We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Djibouti, Djibouti
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Most excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Even before we arrived we were impressed with the attitude from this establishment. Due to illness we needed to change our arrangements and, despite booking conditions suggesting we may lose the booking we were pleasantly surprised when a simple date change was arranged.

We arrived on a wet Friday night and, as soon as we walked in we were warmed by the greeting from the duty manager.

The hotel was clean, light and welcoming. Our room was warm and spacious and had everything that we needed and more.

The view from the room was tranquil, the perfect antidote to a busy week, overlooking the River Ribble, although the swans didn't visit while we were there.

We enjoyed a perfect evening meal served by friendly and efficient staff in the modern restaurant. The menu choice, while not extensive, catered for all tastes and the meals presented were cooked to perfection.

After a great nights sleep , in a comfortable and spacious bed, we awoke refreshed. Being a Saturday morning we were pleased to have learned that breakfast was served until 11.00am. We went down about 9.30am and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. It was good to not feel any pressure to hurry or be made to feel like we had to vacate the table. The food was plentiful and perfectly cooked.

The whole stay was perfect which is a result of great management and dedicated helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river (unless you hate water).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following a recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout, I was delighted that you had a great stay.

Should I be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    193
    99
    49
    31
See reviews for
142
185
14
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a very significant family event here recently. Organisation was superb, rooms for us and our visitors (lots of) were great, catering was really really good and all the staff looking after us were spot on. Over all it was very successful event and very good value. Perhaps it may appear odd to have this sort of major event in a hotel next to the M6 but the rooms inside could have been any other much more expensive location and it was hugely convenient for folk who had travelled, had the weather been better the photos on the deck and by the river would have been great - but way too wet and windy for those pictures. All in all, great job by the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Rooms have good double glazing but perhaps back top floor would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review on The Macdonald Tickled Trout, following your stay and experience at my hotel, I am very pleased that you enjoyed a significant family event and overall had an enjoyable time!

I have shared your comments with my team in particular our Food & Beverage teams and they are delighted.

I hope we can welcome you back to Macdonald Tickled Trout again very soon!

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here first about 5 years ago and were disappointed with the whole experience - not what we expected from a Macdonald hotel. However, we thought we'd give it another chance and were very pleasantly surprised. The main difference was the general attitude of the staff - welcoming, cheery and helpful. This applied to the Reception and also, importantly, in the Restaurant. The food was far better than we remembered and the accommodation was fine (although the room was rather hot).
We would now definitely recommend it for a short stay, just off the M6, and intend to return when heading in that direction

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent return stay to my hotel.

I was delighted that you had a great stay and I look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Should I be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked only 2 days prior to our trip & only because we were looking somewhere to break the long journey to Scotland. It was very good value & we were pleasantly surprised by the location, comfort of our room and the beautifully cooked breakfast - if you are a meat eater don't miss the Stornoway black pudding. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review on The Macdonald Tickled Trout, following your stay at my hotel, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

The Charles MacLeod Stornoway Black Pudding is a favourite of mine also!

I hope we can welcome you back to Macdonald Tickled Trout again very soon!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked only 2 days prior to our trip & only because we were looking somewhere to break the long journey to Scotland. It was very good value & we were pleasantly surprised by the location, comfort of our room and the beautifully cooked breakfast - if you are a meat eater don't miss the Stornoway black pudding. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review on The Macdonald Tickled Trout, following your stay at my hotel, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

The Charles MacLeod Stornoway Black Pudding is a favourite of mine also!

I hope we can welcome you back to Macdonald Tickled Trout again very soon!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay, whilst attending a wedding on site at the hotel. Firstly, i would like to say that first impressions of the hotel were fabulous. The interior of the reception and foyer area is beautiful and we all arrived for check-in in good spirits for the wedding. On checking in, we were told by the lady on reception that we had received a free complimentary upgrade from a standard double to an executive room, as they had mistakenly overbooked for the night of the wedding. We were obviously very pleased with this, and the lady on reception proceeded to explain that we were chosen for the upgrade as our reservation was made in a surname that had only been used once (in other words, if they upgrade a room under the surname SMITH, they have to upgrade all the rooms under the same surname, so as not to cause problems) This was fine by us, but not so fine with the multiple family members checking in around us!

We arrived at our room and were very impressed with the size and the decor. The bathroom was a very good size and the bed was huge! This bed later turned out to be the best nights sleep i have had in a hotel in a long while.

We then went into another family members room a bit closer to the stairwell, to wait until it was time to enter the wedding suite. Just before leaving, i proceeded to quickly use the bathroom. I closed the door, but did not lock the door. Upon trying to exit the bathroom, the door was stuck fast. Cue a mass panic, as i am stuck in the bathroom 10 minutes before the ceremony is due to start. The bathroom became stifling hot very, very quickly, as there were no windows to open and no aircon. After many failed attempts to open the door, trying the lock in every which way it would turn, the door was opened from the outside by a family member.

Now, a one time event would have been put down to bad luck. However, the whole "locked in the bathroom scenario" became somewhat of a recurrent theme throughout the entire stay. Multiple trips to reception were made, apparently the door was fixed.

Fab! You forget all about it. Until, later in the evening you return to your own room... surprise surprise, you're now stuck in this bathroom! On average, i personally was locked in a bathroom in a bedroom (from multiple rooms) around 6 or 7 times during a less than 24 hour stay. Now i am not stupid, i know how to unlock a bathroom door. What's even better is i wasn't even locking the doors to avoid it happening again. The receptionists were very apologetic and came to the room as soon as they could, but seeing as you only get one room key, you have to remove the key from the lights and leave the person in the bathroom in pitch black! Yes, you could ring reception, but we also tried this 3 or 4 times, to no answer.

We were told by staff to use a pen to insert into the lock from the outside so that the door could be opened. However, this meant you not only had to use your bathrooms in your own rooms in two's, you also had to carry a biro with you at all times JUST INCASE! haha. After speaking with other guests (who were becoming rather suspicious to our disappearances) we discovered that several other people were also having problems with the doors. Surely, if the locks are causing this much hassle you would just change them!? It's not ideal to have an adult locked in a bathroom, never mind a child or god forbid you were locked in and the fire alarm went off etc.



I have another gripe with the sit down meal as part of the wedding. We were sat on the table right next to the kitchen. The starters were brought out and we were the last to be served, no issue there, we all have to wait our turn. We had one child on our table and she was asked by a waitress whether she wanted the soup that was on the set wedding menu or if she would like an alternative. She asked for soup. The starters had been served and there were 4 people on our table who did not have a starter (inc. me) The look on the waitresses face said it all. She said our starters would take a further 10 minutes. After around 20 minutes we were brought a bowl of soup that was clearly not the soup stated on the set menu and different bread. Not a word was said by the waitress, as if we would not notice we were eating from a different menu! I queried what variety our soup was and why was it different to the rest of the room? The waitress said that the children had been given our four portions of soup and that they were not supposed to have had soup and so there was none left... i'm sorry, but the waitresses were clearly asking the children if they wanted soup and providing it, so how is this ours or the childrens fault? Nevertheless, we proceeded to eat the soup... oh wait, it's stone cold. The dish is hot, but the soup is cold, watery vegetable broth. By this point, we are well aware that we are holding the main meals up. I entered the kitchen and complained. The soup would take another 10 minutes to warm up. We told them to forget it and not hold the rest of the meal up. We were offered a complimentary drink for each person sat at the table, but to be honest, we all would've preferred the soup we actually sat down to eat! If you know you have a "x" amount of portions for "x" amount of adults, why are you deviating from the plan? This was further made apparent by guests who said "wasn't the soup lovely, we had 2 portions as we ate our childs portion too".... that's great.

Overall, the hotel is a beautiful building and the staff very helpful but it lacks common sense to be quite frank. We only stayed for one night and we've managed to pick up on faults that other guests may have really kicked up a fuss about... it's not good enough really, especially when you have a bride and a groom who have paid a good amount of money and don't need to be worrying about the service of the staff.

The staff were very apologetic about each error or fault but wouldn't it be better for everyone overall to put a step inbetween to avoid the errors in the first place?

Room Tip: Don't bother locking or even closing your bathroom door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review on Macdonald Tickled Trout, following your stay at my hotel.

We are grateful that you have taken the time to provide feedback on your experience and I was pleased to read that you found our recent renovations worthwhile. I have also fed back to my team your kind comments about them being helpful.

I appreciate that there were some problems with the last table served at the wedding during the first course and unfortunately this was the table you were seated on, please accept my apologies and I had hoped we had solved this on the day with the free drinks offered to the table as an apology.

We do not have regular issues with the bathroom doors; I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by this; this isn’t something that is frequently mentioned although as a precaution I have asked that all the rooms used by the wedding party are checked.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to Macdonald Tickled Trout again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Overall fantastic hotel. Would definitely recommend. Was cheaper than Premier and Holiday Inn but better quality. Even if you don't stay over night, I would go just for the steak in the restaurant. Amazing!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review on The Macdonald Tickled Trout, following your stay at my hotel, I am truly delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

Slightly concerned that we were cheaper than the Premier Inn and Holiday Inn on the specific date that you stayed as I would like to think we are much better than those hotels in both quality and service!

I am glad you enjoyed our steaks. All our beef is true to our Scottish heritage and comes from fully accredited Scottish Farms and supplied to us by Scotbeef, suppliers to the highest quality retailers in the country. The beef is then traditionally aged for a minimum of 21 days and hand cut by highly skilled butchers using time honoured techniques.

All of our hotels use the same supplier so you can be sure to enjoy a steak at any Macdonald Hotel!

I hope we can welcome you back to Macdonald Tickled Trout again very soon!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager

T: 0844 879 9053
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.