We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radstone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radstone Hotel to your Saves list
Radstone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent 1 night at this hotel. One word 'Superb'. Staff were very attentive. Check in was speedy and the room was excellent. Later we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a superb breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    82
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
98
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

With two visitors from England decided to try Shawlands. Did not realise the restaurant closed at 9.30(my fault for not checking) any way we had booked for 8.30. Maybe about six tables occupied, but absolutely no atmosphere at all very hushed. Music eventually turned on low. Food, first course so so, main course served on COLD plates, 3 steaks and a monkfish soso
sweets were really good. Young waitress was fantastic could not have been any more helpful. Fancied a nightcap but had to have this in the foyer no background music or atmosphere. Beautiful restaurant but something missing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After witnessing the extensive renovations that have taken place over the last several years we decided to recommend this hotel to friends when they came to visit. What an embarrassing mistake that was. Upon arrival they checked in and proceeded to their room at the other end of the hotel. Upon arrival at "their" room they discovered it neither had a carpet, bathroom or any beds and was instead filled with dust sheets and paint cans. Spotting the obvious mistake they returned to reception and made them aware of the problem. The reception staff where unapologetic and struggled to find another available room. After sometime they offered our friends the only room they could find which came with a complimentary downgrade from what they had booked.

Following what can only be described as the worst check-in experience possible the problems did not end:
Service at breakfast was awful. You had to follow the waiter with your coffee cup a if you wanted coffee and the room was not serviced on the saturday until after their return at 4pm.

When I arrived at the hotel to pick our friends up I took the opportunity to speak to the duty manager but she was unapologetic and was more concerned with blaming a new staff member and their online booking system than trying to salvage their reputation. After a 20 minute discussion the only "good will" gesture they would offer was a free upgrade on a return visit.....I don't think that will be happening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After eating here several years ago and having a meal that so bad it was laughable I was apprehensive to go back to say the least. A friend had been several times and recommend that i go back and I'am glad I did. Food was well cooked, lovely presented and staff were pleasant and efficient. I had haggis neep and tatties served with a whiskey sauce. Very tasty dish. I picked the main course of chicken stroganoff from the "specials" menu. I thought the sauce was a little on the strong side taste wise but it certainly didn't spoil the meal. If this standard of food and service continues I will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having had lunch twice in the past 2 week can highly recommend staff very helpful and dinning room very impressive set up Had a few friends from Ireland and they all said they would use this place on the way up and down to the ferry as food excellent and great value for money . Also attended a wedding at this hotel and can honestly say what a great venue for this type of function .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This has to be the most appaling meal, and treatment that my wife and I have ever experienced when eating out. Firstly small point my mother in laws rice with her curry was HARD, UNCOOKED, and COMPLETELY INEDABLE. This is a minor point. My wife asked for a medium rare steak, with Dianne sauce, the sauce was cold, the steak well done. She pointed this out to the Matre'D who took it to the kitchen, only to return to tell us we were wrong the steak was cooked properly. I am a trained chef with nine years experience in the food industry, my wife, whom I met when she was a waitress with eight years experience. We pointed out to the matre'd that we had this experience, he again went to the kitchen, this time he asked us how long we would like the steak cooked for. Not knowing the thickness of the steak, if it was griddle or pan cooked how it was stored or even its temperature prior to being cooked this was an impossible question to ask. As my wife pointed out if she had to explain to a (so called) chef how to cook a steak she wouldn't eat anything out of that kitchen. I at this point couldn't finish my dinner as the tatse left in my mouth by having to argue with a jumped up waiter was too bitter. I left to get my daughter to the car when my wife and mother in law went to pay. Again captain cuisine (yes that is sarcastic) argued that my wife was in the wrong over the steak that she had returned and refused to eat anything else from the cook. I think the chef from the muppets would do a better job. Please if driving by this shack, keep driving go elsewhere, cook for yourself go hungry. NEVER EAT HERE, I WILL NEVER CROSS THE DOOR AGAIN
Having said that the waitresses were nice, please someone else employ them

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Radstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
In response to your comments regarding your experience at the Shawlands Park Hotel, I would first of all like to extend my apologies, as you rightly say the situation regards the steak should not have happened. The manner in which this was dealt with was also not appropriate.
We are striving to improve our service and appreciate all feedback, with this in mind I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further please email me at rkyle@lochside-hotel.com
Robert Kyle, Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I can only imagine that the people who have had a bad experience of this hotel went to it before it changed management. I stay there regularly when on business in Scotland and cannot fault the service or quality of food in the restaurant. It is a hotel I feel 'at home' in and the bedrooms are large and furnished to a very high standard - they have the largest tv's of any hotel room I have stayed in

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radstone Hotel

Address: Ayr Rd,, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radstone Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Radstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radstone Hotel Larkhall, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.