We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike, beautiful falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Linn Falls

The Linn Falls
High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PJ, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 things to do in Aberlour
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hike, beautiful falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The trail goes right by the Aberlour distillery, and is a great hike up to the falls. Well worth the hike. You can take an alternate trail back to the village, it winds through a neighborhood. We happened upon a game of "green bowling" in progress, wish we could have played along.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice morning hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The owners of our B&B recommended this hike. Beautiful scenery, and just the right amount of slope. We met just a few people on the trail, out walking their dogs. Nice way to chat with some locals. We took the loop around and back into town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixworth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely waterfall and nice little hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great waterfall with a lovely walk to it from Aberlour. We parked near the cemetery and headed down the well-signed path right next to the distillery. It was a bit muddy, but an easy walk past the Aberlour distillery along the Aberlour burn. After all the rain lately, the falls were a bit muddy and angry, but still made for some lovely pictures and a nice little woodland hike with a cracker of a waterfall at the end.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hike, beautiful waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

While waiting for a tour of Aberlour Distillery we discovered this lovely gem. The path is well maintained and easy even with a baby stroller and the waterfall is so tranquil and beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful short hike, excellent trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was looking for a short hike on an easy to follow trail around Aberlour, and Linn Falls fit my requirements perfectly. I originally found this hike on the walking highlands web site.

This trail is very nicely maintained and easy to follow. It is accessible from right off the main road through Aberlour, A95. It meanders through a beautiful forest of very large fir trees with lovely views of the river adjacent to the trail.

When the trail reaches the falls the view is very nice and there are several side trails leading down to the river where even better views of the falls can be had. There are steps in the trail that make climbing the hill next to the falls very easy.

After topping the falls the trail bears away from the river through the forest towards the top of the hill above Aberlour. Again this part of the trail is very well maintained and easy to follow. It finally leads out of the forest to the streets of Aberlour an easy walk to the center of town.

This is a beautiful short walk for anyone wanting to get off the sidewalk and into the forest around Aberlour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Linn Falls also viewed

 

Been to The Linn Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Linn Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.