We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was invited to a Wedding at the Tickled Trout.The wedding was at 4 and check in was not until 3.The fact that they did not let us in our room early to get ready was appalling! Me and my family had Lunch, and it was quite expensive. My daughter and I had ordered the burger which was under cooked and laid on bread which had a cakey flavor. During the wedding reception, we ordered a lot of drinks due to having a big family. The drinks were so expensive, even for drinks such as a diet coke! The next day we had breakfast at the restaurant before leaving. There was very little staff around and the toast when it came out was cold. The stands where the muffins and fruit were, they were covered in ants. When the staff was notified about this they took the food away however did not replace it. The tables were small and fitting even a family of four around one was a tight squeeze. The room was cold when we first got in it and took a while to heat up as the heating was not on. However the beds in the room were comfortable and the rooms were nice and clean. The hotel was clean and staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    140
    80
    39
    29
See reviews for
103
138
10
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our room was lovely and spacious and bed very comfortable. However our stay ruined by very poor restaurant. Very little choice and very expensive. If husband had not already had a beer would have got in the car and had a drive round to find a nice pub

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed in MacDonald hotels before, I have never found them to be more than ok; this was an especially disappointing choice.

There are no gym/spa facilities (although I know that when I booked). On arrival at the bar my colleagues and I were told that half the menu was not available because of some technical problem in the cellar. In the restaurant we found most of the menu off; either because they had run out or, in case of the daily specials, hadn't been put on because a large party had disrupted the normal routine. Breakfast was equally tedious, we waited for nearly an hour before our tepid, over done, less than spectacular poached eggs arrived.

On top of all this my room was roasting but came with no climate control; I think I managed about 2 hours of sleep!

I'm going back to Preston next month and will not be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On first approach to this hotel it looks a little run down, but nothing a good lick of paint wouldn't put right, once in it takes you by surprise nice bright and airy reception, we got booked in smoothly and given our room on the 3rd floor very smart passages with plenty of lighting, our room was very smart and furnished pretty old worldly,which is keeping with the feel of the hotel, bathroom was newly refurbished with blak and white tiles, very clean and the bath shone, the bar area and dining room was very bright and newly refurbished and looked great, food although a little pricey was well presented and very tasty, with free parking and good friendly staff this is a hotel i would recommend highly for a niec base to take in the area,

Room Tip: when booking in request room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tickled Trout on Saturday 4th May having attended a wedding. The hotel was lovely and room really good. Cleanliness was excellent. Food excellent. The only downside was on our return from the wedding there was only one member of staff on covering reception, 24 hour bar and room service and having to set up rooms. Also said member of staff had to deal with some troublesome guests (not part of the wedding party). We all felt that this could have been a health and safety risk.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel looking out over the car park and did not hear or have any disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had chosen to stay a little out of Preston at this hotel very near the M6 so was hopeful of it not being too noisy .... it was not too noisy and yet less than 5 minutes from the junction! I had the lovely Laura book me in after a large party of gents and she offered me a "nice quiet room" which was just that - overlooking the river and at the back of the hotel;very nice.
I booked to eat in the restaurant being a lone traveller and there being little alternative nearby; the food was good but not sparkling and the method of getting "service" from the chef was to shout increasingly loudly until the waiters heard him!! It was quite amusing but there has to be a better way? The decor reminds me of another Scottish hotel chain at which I stay and is calm and pleasant. The bar overlooks the river and there is a lovely terrace (mind the midges) for outside drinks. The bar staff were very good, offering snacks with pre dinner drinks.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel especially in the area; good staff, close to Preston and the motorway, good food and good value.

Room Tip: roo.ms at the back overlook the river and this gives a pleasant aspect. I don't think they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are not local, but were up in Preston for the funeral of a good friend. The family chose the Tickled Trout for the reception, so they must have had good reports or visited before.

We didn't stay overnight or eat a meal in the restaurant. We just had a really nice buffet in a private room. The food was very good, plentiful and varied. Staff were polite and helpful with directions to toilets and the private room when we arrived.

The hotel is right on the motorway and next to a petrol station I think. This may be useful or annoying depending on your point of view. As a stranger it took two go's to get the correct exit off the island for the hotel entrance. Traffic was quite busy in that area at the time as you would expect.

Without paying for anything, or staying at the hotel I can't give a comment on value etc and many other areas. It did seem a nice place at the time. Other people we know have had positive experiences of it in the past.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston PR5 OUJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.