We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel
Save
You added Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was in Andalucia for several business trips over the last six to nine months and ate at Fountainhead restaurant on three occasions. Each visit produced a meal to remember. The food is full of flavour, extremely well balanced and thought through. Mine host was friendly and presided over an excellent wine list which he was more than happy to discuss. What with the great views they were evenings to savour.

Next time I'll make sure I get a room to stay in as well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've never stayed in the hotel but the restaurant is simply stunning. I have eaten here several times and it never fails to impress. If your looking for a menu that offers a diverse taste this is for you! Geranium sorbet with summer fruit pudding is just one of the desserts with such an amazing flavour that will always stay with me. From the moment you arrive, Peter is there with a friendly smile and a great knowledge to offer regarding the wine list. I've never had the opportunity to meet the chef (his wife) but in my opinion she is a genius in the kitchen! If your in the area you have to visit - and the views are amazing too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fountainhead came recommended by friends as a perfect 'away from it all' unusually relaxing experience. We were not disappointed! Yes, Peter was waiting to welcome us as we arrived. Yes he tasted our wine at dinner and Yes we never saw Helen (his partner and cook) at all, and Yes the 2km drive along the track was indeed rough but our Panda made it no problem! All these things are part of Fountainhead and we enjoyed it all. (Except for not meeting excellent chef Helen as she has written a cookery book which I would have bought if I could have actually met her...oh dear). We stayed in the Sultan Suite and had a huge deck with views to die for. Luckily the weather was fab for the 2 days we stayed. The walk down to the river through almond and olive groves to Rio Gordo is recommended. We joined a shepherd herding his goats and he showed us the back way to the village where we had a beer in the bar by the school. The other highlight is the food which is superb. Even with our own fully stocked fridge in the suite we managed a 3 course meal in the evening with good wine and brandy. When we left our batteries were recharged and we set off on the rest of our visit to Andalusia. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day to sample the Arizona suite!

Room Tip: The Sultan and Arizona suites have larger terraces and are at each end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from Fountainhead, and i can confirm in my opinion it's fantastic, Peter is a great host and Helen is a culinary genius. They really did go out of their way to make the stay as good as possible.
While the track up is a little more off road its no problem and I've been on worse roads in the UK. The rooms are really ideal and offer a great deal of privacy and have been well thought out. Peter is also a great front of house and knows his wine and I'm not going to begrudge anyone having a little snifter on occasion, especially considering the hospitality.

I would certainly go again and would recommend it to anyone, but you will need your own transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Fountainhead for three nights as part of our honeymoon. The track up to the Fountainhead was pretty daunting, but once we arrived we had a fabulous time.

The Arizona suite was perfect for us, we really enjoyed our three days of relaxation. The evening meals were fantastic and the choice of wines recommended to us were perfect. We have expanded our grape variety, although they are slightly more difficult to find in England we had no problems throughout the remainder of our honeymoon - the Verdejo grape now a particular favourite!

The decoration and furnishings are warm - we felt like we were in the Caribbean and you have everything you need for a relaxing stay. The kitchen was surprisingly well equipped for its size.

One problem we had, no fault of the Fountainhead, but it did cause some stress was on the third day we were inundated with wasps which meant we could not use the plunge pool or sunbathe for the remainder of our stay - I suppose this is a pitfall of being in the mountains!

However, we spent some time reading and just generally relaxing, the huge jacuzzi bath was lovely. The sunsets were pretty amazing and we have excellent memories.

One point I would like to make is that unless you are used to driving around rural Spain, we are not, you may find the track pretty scary. However, if you use caution and are careful it is fine. We saw guests coming for evening meals - although I don't think we would like to try the track in the dark.

If we were looking for a relaxing retreat, away from everything, we would definitely stay at the Fountainhead again.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Arizona suite which has the largest terrace but all four suites seemed to have ampl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food is superb but the owner has the most annoying habit of helping himself to your wine.

This has happened twice now, order an expensive bottle and he will make some excuse about trying it. Worst still, he takes the bottle away and returns with it (or something else?) decanted into a carafe.

I know others, where he hasn't even asked, just helped himself.

It's enough to have put off at least 4 other couples I know that won't go back.

Shame, because the food is very good and the kids do their best in serving.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I (late 20's) stayed here after we got married in Nerja in Sept 2012. It's approximately 30 - 40 mins drive from Malaga Airport and is really easy to find.

The drive off the main road to the hotel is an experience in itself. An exciting adventure up a dusty, bumpy track for approximately 1.5km. We had a small hatchback car and managed it no problem. There's no need for a 4x4.

As we approached the hotel we could see Peter waiting to welcome us at the car park area. His warm and relaxed manner set the tone for our next 3 days - RELAXATION! Peter led us to our suite, just 50/60 metres from the car park and showed us around.

The suite was everything we could ask for and more. We stayed in the Oriental suite. A few steps up to the suite from the path and we were on the spacious and extremely nice deck area which had a number of sun loungers, table and chairs and a plunge pool which we used repeatedly in the hot sun daily.

Inside our suite was lovely. The kitchen / living room area was nicely sized for the two of us with a small table for dining and some comfy chairs for relaxing on at night time. Our bedroom was fantastic, a huge four poster bed with really nice ensuite and a shower with a view to die for - overlooking miles of the wonderful valley below the hotel looking back towards Riogordo.

The suite is designed in such a way that no matter where you are - you are looking across the vast valley towards the village. It's a treasure. A pair of binoculars (provided in the suite) were required to view the nearest road.

At 9am a knock on the door meant a fresh delivery of breads and croissants for us to enjoy for breakfast.

Each evening we headed up to the restaurant where again we were met by Peter. He proved a wonderful host. Peter's wife, Helen is the chef.

The three evening meals and the Tapas we had for lunch one of the days was the best food we have ever eaten. Absolutely incredible. We spent our days working our way through the menu and even now speak of how much we look forward to returning if only just to eat there again!

Our days we filled with reading and lying in the sun and pool. We also went for a number of walks on some of the many paths surrounding the hotel and leading down into the valley. I'd advise going early if you intend walking as it gets extremely hot in the midday / early afternoon sun.

I could go on.... Fountainhead is a brilliant brilliant retreat hotel. The perfect place to unwind and relax and get away from everything for a few days. We stayed for 3 nights which we found perfect and then headed to Cordoba (thanks to Peter's recommendation).

We can't wait to go back at some time in the future. Worth every penny. If you want to get away for a few days, you will not regret visiting Fountainhead!

Thanks Peter & Family!

Room Tip: We only saw our suite but I'm sure they are al equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel

Address: Partido del Rio el Terral | Fuente La Camacha, 29180 Riogordo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Riogordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountainhead is an infinitely romantic, ultra cool hotel and Restaurant located in wild and beautiful country inland from Malaga. An all suite hotel which moves away from the minimalist and slick to an eccentric mix of film set, luxurious glamour and rustic charm. Each suite is private with garden terrace, plunge pool and mountain view. Fountainhead life is simple - forget the technology for a while. The emphasis being relaxation, nature and great modern cooking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountainhead All Suite Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.