We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant

Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant
Wallett's Court Hotel, Dover Road | Westcliffe, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6EW, England
01304 852424
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $1 - $206
Cuisines: English, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A luxurious menu of modern British cuisine has made the restaurant within the ancient manor house hotel of Wallett's Court in Dover a sumptuous destination in its own right. Robust, inventive flavouring abounds, with accomplished and gutsy cooking producing dishes such as confit of sea bass with sticky port shallots and caramelised noisette potatoes or breast of Gressingham duck with ginger and spring onion rösti. There is a predominantly French wine list, with Sunday lunch and party menu options.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My daughter has just got married at Wallet's Court.The staff were brilliant and the surroundings are beautiful.The meal was excellent.We had a lovely time there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Set in very nice, idyllic grounds; a grand old house, a pretty garden and nice, rather fancy furnishings, the first impressions were excellent.

We were greeted by a very nice waitress before being led in to the dining room and taken to our table for sunday lunch.

It wasn't particularly busy, but we were placed very close to one of the only tables in use- penned in, almost, and it was a case of needing to resort hushed voices if we didn't want to be overheard.

The menu was rather basic- not including all of the dishes advertised on the website. As a vegetarian, I only had the choice of soup for my starter, and risotto for my main. Neither of which were particularly adventurous options, although they were perfectly nice.

The desserts too were not as espected, but pleasant enough. There wasn't anything wrong with the food- it was a perfectly good meal. However, was it a great meal? Was it worth £21.95 per person, for three courses?
No.

It was of no better quality than quite a few other restaurants in the vicinity which offer three course meals around the £16/£17, and for that reason I must give Wallet court three stars.

I'm glad I sampled the food, and I enjoyed my meal there. However, it is overpriced for what you receive; and there are better restauarants around for a similiar price tag.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely, historic surroundings, but not terribly good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had wanted to go to Wallet's Court for some time, and it is certainly a lovely building in beautiful surroundings.Having booked for a wedding anniversary meal when they were advertising the 'Winter Menu' on their website we were disappointed that the 'Spring Menu' seemed less interesting and varied; never mind, we thought, there are still several interesting dishes here. But on arrival, we found that the day menu was a shorter version, with fewer starters and desserts, and with one of the more interesting main courses and two of the starters replaced. In fact there were only 2 desserts (one cheese, at a supplement). However, to give full credit when we expressed disappointment that the 'Fig Soufflé' was missing we were immediately told that the chef could provide that if we wished; we did wish!

The starters we had were the nice - carrot & orange soup and Wood pigeon salad - if not particularly large. The mains were interesting - Slow roasted belly pork was very nice, but again small; Beetroot risotto was nicely produced and the traditional roast beef very copious, and perfectly nice (if a little red for my taste), but nothing any good carvery could not do.

The desserts were mixed - the Soufflé was delicious, but didn't taste of fig at all ('blood orange' - we thought?) and the chocolate tart wasn't a tart, but really just a (very rich & nice tasting) small chocolate ganache...! Strangely the rather boring sounding Yoghurt Mousse looked, as far as we could see from another table - to be both interestingly presented and pretty large!

All in all Wallet's Court is a very impressive building, where one can relax for a good break, but the choice in the menu is not great, and the value for money not wonderful. Maybe somewhere to impress a foreign friend or relative who likes to think of England as white washed walls and wooden beams?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wallett's court overnight in a spa package. Included in this was cream tea, dinner and breakfast. Our cream tea was very nice, the only recommendation I could offer is perhaps nicer crockery. We had lovely tea cups and saucers in our rooms, the type you would expect from Wallett's decor but at our cream tea the cups were average (very nit-picking but noticeable in such a beautifully decorated house) The scones were clearly home made and came out warm from the oven which was very nice. Dinner was unbelievably good, we felt very specially treated and sat downstairs for 2 hours contently being served and enjoying our food. We especially liked the extras given, besides the usual bread basket, there was an amuse-bouche and a complimentary mini-pudding. It was truly a first class dining experience and I have eaten in many nice restaurants. I can only suggest that they offer a wider range of vegetarian options, I was thinking of recommending the restaurant to a family member but worried, as a vegetarian, she would be very limited with just one option in the starter and main menu. The food was delicious and we left the dining room after a lovely day extremely satisfied. The service was of a high standard also. Breakfast the next morning was all you could ask from a good fry up. Excellent produce and very well cooked. We loved staying in the hotel generally but we especially satisfied with the excellent food and the wonderful atmosphere in the dining room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Been before , love the staff always very accommodating and genuinely nice people , third visit but disappointed with room as was one of outer rooms and a bit cold not the character of previous rooms but same price, if you book ask if you can stay in main building as its an old building full of antiques has real charm and nice ambience and Spa gym sauna facilities good , had evening meal in restaurant 2 courses 35.00 and love a good restaurant food was good but quite small portions and just felt as residents it was a bit expensive and they told us limited bookings as were fully booked but we ended up in a room with just two of us and 4 empty tables for the whole meal and dessert and I do like to be with my husband but would of been nice to be joined by other guests just for a bit of people watching and the service was very slow , the pork my husband had was beautifully cooked but seriously £28.00 for a main no extras and £7.00 for mini dessert I just felt a bit cheated as Londoners we ate at a Michelin star restaurant last week for slightly less, overall don't want to slag place off staff amazing location amazing, I just think they should take a step back and take on feedback so they can grow and improve

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallett's Court Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.