We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Cycling Stop Off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Yard Cafe

Hope Yard Cafe
49 Micklegate, Selby, England
44 7904 461176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Selby
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy Cycling Stop Off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a warm friendly welcome at this excellent cafe. Can fully recomend it to any cyclists looking for a lovely cuppa and cake!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at Hope Yard Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Moz, thanks for the feedback. Good luck with the Selby Three Swans Sportive - we're hoping that next year we can arrange things to be able to open on the Sunday but hopefully you'll be back in Selby before that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent cafe in Selby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We would like to recommend the Hope Yard Cafe in Selby. Gillian and the team could not be more friendly, helpful and efficient. The food is delicious and coffee excellent.
The decor is bright and cheerful.
All in all a perfect place to stop and recharge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at Hope Yard Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the review Chris, glad you enjoyed it. Gillian and the team hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“very, very ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

First time visit to Selby, so looked up some places to eat and following Tripadvisor up came Hope Yard Cafe.
We had a walk around the Abbey, coffee shop in there, that didn't ring any bells, we then walked on to the main street and the fist turning was a pedestrianised street that looked hopeful for a snack.
The first cafe we came to was full to bursting (must be good but don't know its name) so carried on and came across Hope Yard Cafe, so in we went,plenty of seats, went to the counter, ordered 2 coffees & 2 pieces of fruit cake, I was sharply told there were other orders in front of mine.
Did not have to wait to long, I had a decaf late (tasteless) my partner had an ordinary late, (also tasteless) but to be fare the fruit cake was nice & moist even if it did come with large dinner forks.
The place itself was very lifeless, by this time it was most peoples lunchtime, we had a walk around looking for somewher to lunch maybe a couple of hours later, Mr P's Fish & Chip Cafe was just up the road, totally empty(that was saying not good) in fact Selby Town Centre seemed quite boring for somewhere to eat, so we dropped down to Doncaster where there are loads of great eateries and great shopping to match.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at Hope Yard Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to us, we do obviously try to please everyone so it's useful to know where you feel we fall short of your expectations so we can improve.

Please accept our apologies if you felt we were sharp with you, we try and give people an idea of waiting times as they are often in a hurry and expect their order to be prepared quicker than is sometimes possible even when we are quiet. It's never our intention to be abrupt with customers and I'm sorry if we were on this occasion. We put a lot of effort into providing good customer service and a pleasant atmosphere, obviously this time we've not performed as well as we would normally expect to.

It's a shame you didn't let us know that you felt your latte's were tasteless at the time as we'd have been more than happy to remake a stronger one for you both. Our regular customers generally do like their latte quite mild (with quite a number specifically asking for a single shot rather than our standard double). We often find the customers that like something stronger tend to opt for a cappuccino but, as I say, we'll make anything specific upon request.

Once again thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for cyclists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were cycling the York - Selby Sustrans cycle path part of the Trans Pennine Trail. Arrived in Selby for lunch and found Hope yard Café by chance after looking at a lot poor quality eating places . Gillian came out to us and took our bikes in to the back yard for safety. She is into cycling herself. Modern up to date café , very good food service and surroundings and homemade cakes. I lost a part off my bike and she was most helpful in getting it back to me .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at Hope Yard Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again sometime soon...hopefully with a complete bike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

boring menu
over priced
Not half the café it used to be.
There are lots of cafes in Selby don't go to this one

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at Hope Yard Cafe, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to provide feedback to us, it's always appreciated whether good or bad and we're sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit to Hope Yard.

We regularly compare our prices to other cafes and bars in the Selby area and know that what we charge is similar to, and in some cases less than, our competitors. We try wherever possible to use the best ingredients available rather than just the cheapest option and believe we offer excellent value-for-money for the very high-quality food and drink we provide.

We often have different specials on offer in order to avoid things getting "boring". Our range of cakes and soups change very regularly and we are continually adding new products which we think our customers will enjoy.

It's disappointing that you believe we're not as good as we used to be. The cafe was completely redecorated earlier this year to provide a more pleasant environment and our staff always try their hardest to maintain a consistently high standard of food, drinks and service. If there is any specific area where you feel we are under-performing please feel free to come in and discuss it with us.

Again, thank-you for your feedback and we wish you well for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hope Yard Cafe also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Selby, North Yorkshire
Selby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hope Yard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Yard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.