We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at Shawlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radstone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radstone Hotel to your Saves list
Radstone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Shawlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I regularly stay in the area on business and thought I would try Shawlands as a change over the mainstream chains. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel – warm comfortable rooms, good wi-fi (room 35) and reasonably priced meals. I will definitely return to this friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, great rooms with additional seating area. First class bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
98
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I organised my sisters 60th Birthday at the Hotels tribute night on the 8th of March.When I booked it the staff at the reception were wonderful.There were 18 of us and the accomadation was superb high stadard.The evening night couldnt have been better the live band were terrific and made the night.The bar staff in particular the young boy Stewart couldnt be any more helpful.In the morning the breakfast was lovely all 18 of us will be back we loved the Hotel.

Room Tip: Reccomend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Shawlands Park Hotel for our wedding reception and what a fantastic day we had. The staff were incredible. Very helpful and did not put a foot wrong all night. The food was delicious and the rooms were beautiful. Every single one of our guests loved the venue, the food and the rooms and said they would visit again in the future. My new wife and I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone and hope to keep a happy relationship with the hotel going. They have created wonderful memories for us and will have a special spot in our hearts. Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnyScotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed March 9th for a wedding, the hotel was very smart, the welcome very good and the reception staff very efficient especally considering they were booking so many guests in. The room was tastefully decorated, and felt as though it had just been done [tell tale signs was the remains of sanding in corners of the bathroom] The food was very good and the drinks not too expensive. The breakfast was plentiful. Over all I would recommend the hotel as a weekend break or for a wedding. The only thing if I was being pickie was the room could have had the heating on for us arriving and also the person who vacuums could do a better job. I did hear other guests at the wedding say the ladies loos were very messy for most of the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having scoured sites such as groupon and 5pm.co.uk for decent deals on hotel breaks for me and my partner as a birthday treat we settled on the Shawlands Park hotel. Two nights. breakfast and dinners for both in an upgraded "suite". The Lewis suite.

We arrived at a fairly remote, modern building.. quick check in and we unlocked the door to a warm, inviting and comfortable looking suite. Modern bathroom, couple of flat screen tv's.. it was fine. ground floor at the back of the building looking onto the car park wasn't the greatest view but hey ho it wasn't that disappointing!!

The king sized bed was to die for.. REALLY comfortable and felt i was in it on my own. Breakfast was more than ample and decent variety.. we both plumped for full English, coffee, orange juice, croissant andc old meats etc.. we had our fill ;-) Dinner menu had variety.. and what we had was decent sized and delicious!!

All staff were pleasant and the ability to enjoy a fairly short drive to Edinburgh was a plus.

Couple of pointers that stuck in the palate was the hassle we had that on our departure the receptionist maintained we pay for our second nights stay.. despite it having already been paid for through groupon.. she/the hotel had no record of this.. was a bit of a pain and i'd just expect hassle free on departure, so had to pay and make some phone calls once i got home. Could have done without this!! The other pointer wasn't noticed till i got home.. on the bottom of the bill was the 2 cokes me and my partner got with our dinner meal on the first night.... wait for it...... £6.20 EACH for the cokes... that stuck in the palate!!!!!! Beware as the small things can make or break what was otherwise a perfect treat for us both.

All in all i would recommend here.. its peaceful and relaxing and certainly worth it on a deal...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

Firstly I would like to express my disappointment at the inconvenience you faced on check out, this should never have happened. I have been advised that the Reception Manager Angie called you the following morning to resolve this misdemeanor and I would like to thank you for your understanding in this matter.

Since viewing your response on Trip Advisor we have had a looked back at our records and you are correct in saying that you were charged £6.20 per coke, when it should have been £6.20 for two. We are incredibly grateful that you have highlighted this, overcharging customers is definitely not something we feel comfortable with, and this will allow us to ensure the same mistake does not happen again. Staff the Hotel have tried to call you several times and on one occasion left a voicemail, we would like to extend our apologies and arrange your refund.

Could I please ask if you could contact myself Mr Robert Kyle (proprietor) by email rkyle@lochside-hotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. While from the outside it looks like many motel style buildings close to a motorway once inside it is very different. On entry there is a large airy open reception/bar/lounge area which is very comfortable. Reception was very efficient friendly and welcoming. We had booked a two night stay using a groupon deal but upgraded to a suite which was well worth the extra £20 per night. The room was very spacious with both a large sitting area and bedroom. The room was very well furnished with two comfortable sofas in the sitting area plus tables, chairs, chests etc all good quality. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom like the rest was spotless and had a separate walk in shower as well as a large bath. There was even a small balcony. Despite being close to the motorway the glazing was such that no traffic noise could be heard. The room was easily up to the standard of four star hotels and in honesty better than some much more expensive hotels that I have stayed in. Our deal included a two course meal on each evening and once again I was pleasantly surprised at choice and quality of food on offer. Service in the restaurant was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was equally good with a hot breakfast cooked to order. If you are staying in the area I would recommend you stay here, we certainly hope to return

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went here with my wife for lunch one day as we were passing.

My wife had the warm salad and I the burger, salad was okay but the burger was not quality meat. I normally try the burger whenever I go to a new restaurant as its a good guide and here when your paying nearly £9 would have expected a lot better.
Total for lunch was £27 for one course plus drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radstone Hotel

Address: Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radstone Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Radstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radstone Hotel Larkhall, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.