Samlesbury again soon.

Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideal location for a business meeting. Very impressed with the refurbishment, spotlessly clean, tasteful and high quality décor. Good facilities for conferences. Had outstanding service in the restaurant at lunch time. The Manager, Catherine, was very professional. Eric, our waiter understood hospitality, was very pleasant and very helpful as were all the staff in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Chronicle UK

Thank you for posting a detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and agree that due to our location, the quality of the refurbishment and our friendly but professional staff we offer an ideal venue for business meetings and conferences. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night on the way home from an Easter break in St. Annes and had a comfortable stay. We have no problem in recommending this hotel. The room and bathroom were well equipped with everything needed to pamper yourself. The full English breakfast is excellent, freshly cooked and a large home made loaf to carve yourself and pop into the 'just right' toaster. Lots of fresh sticky Danish Pastries and pots of jam to finish off. The perfect end to a perfect night.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, Commercial Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JulieJules

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review following your stay at Samlesbury. I will share your review with the rest of the team. We are very lucky to have such a lovely hotel to present to our guests and a dedicated team who constantly strive to ensure that all our guests enjoy the time they spend at Samlesbury hotel whether they are travelling for business or pleasure. I hope that I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Best wishes

Mark Illingworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samlesbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samlesbury Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samlesbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new 4-star hotel offers style and luxury, free WIFI and free car parking. Located just off junction 31 of the M6, the Samlesbury Hotel has easy access to Preston, Blackburn, Manchester, Liverpool, Blackpool & the Lake District. Each one of our beautifully designed 80 bedrooms feature a flat-screen smart TV with Freeview and an invigorating power shower. There is 24-hour room service available. Merchants Bar & Grill serves fine local cuisine and offers great-value seasonal dishes with a surprising twist. Pop in for a coffee break, meeting or morning tea. We offer a wide selection of drinks and cocktails in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Samlesbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samlesbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.