We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Save
You added St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
Reach Road | Nr. Dover, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in a bronze bungalow on a very cheap last minute deal. Really worried by the reviews, but it was fine, clean and no insects or ripped furniture.

Pools great, especially the fun sessions with floating platforms and rings. Staff friendly.

Very quiet - evenings silent; entertainments sounded truly appalling, but as no-one went (7 people when dh popped his head in at 10pm), noise not a problem. Site 80 percent privately owned so adds to quiet.

Beautiful local village; lovely beach.

Great value as long as you get a cheap deal.

Room Tip: Look online at park map and pick a bungalow away from a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our park. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the bungalows and also your comments mentioning facilities and staff. We do attempt to cater our entertainment for all ages, however I can appreciate that it is not always to everyone’s taste and I apologise for your experience on this occasion. We do hope to welcome you back to St Margaret’s Bay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    70
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
116
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed four nights in a bronze caravan as we had taken our dog. It was fine, nice and clean but i agree the earwigs were rife. The food in the restaurant was truly awful (The Thai red curry was green and looked like frog spawn - my mother in law said was inedible)- we compained and got a refund but very grudgingly.
The entertainmnet was typical holiday camp stuff, I think the other reviewer was hard on paul who was pleasant and obviously worked hard. The kids joined in the games and karioke and had a great time. We would go again - it was cheap and cheerful in a nice place. Just avoid the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your holiday with us. Your comments regarding the cleanliness are much appreciated as this is something we pride ourselves on. I must apologise for your experience in the restaurant on this occasion, however am pleased we rectified the issue whilst you were on Park. I’d love for you to return to St Margarets Bay and hope that improvements we have made in the restaurant will allow us to reinstall your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Pleasant site, good location for visiting area.

Chalet accomotation we had was poor (caravans may be better) scuffed furniture, rips in upholstery, stained floors - generally a bit tired.

Local St Margarets pubs expensive, there's a more reasonably priced Brewers Fayre on the road out of Dover.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and my apologies for the delayed reply. You will be pleased to know that we’ve completed refurbishment programmes and are just going in to another one at this time. I believe if you decided to return in the future you would be pleasantly surprised with the effort and money that has gone into bringing the bungalows up to a good standard. I apologise that we didn’t live up to expectations last time around and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our caravan was so called 'gold' was dirty, not all the beds were made on arrival, one of our sets of keys weren't ready on arrival at 2.30pm when check in was from 1.30pm. Restaurant had the slowest service ever waiting time sometimes an hour for fozen food to be chucked into a fryer and don't get me started on the entertainment... Paul the entertainments manager who quite cleared hated his job was rude to the children and made fun of them on stage which is incredibly unfair for a nervous child. Normally the entertainers are really happy and this lot weren't which ruined the atmosphere for me. Although the pool was ok although the large pool was often too cold. Even though the park was awful the loevly days out made up for it and will definatly go back to kent but never to st margarets bay park resort!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Holly and thank you for taking the time to write this review, although for me it isn’t a good read. I’d like to apologise for your experience on this occasion and reassure you about some of the issues you have raised. Since your visit in 2011 we had a fantastic entertainment team join us for the 2012 season and have received some great feedback from holidaymakers about the pure passion and enthusiasm of the team, and we are hoping they return for this coming season. Reading your review I just hope that at the time of your visit that you expressed your complaints to the team, as we pride ourselves on rectifying issues when they occur. I apologise if you felt that your holiday wasn’t enjoyable and although you state you would come back to Kent but not the holiday park I urge you to re-visit us so that you can see how far we have come on in the past years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This resort rates itself as 4 star (possibly by poor British standards). It is not. The Silver level bungalow we stayed in, was at best only 3 stars. Accommodation was very dated and fixtures were very worn. Bath panel had a large crack in it, kitchen bench and cupboards very worn, and linoleum on kitchen floor had several tears in it. Pillows were so thin, I had to double mine over to get even a normal level of head support (and I like a thin pillow!) Didn't dare to open any of the main windows after trying to open one, whereupon some of the rotting framework disgorged several bugs. Despite the used and dated condition of the bungalow, it was neat and tidy. The pool facility was good and staff very friendly. We had a pleasant enough stay, but just wish british hospitality industry could be a little more honest with their rating system, and better at maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our park. I am sorry to hear that your holiday did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Since this date you will be pleased to hear that we have completed a refurbishment programme and windows and doors have been high priority for us along with the décor, fixtures and fittings in the bungalows. I just hope maybe you will revisit at some point to see the improvement over the past years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed with my wife for 4 nights in what was described as a "silver" standard caravan followed by one night in the on-site "hotel". The caravan was adequately equipped for our needs, clean and comfortable. The park grounds are well maintained and there is a leisure club with pool and gym, along with facilities for children. The local schools had not broken up for the summer so the park was generally quiet. There were a number of owner occupied chalets and caravans, many with well tended garden areas.
The restaurant and bar areas are fairly compact and the food menu was "Beefeater" style, all reasonably priced.

The "hotel" is a travel lodge style building adjacent to Reception. We stayed on the first floor, which has recently been refurbished. Our room was excellent, better than many 4* city hotel rooms we have stayed in. The only negative was the shower which was no better than a light drizzle! The receptionist admitted that there is a problem with water pressure.

The local coastline walks are fantastic with great views across the channel. St Margaret's Bay is pleasant and the nearby towns of Deal, Sandwich and Broadstairs are well worth a visit. Avoid Dover (apart from the castle) and Ramsgate!

The insects referred to by another reviewer are earwigs! We too had a number in the caravan to keep us company.















our needs, comfortable and clean. The grounds are well mainatained and there is a leisure

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Gary and thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your nice comments regarding your holiday at St. Margaret’s Bay. We are very fortunate to be set in such beautiful surroundings and I am glad you took advantage of this. In regards to the stay in our St Margaret’s Bay Inn you will be pleased to know that the problems with the water pressure has been rectified and each shower has its own pump to increase the pressure. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We've stayed here in the past and been reasonably happy with the accommodation but we stayed for 2 weeks at the start of July in a bronze 2 bedroom chalet which was constantly overrrun by little black crawly things like a cross between a centipede and a beetle that could crawl up walls etc... particularly in one of the bedrooms, so much so that we had to check the bed and curtains before settling for the night, Finallly we looked at the outside of the chalet and at the corner of said bedroom window it was swarming with them, the window frames were rotten so I guess the damp was attracting them.
Thankfully we spent most of the time out of the chalet (2 days in London, 3 days in Disneyland Paris) but the resort's attitude was to dismiss it, guess they were fully booked due to the golf Open as we could only get a bronze despite booking away back at the beginning of 2011 but I had assumed even the bronze would have been of better standard than this. But if you ARE booked to stay here and looking for somewhere to eat you can't do better than The Hope Inn up in the village, lovely meals and excellent service, better than the restaurant in the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, Manager at St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and although it was some time ago we apologise that on this occasion we didn’t live up to our usual high standards. We pride ourselves on being able to rectify issues whilst a guest is still on park and reading this not only have we let you down we have let ourselves down. Having said this we have invested in new windows for the bungalows. You were correct when you said about being fully booked at this time, however this is no excuse, I do hope that in the future you would come back to St Margaret’s Bay for us to demonstrate our usual high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Reach Road | Nr. Dover, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
St Margaret`s Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel St Margaret`s At Cliffe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.