We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Cliffs Hotel to your Saves list
White Cliffs Hotel
High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed in the Gull room, last weekend, it was really lovely. The food was excellent, the Romney Marsh lamb and the breakfast was all local food and very well cooked.
The hotel itself looks really nice, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
I would suggest you bring your own hairdryer though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
47
97
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I took my husband away for a night as a treat for his birthday and we weren't disappointed. The room was lovely and clean, the staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was fantastic (particularly the chocolate brownie!!). I would definitely stay again. The only slight disappointment was that our bed sloped slightly due to the floor, which wasn't the comfiest night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed in the Loft Room with 5 of my friends, we were celebrating my forthcoming marriage and we had a fantastic time.
From start to finish the staff were great, friendly and very helpful.
It was also great value for money.
The room itself was very spaciuos, bed comfortable and facilities top notch.
A good time was had by all and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food alone is enough reason to stay at this hotel. Just phenomenal. We stayed in the main house this time (as opposed to the outdoor Lighthouse room last time) and it was a fair bit noisier, not helped by the fact we had a family with young children who were running around in the room above us from very early on the Sunday morning, but this is to be expected with an old property. The staff, yet again, went above and beyond and were very knowledgeable and helpful when we asked the questions about where the food was sourced etc. After a 7.5 mile walk along the cliffs and back (!!) we were greeted with a piping hot glass of mulled wine and a slab of ginger and cinnamon cake-lush, then retreated for an afternoon nap in our room. This really is an understated, chilled out little gem of a place. Heading back there next week as my fiance is craving their steak & salted caramel ice-cream!!!

Room Tip: The lighthouse is perfect if youre travelling with dogs as it opens out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again. Rooms are lovely, food is great, staff are so friendly, professional and efficient. This place has such a good vibe and atmosphere. The country coastal village location is beautiful, only a few miles from Dover port and so easy to find. I wish we had had more time to be able to take the short walk to the beach, which is the subject of much of the excellent artwork displayed in the restaurant. Next time hopefully! Having stayed both times travelling to France, this stopover was where our break began. I would certainly go back for a weekend break and intend to do so. The fish we ate for our evening meal was piping hot, super fresh and simply delicious. All in all, a great place to stay where we were very well looked after and had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfasts are very good also. Looking forward very much to next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerisé
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for the second time on our way back to France, such a useful stopover before catching the ferry from Dover and dog friendly too. We asked for the same room as it opens onto the garden and it is easy to take our dogs out without disturbing other guests. Comfortable bed and linen, very friendly staff and easy access to good walks (although the weather was terrible this time and so walking was not really an option) Breakfast was good for us as we don't like a full English, plenty of choice on the buffet and cooked breakfast optional with a supplement for those who do.We had a deal for d, b & b, not the cheapest stay of our trip but convenient on all counts.We were able to choose from the main menu to the value of the deal and were not restricted to the special menu. We would definately stay again. One small point was that we arrived early, and as the hotel was almost empty, it would have been nice to be able to access our room a little early (asssuming of course that it had been cleaned and that it had been unoccupied that day, possibly so....)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Interesting 3 star hotel - rooms are in different locations/buildings in the hotel grounds - hopeless in bad wheather - the main bar/dining area is pub like and friendly - the menu never changed and we got fed up with it after a couple of days [the special of the day never changed 'crab linguini] but the young waiting staff did a good job.
The location is poor - 3 miles to the 'white cliffs' and beach.
They offer all inclusive deals [dinner, bed, breakfast] what the don't tell you is that the special menu available for this deal is an insult and you will end up buying of the main menu. Also breakfast is the same continental only - want anything cooked - you pay!
All in all the location and all inclusive con means you should probably give it a miss

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walletts, Manager at White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
If you check our location you'll see we are less than one mile from the magnificent cliffs and beautiful beach, not three miles as stated in this review. There is the lovely National Trust White Cliffs Visitor Centre three miles towards Dover Castle which is well worth a visit though. We do not offer "All Inclusive" packages. We do however offer special Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rates and clearly state on our website, on written email confirmations, on registration forms and menus what these packages include. Check our website for Special Offers all year around. We have a seasonally changing menu with a choice of around ten main courses always available as well as a Catch of The Bay (In stormy weather and this can be limited as the boats don't go out from nearby Deal, also don't expect fishermen to go out on Christmas Day or Boxing Day;-). We always ask our guest to check their bill so this one piece of advice you can trust. We always react to and welcome honest feedback. Please keep it real you lovely people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Cliffs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.