We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samlesbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samlesbury Hotel to your Saves list
Samlesbury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had the afternoon tea offer like many others on here. Lovely hotel, very modern and clean. The staff were very friendly and the lady who served us was particularly helpful. We got a nice big pot of tea then a selection of sandwiches, quiche and cakes. We have been to various places for afternoon tea but this has got to be one of the best.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    77
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
52
119
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

stayed 15th march for one night via travelzoo in a club room and all i can say is WOW the room had every mod con from a nescafe coffee pod machine to popcorn,well worth the small upgrade.the room was spotless and the bed was sooooo comfy.i must mention ALL the staff we encountered to be extremely polite and efficient always smiling and really do seem to enjoy being there.the meal in the restaurant we thought was quite expensive for what you got (we had £50 to spend with our offer) the food was ok but nothing special and found the portions a bit on the small side.Breakfast the next morning was really good plenty of choice and well presented.

Room Tip: club rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a great place, just when the tickled trout was getting tired the Samlesbury Hotel opens. Great relaxing bar area and great food... They also have gift vouchers for Mothers day, staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I purchased a Living Social deal for champagne afternoon tea for 2 for £15. Today along with a dear friend we went along. I had rung up on Sunday to book and the staff on the phone wee verypleasant.
The hotel has had a complete refurb and face lift and is very well decorated- full marks to their interior designer.- everything works well together - soft furnishings, carpets etc.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were soon relaxing on a sofa sipping champagne, before the afternoon tea arrived. Presented very well, little stuffed pepers, mini sandwiches and a choice of cakes and scones and washed down with tea.
We were there about 2 and a half hours and were not made to feel unwelcome, and were invited to have a good look around the hotel - unfortunatley we didn't.
But what we did see, we were impressed and hope to return. I suspect they may take some of the custom of "Ladies who lunch" away from Huntleys and The Sanctuary which are in the vicinity.
Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just felt that I needed to write a review on the restaurant at the Samlesbury Hotel. The décor is extremely well done, contemporary in design with lovely tableware. We were party of seventeen, and the food was excellent with an extensive menu. The presentation was excellent and to get 17 main courses out all at the same time was a big ask. The staff were extremely well trained but Katherine was exceptional in her approach to customer satisfaction she really made us feel like she wanted us to have a great time. So many restaurants these days have young untrained staff but that is certainly not the case at the Samlesbury Hotel. The refurbished hotels hasn't been opened that long and their attention to detail and customer service is exceptional. Keep up the good work and I wish the Hotel every success in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just back from a lovely night away at this hotel. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the bed enormous and so comfortable. The interior designers whoever they were are to be congratulated, the hotel is stunning. We had a lovely meal and can say we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Illingworth, General Manager at Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear sun_worshipper00,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your recent visit. We are very proud of our staff and it is always lovely to receive such wonderful comments as yours. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly recognised.

Thanks again.

Mark Illingworth
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are wondering what happened to the Swallow Hotel in Samlesbury Preston this is now called the Samlesbury Hotel. If you enjoyed the many christmas's 23rd to 27th December as my group did you will be hoping it is going to be as good as it was as the Swallow. I am going to pay it a visit shortly to check it out and I will give my report.
Lets hope it will be as good.
B. Garratt

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samlesbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samlesbury Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samlesbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new 4-star hotel offers style and luxury, free WIFI and free car parking. Located just off junction 31 of the M6, the Samlesbury Hotel has easy access to Preston, Blackburn, Manchester, Liverpool, Blackpool & the Lake District. Each one of our beautifully designed 80 bedrooms feature a flat-screen smart TV with Freeview and an invigorating power shower. There is 24-hour room service available. Merchants Bar & Grill serves fine local cuisine and offers great-value seasonal dishes with a surprising twist. Pop in for a coffee break, meeting or morning tea. We offer a wide selection of drinks and cocktails in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Samlesbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samlesbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.