We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Bayview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel

The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel
2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
+44 (0)28 2073 4100
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dinner at Bayview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had some friends over .. Hake was good as was the chicken satay was very good also. Very good service and nice house Merlot. Did not get the bums rush either after we finished our meal.. Very good

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest, WoW, thank you so much for your kind and positive comments about your experience at the Porthole Bayview Hotel, we are all delighted that you enjoyed everything.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again some time soon,
Kind Regards
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view of a stormy sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Been before and had to go back for the Rare Antrim Beef Salad. Once again it was simply delicious and the view of the stormy sea was very elemental. Good wine list and staff were extremely friendly. Will certainly go back on my next trip up the Coast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear LisaLoverofItaly, it was so kind of you to take time and compose such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at the Porthole Bayview Hotel, we are truly grateful.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again some time soon,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview, Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch by the sea "bayview"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have passed this hotel many times but never went in till today, and am i glad i did. We had lunch my wife and daughter and I. We went for the special " Hake with pasta parma ham in a cream sauce" Superb. I have eaten in many fish restaurants all over Europe and todays meal would be the best.
The restaurant its self is superbly decorated has fantastic sea views and the staff were lovely, 10 out of 10

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Robbiemcgoo, WoW, thank you so much for taking time to compose such a wonderful review and post on TA about your experience at Bayview, we are all delighted that you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again some soon, have a fantastic New Year Celebration,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview Hotel Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had wonderful fresh mussels and lovely main dishes. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. We will definitely return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Alice V, thank you so much for taking time to compose a very favourable review and post on TA about your experience at the Porthole, Bayview Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @Bayview Hotel Portballintrae N. Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Super lunch !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff here are so friendly, they can't do enough for you. I had lunch there on a Wednesday. We were placed at a table beside the window and the view across the sea is beautiful. Soft piano music was playing in the background which made the atmosphere very relaxing. I ordered the steak and Guinness pie which was full of large chunks of tender steak (no fat), baby mushrooms and onions in a rich beefy gravy (the Guinness wasn't overpowering). The pie was topped with piece of puff pastry. My side order was hand cut chips which were very tasty indeed. Others in my party had fish and chips, chicken club sandwich and steak sandwich, all looked delicious. Desserts were as good as the main, a choice of banoffee, Baileys cheesecake, cheese board, apple and berry crumble with custard, berry meringue, butterscotch fudge sundae, chocolate pudding with a jug of chocolate sauce. I noticed other guests just having coffee and scones, the scones are large and are served with jam and cream. I would highly recommend The Porthole for lunch or coffee and scones. I will definitely be back for the steak and Guinness pie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorkane01, Owner at The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Bobby911, WoW, we are all so delighted to receive such a wonderful review on TA from you, thank you so much for taking time to compose. It is great to know that you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed lunch and being seated at one of the panoramic windows, viewing over Portballintrae Bay.
I am sure that anyone who reads your wonderful review will feel instantly famished and want to sample dishes from our menus!
Have many more enjoyable trips to the North Coast,

Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team @ Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porthole at the Bayview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.