We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in the Spanish countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Save
You added Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in the Spanish countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We only stayed at Fountainhead for two nights but we felt really at home there. The suite we had was really nicely laid out and had everything we might have wanted. The bed was large and comfortable, the shower powerful enough (poor water pressure is a real bugbear of mine). The only issue with the suite was the step down to get out of the bath but then I had just had an operation so may have been less agile than I should have been, but this could still be a problem for elderly visitors.

Breakfast was a delight as Angus (the owners' son) brought a basket of warm homemade croisants etc. to the room, to go with the homemade jam, orange juice, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses that the fridge was freely stocked with. Any more of anything wanted and it was delivered with speed and pleasure. We ate at the on-site restaurant on both nights and the food was really good, the choice was a little restricted but then this is a small family run hotel restaurant and the quality of the cooking more than compenesated.

The hotel is in an interesting area and they provide route maps if you want to go siteseeing, we followed two of their routes, one around the nearby lake and one through the nearby mountains with lunch in Periana. The road to and from the hotel is unmade but to my mind is fine for all but the most nervous driver.

Fountainhead was a really lovely place to spend a few days and we wish we'd stayed a few more days here. Hopefully we will return before too long.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great restaurant in fantastic surroundings, a real sense of privacy in the bespoke suites. Very accomplished food using local produce alongside a range of terrific wines. The ultimate venue to wind down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I spent there the first days of our honeymoon and it was amazing.
The food was great thanks to Helen she's a great chef.
The suite was clean.
The service was very good.
And I can't forget peter the owner of the retreat he's a very nice and hospitable person.
And above all the privacy was at its best.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 6 nights at wonderful Fountainhead in early October and this were one of the most relaxing holidays we ever had. Setting, food and hospitality were just great and the view from our terrace couldn't be topped. The resort is not far from Malaga airport and some of the most beautiful spots in Andalucia are easily reachable too. Thanks to Helen, Peter and family for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I treated ourselves to one night away from the little one whilst holidaying with family in nearby benalmadena.

Everything about the place is amazing! We walked the 7km to the village which was beautiful even if it was a little tiring!

On our return a skinny dip in the plunge pool cooled us off :-) before relaxing in the jacuzzi bath admiring the view with a bottle of champagne!

The food was the best we've ever eaten and would definitely live to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This small boutique retreat is tucked away in the mountains. We got a warm welcome by the owner. Britisch and so is his humor, we loved it. They have 4 rooms each with their own style, own terrace and plunge pool. We stayed in The oriental room. The 2 top end are slightly bigger. On arrival you have a fully packed fridge and in the morning your breakfast is served to your room. The hotel is fully ecological, so there are fans but no airco in the rooms, which we found perfect. The dinner is served in the restaurant a little bit up the mountain. The food is magnificent and cooked by th owner 's wife who wrote a great cookbook. The owner Peter has great taste for wines and we were impressed by his winelist. If you are looking for a secluded place, with amazing views, good food and wines Fountainhead is The place to be. You need a car to get there and we dropped out to visit Málaga (30 km) and Marbella (80 km). Thanks for a lovely stay and hugs and a good life for the little stray cat ;-)

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bigger with bigger terracesmand bigger plune pools. The corner one at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As good as last year

This is our second annual visit to Fountainhead and I have just booked for next year.

This time we booked the half board package which is unbelievable value.

I did an extensive review after our first visit so will not labour any points, to summarise:

Lovely accommodation with fantastic views.

Great service provided by the entire family. Peter does front of house and for this year has moved on from the ageing family retainer impression to perfecting the flashing eyes and smile of Antonio Banderas and the sense of humour of Peter Cook.

Helen, the chef what can I say? Apart from she is brilliant and very strong in all courses. We loved the Bream cooked in a salt crust, awesome especially as it was married with waxy boiled potatoes which works perfectly. A fantastic match of sophistication and simplicity and very very Spanish.

Every other dish served during our week's stay was excellent.

Some highlights, Strawberries with a Lavender Parfait, Langoustine Broth, Swordfish on Polenta, really good aged Spanish Fillet Steak on a Horseradish Mash, and I even had a starter for dessert, Lebanese Meatballs!

Peter takes his wines very seriously but not in a pompous way, he just really knows his stuff. He even found a bottle of pink champagne which was one of the best we had tasted. It is actually difficult to buy an expensive wine from the list as all a good quality reasonably priced.

How good is the restaurant? Having done a few Michelin Star restaurants I would say that the experience is worthy of Michelin recognition. It certainly beats a number of single star restaurants we have eaten in.

We are very much looking forward to going again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

Address: Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Riogordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountainhead is an infinitely romantic, ultra cool hotel and Restaurant located in wild and beautiful country inland from Malaga. An all suite hotel which moves away from the minimalist and slick to an eccentric mix of film set, luxurious glamour and rustic charm. Each suite is private with garden terrace, plunge pool and mountain view. Fountainhead life is simple - forget the technology for a while. The emphasis being relaxation, nature and great modern cooking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.