We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shawlands Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shawlands Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shawlands Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larkhall
Northern England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have started to book The Shawlands Park Hotel whenever I am in Scotland on business - even if it sometimes means having to travel a little further before / after meetings.

The quality of the hotel is very good and the rooms are modern, bright, airey and scrupulously clean with excellent facilities and comfort.

The hotel staff are welcoming and efficient in every department.

The Restaurant is particularly good and the content and presentation of meals is better than at many higher rated establishments that I have visited - the hotel has obviously secured the services of a very gifted Head Chef. The menu is varied and is very good value for money with something to suit every taste.

Thanks to everyone at The Shawlands Park Hotel for providing great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and would visit again! I will pass on your lovely comments to out Head Chef Graham.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
31
80
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the Shawlands on an itison voucher for one night and it was great the staff could not be any better customer service it was brilliant a complimentary bottel of wine was in the room when we went in the reception staff was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any off the staff will be going back again and again

Room Tip: can only say just go you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and would visit again!

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A beautiful whilst modern; highly atmospheric and welcoming Hotel. The dining experience and menu choice and food presentation has to be up there with some of the best. An excellent dining experience with a less than pocket bursting bill; meal for 4 three courses with drinks under £120 with food of this quality has to be a winner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent visit to Shawlands Park Hotel fantastic to hear you enjoyed your evening meal in the Ash Grill Restaurant and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Graham.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our daughter Lynsey married Graeme at the hotel last Saturday. From beginning to end the whole day was completely awesome. The staff were excellent, the food served at the reception was exceptional and the day went off without a hitch. My wife and I also had the Harris Suite, which was the height of luxury. Anyone contemplating a special occasion look no further than this wonderful hotel. First class and many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making my daughters big day the best of her life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all of our guests.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent a lovely evening at this hotel on Thursday 26 September. It was very pleasant from start to finish. We upgraded to a suite and were given the Islay suite. Very spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed and seating area and also a balcony. The staff were very friendly and attentive but not overly so. Dinner and breakfast were very good and menu was extensive. We also managed to get a really decent red wine for £13 a bottle in the restaurant. This definitely will not be our last visit here. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel, Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. I am pleased to hear how you liked the ‘Islay Suite’ this really is a great room.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a luxury night stay in the Iona Suite, it was very spacious and tastefully decorated.
A lovely night stay for any celebration or just a night away from it all to chill out.

The food in the Ash Grill Restaurant was excellent, as was the service from all the very friendly
helpful staff.
We enjoyed a glass of wine and relaxing atmosphere in the open plan reception bar area.

The value for money " EXCELLENT "

Room Tip: Go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will pass on your kind comments to the team.

Kind Regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a family birthday dinner at the restaurant last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was beautifully presented and tasted amazing!
We have been to the restaurant many times over the past year and can see a huge change due to the change in management. The food is modern and most importantly very tasty. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a relaxing ambiance. Would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Shawlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Shawlands Park Hotel. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the Ash Grill Restaurant and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Graham.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shawlands Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawlands Park Hotel

Address: Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larkhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawlands Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shawlands Park Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shawlands Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawlands Park Hotel Larkhall, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawlands Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.