We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radstone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radstone Hotel to your Saves list
Radstone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent a great day at Shawlands Park celebrating my niece Danielle's marriage to Ian an amazing day was had by all.Meal was excellent service outstanding and our overnight stay with a lovely breakfast has to be recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel.

So nice to read such great feedback I am delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your meal.

Hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    81
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
98
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

sarah&joe`s wedding 10/05/2013 fantastic day thanks to neil,steven and all the staff great location food and accomodation for all our guest just apity they could`nt control the weather thanks again to all concerned for making it memorable day
Alex and Anna McCann( the brides parents)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and the team really do appreciate your kind words.

I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all of our guests.

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

lovely hotel with very friendly staff,the food is great and rooms are very clean,its very reasonably priced and would certainly stay here again.the only slight downpoint is that there's not a lot to do around the hotel(no shops or pubs within walking distance)but its ideal to stay here if you are working near Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel.

Hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you want a good hotel away from the bustle of the city yet within 30 minutes or so of it then I would recommend the Shawlands Park Hotel.Surrounded by very pleasant conntryside and well insulated from the noise of the fairly busy Ayr road it provides a very comfortable base from which to explore further afield.The bedrooms are comfortable and many have been recently refurbished.The lounge,the bar area and the restaurant are comfortable and well designed.Breakfast was good and the restaurant food was of good quality and sensibly priced.The level of service throughout the hotel was very high.I would certainly return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and would visit again!

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Shawlands Park Hotel, Lanark was just the place to visit for a few days break. Not to far away and easy to get too, but what a treat we had in store for us on our arrival, as sitting just off the M74 motorway was this beautifully designed hotel, with lovely landscaped flower beds and water garden.

The reception staff of Mhairi greeted us on our arrival and immediately made us feel extremely welcome. Within minutes, our check in was complete and we were shown to our room on the ground floor. I must say how wonderful the décor and design of the room furniture, with a hint of tartan to remind you that you were in Scotland. The designer had certainly excelled in their layout with comfort being the priority for the guests.

The views from most of the windows in the hotel were quite stunning with the variety of green fields and trees. As our dinner reservation time approached, there was just enough time for us to enjoy a relaxing drink from Stuart at the lounge bar, before heading to the Ash Grill restaurant and being shown to our ‘booth’ table by the Maitre D, Carol, who was an absolute gem of a girl, along with her very competent and polite dining staff off Rebecca & Kirstin. As it was, Rebecca served our meal which was freshly cooked and well presented. Coupled with the attentive staff, a very pleasant time was spent in the restaurant enjoying the food and the ambience of the place.

The following day, due to a slight unforeseen hiccup, we required to move rooms and were immediately upgraded to the Islay Suite, which was up there with any of the many hotels I have had the privilege to stay at. Once again, the layout / design and furnishings were well matched and like our previous room, the bed was just incredibly comfortable, so much so, it was a serious effort to get up and out of it in the morning in order to go for breakfast, which again, like the other food we had sampled, was first class, with not a hint of grease anywhere….’’how did they do it!’

If I have any complaint and I’ve tried hard to find one….It’s the probably the music played in the restaurant, which could be more relaxed style for dining!

That said, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few chilled out days away, with comfortable, extremely clean rooms, wonderful food cooked to perfection by the great chefs and the choice on the menu,was superb and at very competitive prices and most of all, a wonderful, polite attentive staff, who were so helpful and eager to please.

Without doubt, Mhari, Carol, Rebecca, Stuart Kirstin and Irene were just fantastic and a credit to the hotel . The asst Manager was a great he was very efficient and professional nothing was a problem Mhari was also the ultimate professional and a joy to deal with.

The Shawlands Park hotel for us was just great and I for one will not hesitate to book in again….Sooner rather than later………Thank You SPH for making my stay a thoroughly enjoyable one!.
10 out of 10 ...from me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, regarding the reception team and restaurant staff, the service which they extend exemplifies the standards which we aim to achieve here at Shawlands Park Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal in the Ash Grill and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Graham.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed and eaten in the restaurant on many occasions. I'm proud to say that the hotel features many 5 star attributes and is probably one of the best South Lanarkshire hotel and restaurants. The staff are friendly and understand all your needs, the food is especially high quality and I have no hesitation in recommending this place as a venue for weddings or other function or for a nice quiet break. They have a top of the range sound system and the function suite/s are great.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a fantastic review of Shawlands Park Hotel its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

I am delighted to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received and the team are extremely for such kind feedback.


Kind Regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's easy to see why this hotel gets such great reviews. It's just an excellent place for an overnight stay or more.

My partner and I took advantage of an Itison deal to have an overnight stay as we were guests at a wedding in the area. We were immediately taken with the quality of the hotel building and surrounding gardens. There was also ample parking. Check in was very smooth and the receptionist (Rachel) was extremely polite and friendly.

We went to the Ash Grill for lunch and the restaurant was tastefully decorated and modern. Again, service from Neil was great. Indeed, service from all staff throughout the hotel was great. The chilli nachos to start were tasty and we appreciated a jug of iced water without having to ask. If I was to be mega critical I'd have to say that the burger was not the best I've ever had leaving me wishing I'd made a different choice but I don't want to detract from my overall impression of the hotel.

We were able to put our case in the room before leaving for the wedding and were extremely impressed with the size, quality of shower room / toilet and view from the window. On our return from the wedding, we were able to have a quiet, uninterupted sleep in the very comfortable bed. We were not surprised to find that breakfast the following morning was plentiful, tasty and warm.

I know it seems as if I'm gushing about the hotel but it was truly a great experience and I would recommend the Shawlands Park Hotel to everyone. The hotel even offers special event entertainment which is by no means over-priced. It's safe to say that we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at Shawlands Park Hotel.

So nice to read such great feedback, I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all of our guests. The team at Shawlands Park really appreciate your kind words and we can't wait to have you back again soon!!

Kind regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radstone Hotel

Address: Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radstone Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radstone Hotel Larkhall, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.